We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, didn’t want to leave!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jodie C
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, didn’t want to leave!”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had an amazing stay at Blackthorn Cottage, had a huge garden overlooking the countryside, with the use of the hot tub and swimming pool- we couldn’t have asked for more. It was very relaxing, and only a short drive to Hastings/Rye so was in a great location... We only wished we could have stayed for longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2018
Hi Jodie. Thanks for the review, and thanks for calling it a 'garden' - less charitable guests called it a 'field'! Anyway, it is getting more garden-like week by week, and we are now focussed on re-working the raised beds in front of the cottage that soak up the sunshine. Very soon it will have an arrangement of succulents and Mediterranean plants to compliment the 2 x large Olive trees in the courtyard, and beach shingle between the oak sleeper walls.
It's going to give guests a more attractive environment, and will include an area for herbs conveniently placed for them to pop out and get something to add to their cooking if needed.
Fortunately, the Blackthorn balcony gets full sun most of the day, and if guests wish to catch the last rays from mid-afternoon onwards they are always welcome to stroll down to the swing seat at the bottom of the 'garden'. Thanks again for the lovely review - sorry you couldn't stay longer, but perhaps we'll see you and James another time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Nigel...
1 review
“A place of dreams”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a beautiful place and Location.
When we arrived we were met by the owner (peter) who showed us to our beautiful
cottage.Our accommodation was set into beautiful grounds with a hot tub and swimming pool.
Our cottage had everything that was needed.
We were located between Rye & Hasting.
We will be visiting Peter and his cottage again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2018
Thanks for the review. We're really glad that Blackthorn met with your approval, and it was good to meet you both. It's fortunate that we are midway between the beautiful old town of Hastings, and lovely Rye with it's cobbled streets and castle. This area is so rich in places to visit and easy countryside to explore, and we hope you'll be able to return sometime and experience more of what this special part of Sussex has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DentalHyg...
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, perfectly located cottage.”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Peter who explained all about the area, it's history and things to see and do in and around Rye and Hastings. The cottage is warm and cosy with a nice log burner, it was chilly during our stay and we felt very snug. The accommodation has everything you could possibly need, it's home from home.The terrace is lovely with a great view of the garden, lots of bunnies, we counted 12 at one time and beautiful birdsong, absolute heaven. We didn't use the hot tub or pool as it wasn't very warm, there are plenty of towels so no need to take extra towels as a bath towel, bath sheet and hand towel are provided for each guest. We would love to re visit when the weather warms up. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Many thanks for the great review and sorry the weather couldn't be better! It seems like a lottery these days: one day sun, next day rain, and regardless of the month too...but you had a good break which is most important. The wood burner is always a good thing to have, and regardless of the season we always have a good supply of wood for guests. The hot tub and indoor heated pool is usually a popular distraction if the weather is misbehaving, and the numerous coffee shops etc in both the old town of Hastings and in Rye offer some welcome shelter. If the rain is persistent then Hastings has its Museum and Art Gallery, The Jerwood Gallery, The Fishermen's Museum, and the Shipwreck Museum, to name but a few. Rye has an equal number of cultural distractions to the bad weather, plus its own cinema: The Kino with 2 x screens, a bar and coffee shop - 2 for 1 on Tuesdays!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing place, quiet and tranquil, with charming hosts to boot.”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A three night break was booked for my partner and I to spend some time together, relaxing and forgetting the world. This place did not disappoint.

Right from the get go Peter had been texting us with updated and titbits of information for our visit. Also included was a local booklet for the area.

When we turned up, we were slightly early and Peter was in the middle of moving a plant, for which he apologised several times, even though he had warned us, and apologised again, via a text earlier in the day.

The work was over pretty quickly and didn't disturb us as we unpacked and then popped out to get some supplies.

Peter also went through the Hot Tub, Swimming pool and internal amenities to the cottage. He also suggested several places to visit and when we mentioned we'd already planned on Hastings and Rye, he went through details of where to eat, park etc.

When we got back from getting the supplies on the first day, Peter apologised again and said there was a bottle of Prosecco at the cottage for us, which was much appreciated.

Although the weather was a little hit and miss, it didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves. We visited both pubs in the village in the evenings, which were both great, but the Robin Hood just pips the Queens Head as it's much closer.

The cottage is decorated to a high standard and you have everything you need to secrete yourself away, if that's what you want.

Due to the weather we didn't get to try the Swing bench at the bottom of the property, but did get in the Hot Tub once.

We really would like to go back again, so fingers crossed.

Thanks again to Peter, Karen and Ollie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It should be noted by anyone reading this that 'the plant' in question was a large Phormium that took a digger and four men to move away from Blackthorn, and that there was also a carpenter putting the finishing touches to a nearby door! So, our guest's calmness and generosity of spirit meant that their Prosecco was well-deserved! As mentioned, we are fortunate to have two very good pubs in the village - and one within walking distance, and the other at the furthest end of the village. Both do good, home-cooked food, and the ambience is slightly different in each pub so guests often know which one they feel most comfortable in. Nearby Winchelsea and Pett both have good pubs a well, so if Blackthorn guests are planning on eating out most nights then there is plenty of choice locally without having to drive too far. Thanks again for your comprehensive and lovely review, and we really hope that you will be able to come and stay another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Yes, I know you wanted your time here to run into the weekend, but I'm really glad your 2 x nights were a success! Please try and come back for longer next time: there is so much to see and do here once we're passed Easter. Sorry we weren't around to say goodbye, but I'll pop some postcards of Blackthorn etc in the post to you. Keep in touch, and thanks for taking the time to leave your nice review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pokumon_L...
London
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Easter weekend at this beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My partner and I had the pleasure of spending 3 wonderful days at Blackthorn cottage.

The cottage is beautifully decorated, extremely clean and well equipped as well as also having beautiful views and it being lovely and quiet! So perfect for us as a couple who wanted to get away from the city.

The owners were away but we were well looked after my their friend Marie who was very welcoming.

The cottage is close to many attractions and we spent our time visiting Battle Abbey, Rye, Carr Taylor Vineyards. We also visited the Queen Head, a local pub which was recommended by the Cottage owners and it was throughly enjoyable - they made an amazing Easter Sunday roast - we booked at it was highly advised.

The cottage is truely unique - with its own private hot tub and indoor swimming pool- giving that extra opportunity to pamper yourself!

Perfect location for a romantic weekend break, extremely recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for being so prompt at leaving your lovely review, and I'm sorry we didn't get the chance to meet you, but it was our first family holiday for quite some time, and we really needed to get away! I'm glad you got to visit a few places in the area even though your visit was quite short. If you ever return then I can recommend Bodiam Castle, the old town of Hastings, and Bateman's - Rudyard Kipling's country home - now National Trust, but there are many places to choose from, particularly now we are passed Easter. Many thanks again, and next time I'm sure we will meet!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeZ1860...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing,homely,comfortable - the perfect chill out.”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Blackthorn has everything you need for a relaxing break. It is set in a tranquil scenic area but close to tourist attractions in Rye and Winchelsea. The pool and tub are great and Peter and Karen were the perfect hosts assisting where needed and proving us with fresh eggs! The log burner was a nice feature which kept us toasty warm on some of the cold March evenings. Looking forward to our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review. It was lovely to meet you both, and we hope you'll be able to return to Blackthorn in the future. This is an ideal area whatever guests wish to do: good walking country, lots of NT properties close by, beautiful towns and villages, and of course the varied coastline for when the weather is behaving itself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing