We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect scones in a perfect setting!”

The Cobbles Tea Room
Ranked #13 of 108 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: ****WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED UNTIL 22nd JANUARY FOR RENOVATION **** Set in the heart of the ancient Cinque Port of Rye, The Cobbles Tea Room has been known for over 60 years as the town's premier traditional tea room. Named in September 2014 as one of 21 tea rooms to visit before you die by BuzzFeed.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect scones in a perfect setting!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We went to the Cobbles tea room on the first stop of our 'Scone Crawl' (don't ask!) in Rye. It was perfect! We were seated immediately in the most gorgeous room and offered the option of the courtyard. The waitresses were so friendly and brought us tea straight away in a lovely teapot. But the scones!! They were homemade and gorgeous, you got two for the price that you got one at other places in Rye and they happily brought us extra clotted cream. A delicious traditional cream tea (we even debated popping in again before driving home!)

Helpful?
Thank GeorgieJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    110
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd time here, we visited in 2011 and fell in love with it. 3years on and newly married we love it still! We ordered the £7.50 tea, cake, sandwiches and cream scones. Such a bargain price and so worth the money! The girl that served us was so friendly and polite. Tall and blonde you were lovely. The cake is a little sweet for my liking but I'm a cake maker my self so that's me being fussy ;) love it here and will always recommend and will come back again!

Helpful?
1 Thank sjayne89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just brillant”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Having been here back in September 2013 me my nan and sister loved it. So welcoming, tea was amazing and the food unfolable. Had another trip here this month and its just as good. The waitress is lovely and yoy feel so welcome. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upminster
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Miss Marple land”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a two up two down house up a narrow lane off the High Street in Rye. The toilet is in an outhouse round the back. For one moment I was transported back fifty years as an old lady dressed like Miss Marple came out of a wicket gate of an adjoining cottage in the bright sunshine, said good morning and slowly made her way to the High Street. It was a magical moment. Tea and coffee and cakes perfectly served in a delightful setting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great coffee & home made cakes”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sweet little cafe - tucked away and one of the few I could find that served fresh decaffinated coffee. We loved the home made cakes. Could do with more comfortable furniture but the staff are efficient and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cobbles Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to The Cobbles Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing