We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out Of This World!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Borough Arms Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Out Of This World!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

My otherhalf and i stayed in room 2 on 14th and 15th June 2013.
location and sights were amazing.
Room perfect for a couple, lovely comfy king size bed and nice plump pillows.
Bathroom clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. Kettle and well stocked teas and coffee. Good room service.
Very nice manager and friendly staff always there to help.
Full English beakfast was very delicious and good choices.
Nice local pubs. The Ship Inn and The Pipe Makers Arms if you like live music and a very local experience!
Lovely weekend and we didnt want to leave :-).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri00g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    87
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
49
151
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Really friendly owners, excellent breakfast, really comfy bed, super location; overall a great experience and really good value. We're looking forward to coming back! And their cafe does very good cakes as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Room 6 on 29th May. 2013. After being made very welcome we were shown to our room. The room was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the ensuite was clean. The room rate was very reasonable and overall I would say that the Hotel was good value for money. It's also ideally located for exploring Rye. Anyone who can't manage steps may struggle a little as the reception is up some steep steps!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy4265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Wonderful place to stay! Clean and cosy. Bed very comfortable, room warm. Staff friendly. Free wi-fi. Breakfast was made to order with several options including gluten free. A good all round nice place, would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSanters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We spent just one night here, and would have like to have stayed more. It is a lovely family run hotel, it was great value for money, a lovely room a perfectly cooked breakfast using local produce. Nice touches like, good quality bed linen and modern ample complimentary shampoo etc.
There is a cafe beneath the hotel, residence get a discount, nice home made cakes and coffee.
There are some nice touches, old photos etc.
Parking is close by, once parked you can explore the whole town on foot. there is lots to do and see.

Room Tip: just book it, for about £40 each including a gorgeous breakfast its a great location for exploring R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Old Borough Arms is a very cute B&B in a very cute town. Really friendly owners and staff and we stayed in a lovely room. The breakfast was really tasty. The B&B is in a great locationa dn I would definately return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Staying in Rye can be expensive, but our night here was quite reasonable. I couldn't fault the room, the breakfast or the friendliness of the staff and would happily stay here again next time I'm in Rye. The towels weren't exactly luxurious but that's the nearest I could get to a complaint.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a good shower cubicle but no bath. It suited us, but if you do want a bath you would pref...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger42a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Old Borough Arms Hotel
Address: The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Borough Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Borough Arms is a charming and welcoming bed and breakfast, situated at the foot of the famous Mermaid Street in the centre of ancient medieval Rye. We have nine comfortable and individullay decorated bedrooms, including four poster and family/ twin rooms, all ensuite. The Old Borough Arms offers a friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfasts to suit all tastes and is the perfect location for a relaxing break.We can also offer parking on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Borough Arms Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing