We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Gromit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Borough Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Where do I start? A spotlessly clean hotel. Service impeccable, breakfast delicious, lots of choice, not mean with the tea, coffee and hot choc sachets in the room. Gorgeous tea-plate of a shower head. Hoards of clean fluffy white towels and marshmallow pillows! Right on the nose for everything. The town, nice pubs and restaurants, antique shops, great fish and chippy on the roundabout if that's what takes your fancy.Cannot fault this place at all but if you have a babe in a buggy the cobbles down the side streets can strengthen your tummy muscles a bit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldwing53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very much enjoyed a 3 night stay at The Old Borough Arms. The service and hospitality was first class. The rooms were modern, very comfortable and clean. The breakfast each day is enough to set you up for the entire day and of very high standard.

I couldn't fault this place..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeydonkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Booked over the phone but I chose which room we wanted from website. Staff couldn't do enough for us. I needed special dietry foods and brought some of my own. Staff were very obliging. The bed was very comfy and Rye was a fabulous place to visit. Would recommended to a friend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Nicely decorated and appointed room. Very clean and comfortable Location very convenient to historic cobbled streets and pubs/restaurants. Books and DVDs available for guest usage.

Parking is a bit tight on the street but not too bad.

Beautiful breakfast And friendly/capable staff.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RussellCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lovely b&b - clean, modern and with a great breakfast. Hosts were very helpful providing directions and details of local car parking (£5 per day). We stayed in a family room at the front of the b&b which was nice, but a bit noisy with the hot weather and people sitting outside the pub opposite.

Rye is lovely and there is plenty to do and see in the surrounding area, but would suggest prebooking restaurants for evening meals as there aren't too many and they get very busy. Would recommend this b&b and will be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy if it's hot and you need to open the windows. There are two bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Myself and a couple of friends stayed here recently as we were attending a wedding nearby. Overall I was very impressed with this B&B. The staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast was really good - especially the award winning sausages. It's a really cool building with great character and has a really nice tea room attached to the corner that serves really good coffee and ice cream. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and hope to get back there someday. Rye is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green_Dilettante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed in June 2013. Allocated ground floor rooms 8 & 9 after an unnecessary climb with my dodgy back and walking stick up the front of the building because no signage as to access points on the street. A Receptionist appeared at the door bell ringing from street level from another business and re-appeared in the reception area. Whilst on the reception doorstep I observed a rat scuttling across the road from the river in our direction.

The welcome was friendly but the walk back down to the ground floor rooms was unnecessary. My dodgy back felt even worse. The rooms were described by the receptionist as 'cute' - this misnomer was to prove less than true.

The ground floor room was of a reasonable size with a well equipped bathroom BUT a digital TV that couldn't receive the main freeserve channels, a stained carpet that could have been cleaned, towel heater you could not turn off and windows that could not be left open, left a sour taste. It was very HOT and felt both dirty and unsafe.

Even less savoury was the back yard/carpark next to this room. Accessed by the side door as a supposed fire exit - this door leads onto the rear area used by someone as car parking, the laundry area and a general dumping ground for the hotels ''stuff ''. This 'stuff' included - old bikes, hotel rails, general waste and was piled against the wall - inches away from the room exit.

It proved irresistable to the rats as they scratched away during the night, foraging or nest making? Twice I was woken by the noise of an animal scratching away at the rubbish in this area.

The windows cannot be left open in this room for security reasons. This makes them excessively hot due to the bathroom heater. - Either allow for on/off switches for the bathroom heat or preferably install a free-standing air conditioner.

Clear the rubbish in the yard and prevent the need for rats to visit/nest.

Breakfast - Good selection, good service, BUT poor execution.

The english breakfast was delivered luke warm - not to say it wasn't tasty but it wasn't served hot.
The bacon and sausage had been 'sitting about' the egg was recently cooked but the plate was cold. All in all - not great.

Departure - friendly and efficient

With a few changes to the room facilities, local area and the breakfast, this could be a great destination. At the moment - it 'aint.

Room Tip: Don't use a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Borough Arms Hotel

Address: The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £86 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Borough Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Borough Arms is a charming and welcoming bed and breakfast, situated at the foot of the famous Mermaid Street in the centre of ancient medieval Rye. We have nine comfortable and individullay decorated bedrooms, including four poster and family/ twin rooms, all ensuite. The Old Borough Arms offers a friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfasts to suit all tastes and is the perfect location for a relaxing break.We can also offer parking on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Old Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Borough Arms Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing