We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B with a difference!”
Review of Rye Windmill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rye Windmill B&B
Ranked #4 of 38 Rye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“B & B with a difference!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Last minute night away, super welcome, well appointed room, comfy bed.
Breakfast was very good and set us up for a day in Rye,
Would recommend.
Can walk into town from there.
Can recommend the Fish Cafe on Tower Street for an amazing meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelyn_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    97
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
339
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast is superb. The bed was very comfortable and the hosts very welcoming. We could see the river from our window and the train spotter still dwelling in me was satisfied by the railway crossed by a footpath nearby. In spite of this the trains never bothered us during the night. Lots of parking space and free Wifi. We spent two days here exploring the town and walking to Winchelsea and back (10 miles).

Room Tip: Book early as the Windmill is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the 4th time We've stayed at the Rye windmill and it's a great B&B to stay in. Very close to Rye town centre and has lots of parking. The breakfast is excellent , served in a lovely dining room that was the base of the old windmill. We'll defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 . Has a great 'wet' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Have just had a three night break at the Windmill. This was our first visit to Rye. We had room 7. We had a spacious bathroom with walk in shower. The bedroom was well appointed and the hospitality tray was restocked daily with drinks and treats. Would have like a little more storage space. Breakfast was excellent, I had the full English and my wife had the continental. On arrival the owner was extremely informative of where to visit in the town and several options for evening meals. We visited Webbe's and went twice to Ambrette, both of which were excellent . Being less than 5 mins walk to the town and with its own parking , this B and B is ideally situated for those wishing to visit Rye

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a relaxing 2 night stay at this Guest House. We looked at lots of places on the net but chose the Windmill because it had parking on site which is always an issue in Rye and the website was most attractive with plenty of photos and information. All accommodation in Rye is pretty pricey but we opted to pay extra for the 4 poster room in the windmill as it was a special treat and it was well worth the expense.
We were greeted warmly by the owner on arrival who showed us to our room and gave us plenty of info about places to eat in the town. The room was quite special; prettily decorated with loads of space (Its in the windmill itself so is almost hexagonal) and there were some nice touches. I particularly liked the toiletry selection in the bathroom and the filter coffee bags on the welcome tray. Nice biscuits too! The TV digibox was broken when we arrived but Brian, the owner, managed to find a replacement once it was evident that it could not be fixed.
Breakfast both mornings was very good, my poached eggs were perfect and the bacon very tasty. My partner said the Full English was very good. We also liked the locally produced fruit juices. The pear was delicious and a nice change.
I would definitely recommend this as a relaxing place for a break. Other trip advisor reviews have already pointed out the drawbacks; its very close to the railway line and the trains start running pretty early, we slept with the balcony door open the first night as it was quite warm and were woken by the first train. The second night we had the door and the shutters closed and could still hear the trains a bit. It is on the slightly less attractive side of the town and is next to the BT depot and the fire station but both buildings are well kept and tidy. The up side of the location is that it is only 2 minutes walk into town. The windmill is an old building and can be a bit creaky at times, but we found it very quiet at night. My only suggestions for improvement are tiny. Maybe a few small jugs of fresh milk in the honesty bar fridge for those who hate those little pots of milk that just taste of plastic? Its a shame to put plastic milk in a lovely cup of filter coffee!
Also, get your cleaners a long handled cobweb brush as there were a few big spiders in our room who had been pretty busy, especially from the ceiling lights to the four poster bed. You only see this when you are lying in bed! The boxing behind the loo in the bathroom was badly finished with a sharp broken tile. Apart from these tiny tweaks our stay was delightful and we would love to make a return visit when we can afford it!

Room Tip: Windmill rooms have the wow factor but keep windows closed at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybird1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Fantastic English breakfasts. The Windmill is full of character and the room we had was on the ground floor with a brand new wet room. The Windmill is situated within a short five minute walk of Rye which was perfect. Parking a bonus too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here; it seemed peaceful, quiet and relaxing even though it was evidently fully-booked. The bedroom was very comfortable if rather small. The bedlinen and shower room were luxurious. The breakfast was pretty good with a great choice (hash browns seemed out of a freezer packet though). We thought we'd be sleeping in a room inside the windmill (the photos on the website give them a rounded appearance!) but only the two main suites are in it. The others are in an annexe. It was fine though, and we had a nice view over the park and river. It is next to the railway line but this didn't bother us at all. Rye is a great town for a couple of days. We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.3 mi away
The George in Rye
0.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
0.2 mi away
Jeake's House
Jeake's House
#3 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rye Windmill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rye Windmill B&B

Property: Rye Windmill B&B
Address: Rye Windmill, off Ferry Road, Rye TN31 7DW, England (Formerly The Windmill Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rye Windmill Bed and Breakfast offers guests four star licensed accommodation with guaranteed and free car parking, a huge asset in Rye. Situated on the River Tillingham, Rye Windmill is ideally located, with the town and Strand Quay a couple of minutes walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rye Windmill Hotel Rye
Rye Windmill Bed And Breakfast
Rye Windmill B&B East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing