We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cosy”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #15 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night in the middle of Oct with our family on a visit to Rye. It was cosy, warm and inviting. The food was great, especially breakfast. The home-made muesli was very good. Rooms were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. I loved the decor of the place, fun and quirky. It is well worth a visit. They are also dog friendly and were very accommodating toward my family's four month old puppy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    98
    35
    24
    14
See reviews for
54
208
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sharnford, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Called in with four friends looking for an evening meal, everywhere was very busy the owner/manager advised table would be half an hour we waited for table but didn't get a drink at the bar as staff seemed too busy. Once sat at table ordered drinks and meals. Long wait for meal and when two arrived they were only lukewarm, a short wait later the three other meals arrived, the two that were cold we sent back. These meals must able been redone from scratch good but by the time they arrived again the other three diners had finished. The food was nice and apologies were made but it was poor that we weren't eating at the same time. A little disappointed with this service. Nice pub and buzzing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I haven't stayed at the Ship, but we've have eaten numerous times over the last 5 years. Meals are always inventive, well cooked and the service matches the presentation. Wine is very well priced, with the superb Cuvaison £20 cheaper than a London restaurant.
Great for a leisurely pint on a Sunday evening too!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

What a delight to find a hotel with such individualism and homely touches (rubber duck and bright green digital radio) . My room, although compact, was light and airy and the anthesis of the usual hotel blandness I end up in, week in week out.
There was not one thing I would change or request and I really hope I am back in the area soon.
Staff were smiley and efficient and nothing was a bother.
The bar was nice and comfortable and the breakfast choices were a pleasant change with a table full of free newspapers and a cracking mug, yes mug, of tea.
Groovy place, start a chain, only joking...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spragman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights,breakfast was fantastic,really good quality food,staff could not do more for you,on our last day after we had already checked out they supplied us with towels to dry off,after we had got caught in the rain.we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddyb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Comfy rooms, not pretentious, above the pub but not stuffy or noisy. Great pea soup and fish pie in the bar on Friday night, huge breakfasts with particularly tasty granola. Friendly staff. Took the whippet who was made welcome everywhere in the building. He was even given his own cooked sausage for breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank christhomson1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Would recommend this pub to everyone!
Stayed on our way from Dover to Cheshire.
The evening meal was simply fabulous.
Fabulous beers and a home-made coffee liquer made from coffee beans
steeped for many hours by the owner.
The breakfast was truly wonderful:
Home made granola, stewed fruit, freshly made muffins.
Great choice of breakfasts.
Full marks and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 were spacious and quirkily decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
773 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#7 of 40 in Rye
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Strand Quay The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is in central Rye, at the bottom of Mermaid Street. Built in 1592, it was originally a warehouse to store contraband seized from smugglers. It is now a characterful pub, with beams, wooden floors & log fires. Open from eleven every day for freshly prepared food, local fish, Bloody Marys, real ales & organic cider. 10 comfy modern rooms - all with en-suite bath or shower. Children, dogs & would-be pirates are all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Rye
The Ship Inn Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing