We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great atmosphere, with lovely attention to detail...”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to happen upon; even on a wet winter's day, a cup of coffee here managed to lift our mood. It's as if you have walked off the street into a friends sitting room, with a fire burning in the grate, relaxed seating arrangements and subdued lighting. I especially liked the finishing touches; daily papers, board games and spring bulbs in mossy pots, all surrounded by distressed wooden paneling and low beams. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our afternoon in the ship, we had some great beers & wine and happily sat and played a game of trivial pursuits whilst doing so!

The music played was excellent. The staff really friendly and helpful.

We had already eaten lunch before we arrived but the food looked lovely and we will want to eat here when we are next back in rye!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Ship Inn is a lovely place to stay in Rye. Unpretentious with friendly staff and comfy rooms. Nice and warm too! The food was very good and the breakfast lovely. Dog friendly too which is always a bonus. Burts Bees products in the bathroom, tea and coffee, lovely fluffy quilts. DVD players available for your room and a selection of films too.I would recommend the Ship to all my friends and look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Ship Inn with our 2 month old baby when visiting relations in Rye. We wanted to stay somewhere comfortable with good food, which was informal enough that we could bring our baby into the restaurant for dinner. The Ship more than delivered on all of these points. The personal service started when I rang to book and the person I spoke to made sure I had a room that could fit our cot. The room (Number 9) was spacious, simple, clean and well decorated and it was a lovely surprise to find Burt's Bees toiletries and decent water pressure for the shower.

The food in the restaurant was very good - I can certainly recommend the fish pie - and staff ensured that we had a table big enough for our carry cot even though they were busy. The atmosphere was great and very welcoming and the management care about locally sourced ingredients.

The highlight though has to be breakfast, with an array of interesting dishes, including wonderful french toast, that you just don't expect to find in an inn! Super place to stay, much more reasonable that most that Rye has to offer and in our opinion, much better! We won't be looking to stay anywhere else in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMilham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Not just a pub, restaurant or hotel, far greater than the sum of its parts, the Ship Inn offers exceptional atmosphere, quality locally sourced food and beers, and the friendliest and most helpful staff you could wish for.

The bar area is a bustle of chit-chat; the restaurant is a part of this atmosphere, not being formally separated. Service in both areas is welcoming, attentive and knowledgeable.

Upstairs, there is a range of spotless accommodation. We very much enjoyed the quirkiness of our "small double". Excellent choice of breakfasts is included in the room price.

Wholeheartedly recommend this fantastic operation which is in the heart of the historic town of Rye.

Room Tip: Discuss needs beforehand, though there is a good objective summary on the web-site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights from boxing day.Food very good,especially the smoked prawns with garlic. Took friends there for an evening meal,food and service very good.The room was fun,with one wall of colorful wallpaper,radio and proper alarm clock.Ensuite good size,and Burts Bees bath products,which was an added bonus.Impressed with the cleanliness overall.
Downstairs bar full of interesting things,Rudyard Kipling poem across one of the beams.Will definately be staying here again.
Weather not kind but on the last day sun came out and had pleasant walk along the top of Winchelsea Beach.
Parking can be tricky and expensive,perhaps the local council could devise some sort of reduced fee parking scheme for residents of The Ship Inn.
Really enjoyed our stay,and would have marked as excellent but for the problem parking.

Room Tip: would advise to contact via phone so that you can ask about rooms available as some are bigger/small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Mermaid Inn was full and we had just passed The Ship Inn at the bottom of the hill and had already remarked that the lunch board seemed appealing for a light lunch so we went back. The interior is quite spacious with differing nooks and crannies to choose from. We chose to sit next to the log fire and order warm goat's cheese and beetroot salad and a ham hock terrine with chutney and a couple of drinks. Both were of reasonable size and tasty. We were served in a friendly and prompt manner as it was fairly quiet. The decor is shabby chic with heavy oak beams in places. The toilets could probably do with a makeover but we had a pleasant experience and would go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaterinaTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
822 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#8 of 39 in Rye
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Strand Quay The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is in central Rye, at the bottom of Mermaid Street. Built in 1592, it was originally a warehouse to store contraband seized from smugglers. It is now a characterful pub, with beams, wooden floors & log fires. Open from eleven every day for freshly prepared food, local fish, Bloody Marys, real ales & organic cider. 10 comfy modern rooms (four of which are dog-friendly) - all with en-suite bath or shower. Children, dogs are especially welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Rye
The Ship Inn Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing