We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aye aye, a good night in Rye.”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #15 of 40 Rye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Got a room in the Ship Inn because a friend was already booked in and I was'nt disapointed. This is a pretty quirky place, sort of shabby chic and welcoming. The bar staff were very friendly and good at their job. The room was very comfortable and well equipt with a kettle and drinks, TV, radio and a DVD library in the corridor. The bed was great and the bathroom although it was small, it was well equipt with soap, shampoo and shower gel and the shower was just incredibly powerful. At breakfast I had the full English and once again I was not disapointed with the portion size!! Well done the Ship Inn, all for only £70.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmac117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for The Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here just over a week ago for one night. Chose it because we liked the look of the quirky style and because of location. It didn't disappoint :-)
The pub/restaurant had a lovely vibe, all the staff were friendly and helpful and the cider and perry went down very well. There's lots of lovely little touches, like board games in the pub area. And as for the breakfast? Best ever! We had the Granola, fruit and yoghurt and then 'The Works'. All local produce, never tasted bacon like it. And plentiful coffee made just how I like it. We will be back :-)
We loved the unique style and decoration and I've already copied a few ideas, the staff were even happy to advise on how they achieved some of the looks :-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have a dog and this was one of the places which we could bring her to. What a pleasant surprise to find a really nice pub, lovely friendly staff and rooms spotlessly clean, modern and bright. We decided to stay for dinner as we'd been out all day - turned out to be an excellent decision as food was delicious and the staff made us feel so welcome. Just the kind of place we like; good food in unpretentious relaxed atmosphere. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annastanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a wonderful, welcoming, whimsical and thoroughly delightful escape!
Theo was the best of hosts and all the staff were delightful.
The food was sublime (creative, local, plentiful...) and the cozy, comforting public area delightful.
Much, much thought has been put into creating a wonderful experience.
Non-stuffy but every detail looked to.
Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs are a problem for you, choose a low floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel deserves to be highly recommended and receive the accolades that it does. Having arrived on bikes and asked where we might park them overnight, we couldn't have been made more welcome when the barman not only helped us with our panniers but carried our bikes up to a first floor room for safe storage. The hotel is well situated by the harbour, friendly and quirky and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in Room 10 which has an iron bedstead and is warm and comfortable with added touches such as a selection of teas, fresh milk if required, very luxurious St Bees shower and hair products and a complimentary stick of rock! The breakfast was sublime, fresh yoghurt and fruit, Eggs Benedict or Full English, toast and cereal and free newspapers to browse through in the sunshine. You cannot fail to be impressed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craignethercott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel/pub breaks the mould. The place is a clever fusion of British Boho/faux Parisienne. There are lovely touches here and there and the odd bits of imagination and invention will please most guests. Fixtures and fittings are not immaculate and the boho feel of the place helps to forgive this. I suspect the proprietors will be vigilant to ensuring they don't allow the shabby-chic to become too shabby. We went overnight for our anniversary in Rye and decided to eat in the Ship too. Eating was a fraction expensive but the atmosphere was very good as was the food and service. Some very pleasant young staff exceeded my request to surprise my 'Mrs' by offering a complimentary glass of bubbly with dinner...and then again a Bucks Fizz at Breakfast, which again was very pleasant, beautiful juices, thick yoghurt, various cooked options. All greatly appreciated. Almost had all this for free as unbeknownst to me the booking site I'd used hadn't actually debited my account I was chased down the road by a lovely, crazed young Polish woman who very pleasantly informed me of this...a very enjoyable stay overall, perhaps a 4.5 rating rounded upward because the things that really matter were done well and would recommend as a change from the usual hotel chain blandness or the feckless Fawlty Towers type B&B....Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place has it all! Well kept local real ales, wonderful wine selection, superb food and a lovely room to stay in. Dog friendly. Situated near the harbour in this very picturesque Cinque Port where accessibility to the Sussex and Kent coastlines is easy, plus beautiful inland countryside. The owners have managed to create a very relaxed atmosphere. We shall return.

Room Tip: Always request a large double.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry5446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#8 of 40 in Rye
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Strand Quay The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £79 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is in central Rye, at the bottom of Mermaid Street. Built in 1592, it was originally a warehouse to store contraband seized from smugglers. It is now a characterful pub, with beams, wooden floors & log fires. Open from eleven every day for freshly prepared food, local fish, Bloody Marys, real ales & organic cider. 10 comfy modern rooms - all with en-suite bath or shower. Children, dogs & would-be pirates are all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Rye
The Ship Inn Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing