We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
202
127
45
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
127
45
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish finger sandwich eggs benedict comfy bed full english log fire stayed for one night lovely room camber sands theo bees dog toiletries cider ales character pubs
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Pint of amstel, and a wine and soda. £11. Most I’ve ever paid, even central London is cheaper. Nice enough pub but don’t know how they get any repeat business with prices that steep. Did a pub crawl in rye, the next pub, same drink was £4 cheaper.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank mattI854US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We recently visited for an evening meal whilst staying in Rye. We both suffer with food allergies and the staff we amazingly accommodating in finding and adapting the menu for us. The food was delicious and we felt so welcomed. We would definitely recommend and look forward to a return trip!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lnt123836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Went once, had superb food and great service that we went again on our last night. Again fabulous food and service.
Menus is different to usual pub grub and what you get is superbly cooked
Would've gone every night of our week stay, if found it soon enough

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian T, Guest Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you so much for your glowing review. It's a shame you didn't find us earlier, we would have loved to welcome you every night of your stay! Now you know where we are though you'll have to make sure you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Newly refurbished rooms, in fact I think we may have been the first guest in this lovely room. Great comfy bed and pillows. Our room was immaculately clean. Nice touch having coffee and tea machine in our room. Breakfast was good served in the restaurant.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian T, Guest Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and the newly refurbished rooms. Don't forget to book direct for the best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This used to be one of our favourite places for a night away. Since our last visit there has been a change of hands and a refit upstairs and a change in the kitchen. The rooms are tasteful and still comfortable but it used to be so quirky, there is no quirk anymore although the beds are comfortable. The food used to be fantastic - my partner used to rave about the cooked breakfasts and we always made a point of eating in the restaurant in the evening. This time we only had one course each at dinner and left most of that, unable to continue. My chicken had a distinct whiff of sweet and sour sauce out of a jar - really not good. Particularly as I had not ordered sweet and sour.
The waitress did not even ask if the food was ok - the partially eaten food should have been a sign that all was not well. This morning’s breakfast was also a disappointment, undercooked and dry porridge and instant coffee. I think that was our last stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JudeP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian T, Guest Relations Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Whilst we understand that the Ship was a popular spot for many before the change in ownership, we believe that the changes we have made will not only aid the progress of the Ship but have also been made with a sensitive nod to the past.
We are sorry to hear your comments about the service as we pride ourselves on our service and our attention to detail, on this occasion though it seems that our high standards slipped. With regards to our food, it sounds like you ordered the Chicken Supreme, a chicken dish that is marinated in lemon and garlic and served with a hunters sauce, freshly prepared in our kitchen and definitely not sweet and sour sauce from a jar. I have passed your comments on to the chef though. I can also assure you that the coffee we use is hand picked, mountain grown arabica coffee and 100% Fairtrade certified, not 'instant' as stated in your review.

Kind regards

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews