We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
202
127
45
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
127
45
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish finger sandwich eggs benedict comfy bed full english log fire stayed for one night lovely room camber sands theo bees dog toiletries cider ales character pubs
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for more Wonderful,friendly and attentive staff and the food was just beautiful!!! Stunning presentation and steak cooked to perfection!Our little doggy was also made to feel so welcome!Just Wonderful!Thank You :0)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ambrose1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We ate here 2 nights in a row a few years ago because it was so good. Should have checked to see if it had changed hands. It had. The food was poor to mediocre. A tomato 'crumble' was 6 half cooked cherry tomatoes with a meagre spoonful of goats cheese crumbled on top. Fisherman's pie had uncooked slices of potato on top. Carrots and unidentifiable green leaves tasted of bleach and were gritty - inedible. Lamb was chewy. Cheeseboard uninspiring. Only the sticky toffee pudding and pea soup were very good.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LisaMilkcarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here. The service was good, large portions of everything and good value for money. I had mussels to start, then haddock and chips. All were good, not fine dining, but tasty and worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mikey954HighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

The Ship Inn has been recently refurbished; we were very happy with our bedroom.The service was very friendly and breakfasts were generous and nicely prepared. We had been let down by another inn, and were lucky and grateful to get the last bedroom on a busy Saturday, so thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisdallis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I came here a few years ago and wasn't particularly impressed - just a bog standard pub but it has clearly recently been recently refurbished to a high standard (even the toilets are nice) and it is now a nice Pub Restaurant with surprisingly nice food. Nice, young, helpful and friendly staff. There is a good choice of well-kept beers and real ales and a nice menu with quality that surpassed all of our expectations. It is a pity that the starters and main courses arrived at exactly the same time as it meant that I had to leave my Scotch Egg starter to go cold.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive-StLeonards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews