We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of River Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
SW Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shame about the breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nice location, ample car parking, convenient for the town. Not much wrong with the room apart from a very noisy extractor fan in the bathroom. Check in/out staff OK, but no interest in "Was everything OK sir?" Had there been I would have told them!
Breakfast staff very good and friendly, but, never cleared the table before we left having consumed plenty of decent coffee. My sausage could have been used as a hammer, guess that it had been in the oven for an hour or two, fried bread was very, very greasy, and full English breakfast was generally poor. With a little attention to detail this could be a very good base for enjoying the lovely town, but they need to try a bit harder.
Did not use the bar as it was only fizzy beer and avoided the restaurant for dinner as there are plenty of excellent eating places in town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    131
    47
    8
    2
See reviews for
45
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently stayed for an overnight stay. We were attracted by the location - convenient for our purpose. The hotel had a good rating for food and we were thinking of eating there at night. Have seen the menu and the resturant location we decided against that. We dis have the full english breakfast as that was included in the price. The food looked as if had been hanging around for a while and there was too much fat and grease.The people were friendly - the superior room was average.
It would appear to use that the hotel is in need of some decoration and upgrade.

Room Tip: Take a light breakfast not the all included English breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lickhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

A good hotel which was great value for money. The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre and located on the side of the river. It has a massive car park which is a major advantage as parking is in short supply in the rest of Rye.

Our room was a good size with a decent sized on-suite with bath and over shower. Our window looked over the river and it was lovely to see the boats bobbing about. The room and bathroom were very clean, although the mattress was a little too soft for our liking.

The cooked breakfasts were tasty although a bit on the greasy side. They were cooked to order though which can be a rarity these days. The service was quick and attentive. The cold selection was basic, cereal, fruit and yogurt (only appeared on our last day) but it was enough for us. We didn't eat in the hotel during the evening as there was an excellent choice of restaurants only a short walk away.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They rang a local pub for me where I thought I had left a coat behind. We were greeted by all members of staff. We asked for extra milk for our room and this request was met straight away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuratorWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Extremely good hotel in all respects. It is across the river from the old town, but only a 10 minute walk to both the old city and the railway station. It is actually on the river and we were in room 13 which had a lovely bay window overlooking the tidal river, it was also nicely decorated with quality furnishings. The breakfast room was a delight with raked ceilings, light and airy with river views. Breakfast buffet was very good, lots of nice fresh fruit as well as hot English breakfast options. Bed was extremely comfortable. Free Wifi is available but only in the common areas downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Let us start with the positives. The hotel has free parking. It is a short walk from the town and a good location from which to explore the area. The food was excellent and there was a good selection. The staff were extremely friendly (we felt at home) and went the extra mile to help us to enjoy our stay, which involved a birthday celebration. We could not fault the staff. Our rooms were clean and comfortable.
On the downside, the lounge area is small and the dining area can look uninviting at times; but both aspects were far outweighed by the good points.
We could not fault the cost of our stay - it represented good value.
This is a three star hotel and that is what you experience. It is not the Ritz, so folk should not expect Ritz-type service and accommodation.
I agree that some redecoration is needed, but the hotel is clean.
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and would gladly revisit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 - ground floor on the river side and it was as quiet a room as we have ever expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel is located very close to Rye Harbour and the town and shops are within easy walking distance. Parking was not an issue. My evening meal in the restaurant was good. Service at breakfast, however, was very slow and disorganised despite there being few people early in the morning. Not being able to sit by the window with a view of the river at breakfast, despite the restaurant being nearly empty was disappointing and unnecessary - single guests were seated behind a screen away from the windows. Not very welcoming!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMac186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My 25 yr old daughter and two female friends - saw that River Haven Hotel advertises evening meals for non-residents. As staying in Rye thought they would like to try it as pretty location. Upon entering the lady on desk asked "Are you staying in the hotel?" to which they replied "No"
her response was
"Well you can just go back out again"
I dont need to say anymore - they found a lovely Italian around the corner!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The George in Rye
3.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Haven Hotel

Property: River Haven Hotel
Address: Winchelsea Road, Rye TN31 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — River Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your River Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Haven Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing