We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Haven Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strand House(Winchelsea)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Hope Anchor Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Winchelsea(Winchelsea)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rye Lodge Hotel(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
105
154
55
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
154
55
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkoverlooks the riverbuffet breakfastfriendly hoteltown centregood sizeleave the carnice breakfastwithin easy walking distancelamb shankshort stayroom was largesuperior roomrye townground floorone night staybit dated
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I thought this hotel was totally over priced. The only good thing about this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff.

The carpets had been worn and dirty throughout the hotel, room was dated and again old carpet with stains.

Breakfast was running with fat, table and chairs reminded me of School dinners.

The only good thing was it had parking and a short walk from the town centre, maybe it would have been better in the summer!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I needed to be in the rye area for a funeral on Monday 23rd December. As we live some distance away, we decided to travel down on the Sunday and stay overnight. I made an internet search, found the River Haven at a reasonable price, and booked a room. When we arrived the hotel seemed quite busy, as several staff were tidying up following a busy Sunday lunch session.
We were made welcome, booked dinner for 7.30, had a drink at the bar, then went to our room for an afternoon nap. The room was attractive, spotless, and had the most comfortable bed I have ever found in a hotel. When we arrived in the restaurant, we found a single table laid up. What we hadn't realised is that the hotel was winding down for Christmas, and that we were the only diners that night. (There was only one other guest occupying a single room, and he wasn't dining in.) The chef was working an evening shift just to serve us. We had an excellent meal, and then slept soundly. Next morning we received our morning call and newspaper, and went for breakfast in an otherwise empty restaurant. All the staff we met were friendly and welcoming, and there was never a hint that we might have been a nuisance to them.
This is an attractive modern hotel by the river. I was pleased to note that the whole of the ground floor, which includes several bedrooms, is wheelchair accesible, with slopes built next to any steps. We will certainly stay there again, and I would reccomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: For a small premium, book a room with an extra large bed and a river view. We did, it was lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeSculthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived on a Friday night to a warm welcome from Linda and had a beautiful 3 course meal. The lamb shank and the Irish cream profiteroles were particularly delicious and the service was great. We had room 3 which was very pretty, a good size and over looked the river. The internet access was good, it was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. I am quite particular about quality of sausages and the ones served were delicious ! There was so much choice and served at your table and help yourself to juices , cereal and toast . We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. We are returning customers and will be looking forward to our next stay and would recommend both the hotel and restaurant and location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for the one night to attend a function in one of the other hotels in Rye and did not want to pay their excessive tourest room rates for our B&B requirement. Turned out to be an excellent choice in that both the rooms were decent, clean and everything worked, including the heating which was most appreciated that night. Breakfast was just perfect and the best of all we found eveyone working there very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room following a family meal in Udimore. A very clean hotel, a good breakfast and a warm welcome. Not an ultra modern hotel but very fit for purpose and a reasonable price. Only one criticism would be that the double bed was more like a queen then a double.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Missispile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews