We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B Great place for a short break”

Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Visited over a weekend to catch up with old friends, had a lovely time. The owners are very helpful and more than surpassed our expectation. Highly recommended when visiting Rye and the nearby attractions

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

It was such a pleasure to look after you all. We are so pleased you were able to have relaxed couple of days. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one child free night.
I spoke to Barbara a few times before we arrived and she was very helpful and friendly.
When we arrived her friend Trisha greeted us (which we were told would be the case) and she was very welcoming. We stayed in the Tenterden Room which was compact but sufficient for our needs. The room was clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, TV/DVD, dressing table and a small cupboard to hang clothes.
The en suite was very clean with a powerful/hydrotherapy shower and a few complimentary toiletries.
The bedding was so soft and comfortable - very good nights sleep.
The view from the room was pretty looking over the river, fields and sheep with a lovely flowering magnolia tree in next doors garden.
The centre of Rye was a 10 minute walk away, where there was loads to see and do. The Queens Head was five minute walk from there and was a nice traditional pub.
Parking was available outside the B&B.
The general atmosphere of the B&B was very relaxed and homely. If you needed anything else you only had to ask - hairdryer, iron etc.
The veggie breakfast was great especially the mushrooms and scrambled egg.
Overall a lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlierabbit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Manager at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was my second stay and my wife's fourth.

The property is handily placed and there are nice views from the front of the River Rother and fields right to Dungeness, although of late the addition of a wind farm detracts a little.

Our room the time, the Camber, was spacious enough once we had learned to not knock our knees on the bottom corner of one of the bedsteads. There was plenty of storage space and an efficient shower (stocked with just one toiletry) with towels changed every 3 or 4 days. We were supplied with fresh milk for the hospitality tray on two occasions, and biscuits just once, during our three-night break. The hot chocolate sachets were particularly welcome.

The breakfasts were excellent, with a choice of good quality ingredients, and more coffee and toast always offered.

We were provided with keys to the room, the house, and the back garden. Guests at this establishment do not have an indoor lounge as such but are allowed access to a small conservatory.

Parking is off-road - just - and a bit tight, but this was still useful as the property is only a few minutes up the road and over a railway bridge from the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

It was lovely to see you both again, disappointed with myself for missing a couple of things. I wish you had said something at the time. As we say in our guest information folder, if we get feedback at the time, most oversights can be rectified. Feedback is always welcome, especially with a newly refurbished/redecorated room as yours when there might be teething problems, eg the end of the bed. Plans are already in place to rectify this. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I was working in Rye throughout February. A really lovely welcoming B&B. Everybody (including Bracken) made me feel right at home. The room was great, breakfast was just what I required and there was plenty of local information and recommendations. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

It's always a pleasure to take care of people working away from home, and glad if we can provide the atmosphere which makes you feel more relaxed, a home from home. It may not be everyones "perfect" but glad it was yours. Look forward to seeing you again next time work or otherwise brings you in this direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Lovely people and I love "Bracken" the labradoodle. Clean, resonably priced but slightly out of town for non-drivers like us. Mind you the owner has given us lifts to the station before. A nice breakfast and the owners are always around for tips about Rye. Recommended for families or couples alike.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatbobslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Good to welcome you both back, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to help in whatever way we can regarding transport, feel free to ask. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed for a long weekend visiting from France. Very friendly and accommodating a great choice for a B&B in Rye. Breakfast was very filling and our individual needs were very well catered for. Love the towels!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback and glad we were able to cater for your needs. Hope to see you and your family again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed for one night in November. The house is a few minutes' walk from Rye which means you don't get kept awake by the Rye revellers at night! We had initially stayed ten years ago and decided to return as it was so lovely. We stayed in the Tenterden room which has an amazing shower, really comfy bed and lovely views across to the river. As we came in from shopping we were offered fresh milk for the tea tray in our room - a very thoughtful touch. Breakfast was cooked to order with lots of choice.

Staying at Little Saltcote is like staying with friends; it's got a lovely family atmosphere where even the labradoodle is please to see you!

Room Tip: The Tenterden room has an amazing shower and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nolly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

It was lovely to see you both again, thank you for remembering us. Glad you enjoyed this break away and hope it's not 10 years before we see you again. Until the next time...all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.5 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Military Road, Rye TN31 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range: £81 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian Family Home. Family friendly, convenient to town and countryside. Free off Road parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Saltcote Bed And Breakfast Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing