We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”

Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 39 Rye B&B and Inns
luton
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A very friendly comfortable pet friendly b&b with a good home cooked breakfast in a great location. It was a very last minute booking but we were really glad to have found such a great place. We were made to feel very welcome and given information about local places to go.
Would recommend little saltcote as a place to stay for a long weekend.
Plus the bed was very comfy too !!!! Slept like a log

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank biizylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
8 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it gives us great pleasure to know people enjoyed their time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

There were four of us spending a few days in West Sussex. We were booked just for one night, but loved it so much we stayed an extra day. Denys and Barbara made us feel so welcome, a lovely couple, and of course Bracken the dog. The breakfasts were superb and the rooms very homely and comfortable, nothing was too much trouble. All in all Little Saltcote highly recommended,and is within easy walking distance to Rye town itself for the restaurants and shops.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We were so glad you found us and that we were able to arrange things to enable you to stay the second night. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I spent a lovely few days in the room named: "the tenterden". 14th-17th may. I was a sole traveller and was made very welcome. I had that four poster ensuite room all to myself for a very reasonable price. which was very surprising as its a well known fact that the south east of England is the most expensive area of britain. It was a very good deal indeed! Good hearty breakfasts. very tasty! Little extras such as: sachets of of hot chocolate, buiscuits and fresh milk daily, given on tea and coffee tray in the room. what more would you want? The walk from b&b to town takes only 5-7 mins. I'm already lookig forward to my next visit. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I was very happy with the "tenterden" as a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britbirdBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Having been away it was lovely to come back to such a possitive review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Visited over a weekend to catch up with old friends, had a lovely time. The owners are very helpful and more than surpassed our expectation. Highly recommended when visiting Rye and the nearby attractions

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
It was such a pleasure to look after you all. We are so pleased you were able to have relaxed couple of days. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one child free night.
I spoke to Barbara a few times before we arrived and she was very helpful and friendly.
When we arrived her friend Trisha greeted us (which we were told would be the case) and she was very welcoming. We stayed in the Tenterden Room which was compact but sufficient for our needs. The room was clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, TV/DVD, dressing table and a small cupboard to hang clothes.
The en suite was very clean with a powerful/hydrotherapy shower and a few complimentary toiletries.
The bedding was so soft and comfortable - very good nights sleep.
The view from the room was pretty looking over the river, fields and sheep with a lovely flowering magnolia tree in next doors garden.
The centre of Rye was a 10 minute walk away, where there was loads to see and do. The Queens Head was five minute walk from there and was a nice traditional pub.
Parking was available outside the B&B.
The general atmosphere of the B&B was very relaxed and homely. If you needed anything else you only had to ask - hairdryer, iron etc.
The veggie breakfast was great especially the mushrooms and scrambled egg.
Overall a lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlierabbit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Manager at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was my second stay and my wife's fourth.

The property is handily placed and there are nice views from the front of the River Rother and fields right to Dungeness, although of late the addition of a wind farm detracts a little.

Our room the time, the Camber, was spacious enough once we had learned to not knock our knees on the bottom corner of one of the bedsteads. There was plenty of storage space and an efficient shower (stocked with just one toiletry) with towels changed every 3 or 4 days. We were supplied with fresh milk for the hospitality tray on two occasions, and biscuits just once, during our three-night break. The hot chocolate sachets were particularly welcome.

The breakfasts were excellent, with a choice of good quality ingredients, and more coffee and toast always offered.

We were provided with keys to the room, the house, and the back garden. Guests at this establishment do not have an indoor lounge as such but are allowed access to a small conservatory.

Parking is off-road - just - and a bit tight, but this was still useful as the property is only a few minutes up the road and over a railway bridge from the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
It was lovely to see you both again, disappointed with myself for missing a couple of things. I wish you had said something at the time. As we say in our guest information folder, if we get feedback at the time, most oversights can be rectified. Feedback is always welcome, especially with a newly refurbished/redecorated room as yours when there might be teething problems, eg the end of the bed. Plans are already in place to rectify this. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I was working in Rye throughout February. A really lovely welcoming B&B. Everybody (including Bracken) made me feel right at home. The room was great, breakfast was just what I required and there was plenty of local information and recommendations. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcote, Owner at Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
It's always a pleasure to take care of people working away from home, and glad if we can provide the atmosphere which makes you feel more relaxed, a home from home. It may not be everyones "perfect" but glad it was yours. Look forward to seeing you again next time work or otherwise brings you in this direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.5 mi away
The George in Rye
0.7 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.4 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#2 of 39 in Rye
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#8 of 39 in Rye
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast

Property: Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Military Road, Rye TN31 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian Family Home. Family friendly, convenient to town and countryside. Free off Road parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Little Saltcote Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Saltcote Bed And Breakfast Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing