We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Up To History”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Quarter House

The Quarter House:  Black door with green stained glass, located between 43 & 44 The Mint
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Quarter House:  Black door with green stained glass, located between 43 & 44 The Mint
Living room towards dining area Living/dining room towards kitchen. Open log fire, satellite TV, DVD, CD & wifi available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The Quarter House:  Black door with green stained glass, located between 43 & 44 The Mint
Living room towards dining area
Living/dining room towards kitchen. Open log fire, satellite TV, DVD, CD & wifi available
Main double bedroom adjacent to double futon bed-space
Additional double futon bed-space adjacent to main bedroom
Modern bathroom with jacuzzi bath with shower over.
Modern kitchen includes electric cooker & hob, fridge, microwave, toaster & kettle
Stairs to top floor bedrooms
Looking down the famous cobbled Mermaid Street
Looking up Mermaid Street from the bottom of The Mint
The Ypres Tower - and view beyond to Rye Harbour and the sea
From West Street towards Church Square
Church Square towards west Steet
Landgate, Rye, from the High Street
The Mermaid Street Cafe (& phone box!) at the bottom of The Mint
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Up To History”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Rye is a magical, time-travelling experience at the best of times and my delightful stay at The Quarterhouse summed this up delightfully. It's a lovely, historical, intimate setting that's perfect for a couple or a small family. Everything is at your fingertips: TV, kitchen, great bathroom facilities and a really useful selection of information on the many things to do in the area, thoughtfully by the super-friendly owner, Sally. Plus the location couldn't be better...smack bang in the middle of Rye's main street, a step away from all its delightful shops, restaurants and galleries. If you want to stay in Rye and really soak up the atmosphere, I'd recommend forgoing the usual hotel route and spending a night or two at the Quarterhouse. It really is something to write home about.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much - really descriptive and useful to others. We hope to see you again sometime to repeat the experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cejamo
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Wonderful location
Perfectly located on the high street in Rye . Quirky and characterful, we really liked this little place. We had a few issues but the owners did their best to resolve, we found them most helpful and friendly . Rye is an amazing little place, you feel so welcomed and safe there, it's just lovely.
We ate amazing food and drank lovely wines and didn't drain the bank account.... so perfect !!!
We loved the area already as have stayed in Hastings previously but will definitely be back to cool little Rye

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thanks so much for this lovely and really informative review. Rye is indeed a great place for a holiday and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyindis...
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect situation”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Quarter House has bags of character and is perfectly situated right in the heart of old Rye. It also has the advantage of being a couple of doors down from one of the town's best pubs.
We expected to like Rye but it exceeded our expectations and we had a happy time pottering round the town admiring the beautiful buildings. There are many excellent places to eat both snacks and meals, and some very good pubs.
We found everyone we met in Rye to be pleasant, friendly and helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
That's fantastic to hear. We agree with all that you say! Rye is really a lovely ancient town, with all that you need for great holiday (or to live in, come to that!) - and it's great staying right in the heart of things, which is where we are. Hope to see you again sometime and thanks for this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion O
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Quarter House is an ideal place to stay in Rye. Great location and comfortable accomodation. I can definitely recommend it.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for the positive feedback, glad you had a good stay - and we hope to see you again another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBLon...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment, brilliant location”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really loved our stay at The Quarter House - I'd highly recommend it. We travelled with young children and grandparents and everyone loved it. It's in a brilliant location with loads of period charm - very central and on a beautiful street. Not too noisy or busy, and very close to a great fish&chip shop and cafes. It has easy access to parking and shops, everything within a short walk. The loft bedroom space is slighly open plan - there's a significant dividing wall and stairs in the middle but no doors - it worked fine for us, there was more than enough space and privacy for all. Rye is a great base for beaches and exploring nearby areas. We'll definitely try and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, period charm
Liked least: Lack of blackout blinds in the bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for this lovely review. Rye is a great place for a holiday! Really glad you had a good time and hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThenceIWe...
Washington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I wish we'd had more than one night to stay in this lovely historic cottage. It was comfortable, well appointed, and easy to find (I already knew my way around Rye, so perhaps that helped). We didn't meet the owners but the instructions for finding the key were clear and we had no problems getting in. There were 4 in our party and the flat didn't feel at all cramped and we all slept comfortably.

If you are tall or not a fan of close spaces I recommend the bed on the left side of the bedroom. With windows open it can be noisy from the pub up the way and the seagulls have their own choir but I'm a sound sleeper so none of that bothered me at all.

Parking is available at either the Rope Walk car park or the Cattle Market car park near the train station for £1.50 for 24 hours and both are a very easy walk.

My only suggestion is to bring your own milk if you take it with coffee or tea since the little creamers in the cupboard were a bit past fresh, and hot cocoa would make a nice addition to the tea caddy.

That said, I would definitely book this cottage again when next visiting Rye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for this lovely review, brilliant and informative - Rye really is a great place for a holiday. Your suggestions are very useful and we always appreciate feedback. There is hot chocolate usually, so sorry if it was absent from the cupboard when you stayed! Really glad you had a good time, and hope to see you again soon - for longer next time perhaps!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neeceyhil...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy, well equipped, central location”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A really lovely cosy cottage, very welcoming as were the owners Sally & Michel who live downstairs. Very centrally located at the end of the high street but still quite quiet too.
Wonderful fish & chips just down the road as well as other great places to eat.
Our first trip to Rye - we loved it and look forward to staying at the Quarter house again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thanks for this lovely review. Glad you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again... for the benefit of future guests, we are sort of downstairs to the side - easy if you need to get hold of us but far enough away!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing