We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant - deserves a Michelin Star !”
Review of Landgate Bistro

Landgate Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Landgate Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 114 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 17 May 2017

What an amazing restaurant this is. Tucked away on one of the little roads off the High Street in the centre of Rye, you would miss it if you were looking for it as the front is rather unassuming. But when you get inside, a very special experience awaits you ! A warm welcome from very lovely staff, cosy atmosphere, beautifully decorated throughout. Food was just out of this world - far and away the best meal I have had for ages. Everything cooked to perfection, beautifully presented and tasted heavenly ! Only a few dishes on the menu, which, for me is a very good sign, but what we chose was absolutely divine (starters: 1 x squid in red wine, 1 x asparagus with poached egg: mains: 1 x salt-marsh lamb cooked several ways; 1 x roast cod with an amazing little salt-cod fishcake; 2 x rhubarb and almond tarts (sadly the apple tart wasn't available). Difficult to fault the place. If I was pushed to make one observation - well, the napkins were throw away ones - lovely, white, crisply ironed linen ones would have been better in such a classy place. But this didn't spoil the experience. Thank you so much for such a wonderful evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRye, Owner at Landgate Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear Selina,
Many thanks for a lovely review. I take your point about the napkins, I'm partial to a nicely folded one myself. Trouble is laundry costs would add over a pound a head to the price per head. I'd just rather spend the money on ingredients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Called on what turned out to be a busy Thursday evening and hadn't booked in advance so probably lucky to get seated. We were treated to a very nice welcome, excellent food, very good bottle of wine and excellent attentive service. Okay you pay a decent price for the pleasure but when you leave having felt it was a bit special and not disappointed that's a fair deal. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRye, Owner at Landgate Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear Gordon,
Many thanks for the review - much appreciated. On the price point the average spend is £36 a head which is pretty decent for a Good Food Guide listed restaurant. The Bistro has lasted for 30 years always aiming to provide good food at reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We were looking forward to returning to the Landgate Bistro but things seemed to have changed. The portion sizes were very small and the cod fillet on chickpeas was swimming in something thin and watery Chickpeas were too hard for my taste and there was no sign of any vegetables. My partner was reasonably happy with his choice which he said had a beautiful flavour but, again, he would have liked some vegetables or even potatoes. We had to fill up on bread but still left hungry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PJ1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRye, Owner at Landgate Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We're sorry you didn't enjoy us as much as last time. On portion sizes, they're designed for the three course menu and we wouldn't want anyone to be full on just one or two courses.
The cod is served with alexanders, sea kale and sea purslane, all picked from within a mile of the restaurant. There's wild spinach in the salt cod fritter as well. Also, if you do need extra vegetables or potatoes, please just ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

AT LAST ! ! After over 300 reviews and at just the right time (22nd wedding anniversary) we found the restaurant that was faultless. Perfect decoration-perfect table distances--perfect service ( from a charming Romanian) and more than this superb food. Everything to make you want to return
(Price wasn't bad either)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRye, Owner at Landgate Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Super restaurant - gorgeous food and great ambiance. Fabulous service from all staff. We go there every time we are in Rye.

Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRye, Owner at Landgate Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Cathy,
Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Rye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landgate Bistro also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Landgate Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing