We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

After finding this cottage by accident on a walk around Rye and then on facebook,
this had to be a must for a vacation over the,new Year period of 2016.
This is a property that full fills all, of the feelings and character of your own home away, from home and, right in the glory of Rye citadel the sort after part to stay.
Within walking distance of the great restaurants (The George Hotel the HOOF
Steak House) and more.
Everything you want in this cottage is there to make your stay what it should be.
comfortable pleasant and never wanting to leave.
Well decorated, and very warm and cozy with, beds that you sink into for the lay-in.
Jilly B the owner is a very attentive host (from a distance of her own home),who cares for your stay and calls to make sure you are OK, that's a reassuring aspect that adds to the charm of the place.

After a 6 day stay my family where sad to leave, but no fear we are going back this year for another stay, that's how much we loved it.

Ockman cottage you can't beat the quality and price, trust us we've stayed in a few in RYE.

Happy Vacation and it will be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your very positive review. It is important to us that our guests have the most enjoyable and comfortable stay we have tried to ensure Ockman Cottage had everything our guests require and hopefully more.....also Rye is such a wonderful town and all on the doorsetep!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Again thank you for taking time to review......Jilly B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon E
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little cottage ”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a great stay at ockman last week spending most of the time indoors cooking and watching films .

Great location with a fully fitted kitchen helping us create our culinary delights . We felt really cosy in the cottage which is ideal for a couple staying .

Parking is a little annoying but expected with such a great location.

Recommend walking to WinChelsea beach one day .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
We were so pleased you enjoyed our cottage so much. We have tried to furnish the cottage to ensure our guests are comfortable and have the choice to stay in for cosy nights or visit the ️️wonderful choice of restaurants literally on the doorstep. Unfortunately the parking is a few minutes walk but at £1.50 per 24 hours is a great asset to a medieval town ️️although we can allow our guests to unload/load in the quiet twitten where ️️Ockman Cottage is located. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Peasmarsh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ideal”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Ockman Cottage is delightful and ideally located for a stay in the heart of Rye. Although situated right in the centre of the town, it is really quiet at night and feels very private. It is furnished and decorated to a very high standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. As you state ️️Ockman Cottage is situated in the heart of Rye with everything be it restaurants, tearooms, galleries, museums, independent shops, antiques all only a few steps away......Thank you again for taking time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa W
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Centrally located in Rye, Ockman cottage is a real gem. The owner Jilly supplied a wonderful welcome basket for our arrival. The cottage is beautifully presented and well appointed - we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Lots of lovely local restaurants especially Union Steak House which is just across the road from the cottage. I would highly recommend this holiday cottage to everyone and if we return to Rye I will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a glowing review....it is so important to us that our guests have an enjoyable stay and experience the ️wonderful restaurants Rye has to offer. The Union Steak House seems to be a favourite.....We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A beautiful quaint cottage in a wonderful location - we'll be back!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I booked this lovely 2 bedroom cottage for a BH weekend in May and we absolutely loved it!

The cottage is immaculately presented, with a lovely open plan lounge and kitchen which is very well equipped, two beautiful bedrooms (very comfortable, lovely decor, with good storage) and a nice bathroom with lovely rural views.

The location of the cottage is perfect; in the centre of Rye (a delightful, charming and picturesque small town) and just off a main street on a small cobbled side street. There are some excellent restaurants, bars and shops on the door step.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Decor, location and cosiness!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review......it always pleases us that our guests enjoy our cottage, the ️️wonderful interesting town of ️Rye and also wish to return.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myhonesto...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My second visit with friends to this wonderfully positioned, comfortable and well appointed cottage in the heart of Rye. There is so much in a walking distance to explore and enjoy...architecture, history, nature, views, numerous exciting and quality places to eat and drink, peruse and shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
It is always a pleasure to welcome back guests for a second time. With Ockman Cottage being so centrally located it is only a few minutes from all that Rye has to offer......there is something for everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmB2208
Ventnor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage , great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I visited together with my sisters. We had a great time. Jilly provided a generous welcome basket, and the cottage was spotless. It is a perfect central location in the heart of the old town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
We were so pleased you and your sisters enjoyed our Welcome Basket we feel it is so important to settle in and be able to have some refreshment be it tea, coffee and biscuits or a glass of wine. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing