We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, centrally situated cottage ideal for a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Clare59Ot...
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy, centrally situated cottage ideal for a lovely stay in Rye.”
Reviewed 3 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Lovely cottage right in the centre of Rye. Warm and cosy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Only steps away from all the shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes you could want. The cottage is very well equipped and the furniture is of a very good standard. No parking but you can unload outside and then park in a nearby car park for £1.50 a day. Jilly, the owner is very good at keeping in touch and helping with any issues. She also provided good information prior to arrival. We would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Thank you for such a positive review. We and our housekeepers take pride in ensuring our cottage is maintained to a very high standard ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay.
So pleased you enjoyed the central location of our property.....Rye is such an interesting town hopefully we may welcome you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC S
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Ockman Cottage was a wonderful retreat for a weekend away; comfortable, cosy and well-equipped. Everything was very clean and beautifully presented. Being right in the centre of Rye, everything we needed was on our doorstop, with other attractions easily accessible by car or by rail. There is no parking by the cottage, only the facility for unloading and loading, but we had no problem with the parking suggested by the owner, Jill. We highly recommend Ockman Cottage as a holiday destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
We and our housekeepers pride ourselves in ensuring our cottage is presented to a very high standard and that all our guests are comfortable. We were so pleased you enjoyed the central location and the ease to travel in the area.....there is so much to see in this corner of East Sussex.
Thank you for taking the time to review and your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage in perfect location.”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A lovely two bedroomed cottage in the centre of Rye which is well appointed with excellent furnishings, very comfortable beds and a fully-equipped kitchen. You are right by the town's medieval buildings and streets; good food shops, pubs and restaurants are within a five-minute walk of the cottage (make sure you book a restaurant on Saturdays even out of season!). Communicating with Jilly was incredibly easy and efficient. Definitely somewhere to return to!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
Thank you for such a positive review it is so important to us that our guests enjoy the wonderful town of Rye together with being comfortable in our cottage at the end of a day exploring.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of Rye”
Reviewed 14 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My wife and I and two friends stayed for two nights at this extremely well appointed cottage. Walk out of the front door and you are in the middle of Rye so everything is on your doorstep. We had a lovely time and would very much recommend Ockman Cottage as a great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2017
Thank you for such a positive review......our cottage is tucked away in the heart of Rye perfect for a getaway break. We were so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully may welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbwilson6...
Browns Mills NJ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

In a word, Ockman Cottage is simply "wonderful." This well-appointed cottage is warm and cozy and is centrally located in the historic town of Rye, East Sussex. My wife and I spent a week here and just loved waking up in this beautiful home. Jilly, the owner, was delightful to speak with and was concerned for her guests’ comfort and well being. If you are considering a visit to Rye, East Sussex, a stay at the Ockman Cottage is a must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your most positive review. We were so pleased you enjoyed our cottage tucked away in the heart of the wonderful town of Rye.....it was a pleasure to speak to both you and your wife on more than one occasion.....it is so important to us that all our guests are settled and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
1 review
“Nice cottage ideally placed!”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Very nice cottage ideally placed at the heart of Rye. We had a wonderful stay and Jilly was extremely welcoming and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
We were so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay it is always a pleasure to host a special occasion. Hopefully we maybe able to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for reviewing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sashford7...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nights stay at Rye”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely nights stay in Rye at Ockman Cottage. This is our 2nd stay at the cottage and it’s a little Gem. We would come here over and over again. Very cosy and always feel at home straight away, so beautifully and tastefully decorated and furnished. Everything there you need. Kitchen fully equipped to cater for your self. Absolutely fab and can not wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thank you for such a positive review.....we are always pleased to welcome guests especially those on a repeat visit.....it is so important to us that all who stay at our cottage have a comfortable and memorable stay. Again thank you for reviewing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing