We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellington Hotel - Very good indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wellington Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Seaford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I first stayed at the Wellington Hotel in summer 2012 and was very impressed with the value for money. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was really good with a selection of cereals, fruit and fruit juice, toast and full English breakfast cooked to order. The other thing I have to say is that the staff are all very professional and friendly; nothing is too much trouble. The bar is well stocked and there is a good selection of real ales. I thought the drinks prices were on the high side for a pub hotel but maybe that's just me. I don't think you will find better value for your money in the same area, like-for-like, if you stay here. It must have been pretty good because I stayed at the Wellington twice more last year and have been back again this year and will be there again shortly. Repeat business must be a good recommendation!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights while visiting Seaford, where I grew up 40 years ago. The Wellington has certainly changed and is now a well patronised, comfortable and friendly pub offering food and B&B in four bedrooms. Our room was well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff were welcoming and friendly: the breakfast was excellent - all cooked to order. For beer drinkers especially, this is a great freehouse offering a good range of beers. We will certainly stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NigelHNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We booked this hotel through LateRooms and the pictures on the web site do not do the hotel justice. The staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms looked to have been recently refurbished and were pleasant enough. The bar served a wonderful selection of real ale with 10 different beers on offer, the atmosphere was very pleasant with a busy buzz throughout the evening. The breakfast was of good quality, juice and cereal were available but the full english was of course a must. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quality weekend break in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavePitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We were cold, hungry, and thirsty and went in the first place we could find in Seaford I.e. The Wellington. This is great pub/Inn. Friendly staff and punters, excellent food, 2 open fires, and superb selection of beers. We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

we stayed just the one night as we were walking to & from Seaford. the accommodation was great - big fluffy duvet, modern bathroom, flat screen TV. we ate breakfast and the full english comes in meat and veggie options - both huge and very very nice. arguable too nice to then go on a 14 miles walk but we managed.
the pub on saturday night was v popular and friendly and the location is great for starting a coastal walk

Room Tip: we stayed in 102 which despite being above the pub entrance wasn't noisy at all
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Walked in whilst staying in the area for a weekend - over 12 real ales on tap and a fantastic selection of white and dark spirits as well as ports. Tried the 'cook your own' steak experience and thought it a good idea - try complaining after cooking it yourself! Food was good and relaitively quick service - we ate at the bar. Would definitely return there should we revisit Seaford.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so cannot comment
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Called here at lunchtime to celebrate my friends birthday. We were the first people in at noon and ordered two coffees and a brandy and asked for the lunch menu. We were told they are not doing food at lunchtime at the moment!!! Great. So I paid for the coffees and he said he would bring them over. So we waited....... He then served a man with a pint of beer and disappeared - I thought to get my coffee. So we waited..... The man went back to the counter and waited.... and then banged on the bar and waited...... and then went round the back to find the barman. Still no coffee. The man's pint was OFF and the barman had gone to change the barrell. Still no coffee......and then......it came. Lukewarm. How disappointing. I had heard good reports of this place but was less than impressed. Lukewarm coffee bad beer and no staff.......shame.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma L, Manager at The Wellington Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Susan,

May I first of all apologise for your bad experience at the Wellington Hotel. We take every review very seriously so I was extremely concerned to discover that you did not enjoy your visit.

All of our staff are highly trained and professional and I will be speaking in person to the barman you refer to and can assure you that this will not happen again should you decide to revisit. We pride ourselves on the high level of service we provide and the reputation we have evidently acquired and I can only apologise again for the bad service you received.

Regarding your reference to non service of lunch, I'm afraid we only serve lunch from Friday to Sunday, this has been the case for over 2 years now and although I completely understand your disappointment, it is clearly advertised thoughout the building and on our website.
Just to clarify and to avoid any further disappointment, our hours of food service are:

Mon - Thurs: 6 - 9pm only

Fri - Sat: 12 - 3pm and 6 - 9pm

Sun: 12 - 4pm only

However, I am very pleased to inform you that we will be introducing a weekday lunchtime menu in the New Year so perhaps if you would be willing to give us another chance we might be able to redeem ourselves and prove that we are worthy of the fantastic reviews we have so far recieved.

Should you decide to return please make yourself known to me so I can apologise in person.

Kind Regards,

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.3 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
850 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33 Steyne Road, Seaford BN25 1HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Seaford
Price Range: £56 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington is a traditional pub with 4 rooms offering comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation combined with an atmospheric bar and an excellent dining experience. The Wellington is centrally located in Seaford, close to the sea and makes an excellent base for exploring East Sussex. ** Please note: The Wellington does not have its own car park, but there are however 2 car parks located close by and street parking right outside ** The town of Seaford is a quiet seaside resort in East Sussex, U. K. It is located on the foot of the South Downs, a range of hills stretching from Winchester to Eastbourne. It is a great place to have a break. These days the town is sometimes overshadowed by nearby Newhaven, as one of the main ports on the South Coast. During the middle ages, however, the main port was Seaford. The town gained its importance as the mouth of the river Ouse, but this importance was not to last. The river suffered from silting, which made traffic difficult, and the town also suffered from repeated attacks by French pirates. The town was repeatedly burned down and rebuilt in the 14th, 15th and 16th centuries. In those days the locals had a reputation for looting and causing shipwrecks. For many, the main attraction in Seaford is the beach. This has an obvious attraction in the summer, when the sea reaches temperatures up to 20 degrees Celsius. But the sea is equally attractive in the winter. The town has a shopping centre, with enough shops to spend a good afternoon looking around. If shopping is a must, both Eastbourne and Brighton are about half hour away on either side of the town. For the out-and-abouts there is plenty of hills to get on with, as we are situated at the foot of a hill range called the South Downs. The Seven Sisters Country Park is just around the corner, and so is the famous Long Man of Wilmington, a massive feature carved out in the rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Bed & Breakfast Seaford, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing