We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wellington Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Avondale(Seaford)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
70
41
8
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
41
8
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfull englishcomplimentary newspaperbreakfast was excellentwelcoming stafftoastgood sizeexcellent valuefresh milkcomfortable bedyour choicefriday nightbreakfast menuvery nice atmospheremini barfour bedroomssea front
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Picked this Hotel at relatively the last moment due to availability of Glyndebourne tickets for last Saturday's Opera. Most local Hotels already booked up!
Major delays on the M25 & M23 meant we only got to Seaford middle of the afternoon. Really pleasantly surprised by the high standard of accommodation at this Hotel. Nice big clean room with on suite. Reception staff really helpful in giving us the number of a local reliable taxi company. Opera and Glyndebourne absolutely fabulous. Whole marvellous trip topped off with a full English breakfast freshly cooked by the Hotel. A big thanks to the helpful staff, we shall definitely stay there again if we are lucky enough to get any more tickets for Glyndebourne.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was conveniently located for the sea front and town. The breakfasts were excellent. The only downside was that parking was a bit tricky.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just had one night here when coming to Seaford for family party. Very welcoming staff. Lovely comfortable room, and well provisioned. Quieter than expected on a Saturday night. Breakfast service was excellent and beautifully cooked. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lierseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just wanted to give a plug for my favourite pub in my home town of Seaford.
They have got it all so right.
Great Staff, Great Food, Great Special offers, clean and friendly.
Only slight downside, the meat raffle, great for some I'm sure but the noise level and hype it creates is just a little off putting for those of us just trying to have a chat and a 'cheeky' drink. Would be fairer and maybe more bearable if us Veggies were taken care of, the odd marrow or two maybe. :). X

Room Tip: Sorry local so not had the need to sleep here
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We decided to take a last minute break to the South Downs in order to enjoy the weather and explore the surrounding countryside, choosing an overnight stay at The Wellington. It was the perfect choice!
The rooms are airy, clean and thoughtfully presented with bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits (as you'd expect from a decent b&b/inn). The shower was fine (when the water temperature finally settled!) and there was a decent selection of toiletries in the bathroom. All very good - the only disappointment being a few stray hairs on the bathroom floor that the cleaner had missed.
However, the hotel really excels when you visit the bar and restaurant. If was quite busy (we had to stand initially before finding a space at the bar) but the atmosphere was very friendly and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We didn't have to wait long for bar service and all of the staff seemed happy to be there.
When we went through to the restaurant we were surprised to see a couple of free tables but were made very welcome by the waitress. The food was of excellent quality and very well cooked - it was so nice to find genuine freshly-prepared meals on the menu. The fillet steak was easily one of the nicest I've ever had - my wife had the lasagne and thought the same. Prices were reasonable and the only slight disappointment was a fairly uninspired wine list, which is at odds with the excellent selection of real ales and whiskies at the bar.
All of the rooms are above the bar/restaurant so you'd expect some noise. This certainly didn't concern us as the place empties out at 11 and is perfectly quiet from then on.
As others have mentioned, breakfast was lovely and gave us tons of energy for the day.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience that was made all the more special by the friendly service from all. I would have rated The Wellington 5 stars if there was allocated parking and the rooms had been finished to a higher standard - but then maybe it would have lost some of the charm. If Tripadvisor allowed half marks then this would be a solid 4.5 out of 5.

Room Tip: 101 is above the restaurant so will probably be the quietest if you're looking to get an early night.
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews