We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst I've stay at in a while”
Review of Malvern House

Malvern House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malvern House
Ranked #2 of 10 Seaford B&B and Inns
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worst I've stay at in a while”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

I feel bad saying this as you get the feeling the owners mean well but thus place is horrible.

It's ridiculously dated, like staying at your creepy aunt's house with religious stuff at every turn. One wonders where you buy guest house room keys in the shape of a crucifix. America I guess.

Rooms are named after previous stones which adds a sad irony as they are far from jewels.

The rooms are unclean. Actually dirty. Hairs in bed. Tired sheets in hideous dated print. Scuzzy Tupperware and grimy glasses. The place smells weird too. Like dogs and dust.

Seaford is a tatty town. Poor example of british costal town.

Whole thing is pretty tragic.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoomWithAReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guest , You took time to make a report on your stay with us and we are now taking time to make a response. We found the comments you made quite hurtful, perhaps that is an 'old fashioned' word to use. We ordered the key fobs from a UK company, from quite a limited selection, and it never crossed our minds they looked like a crucifix ! Thank you for pointing that out. This year, we are updating our bed linen - you have missed the change over which is currently being undertaken. As you would see from other postings, yours is in the minority and realistically we have to accept that we cannot please all the people all the time. We love Seaford, and have found other guests enjoy the town being what it is. We always weigh comments and do our best to learn from them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
18
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

It was a great pleasure for me, my husband and our friend to stay 4 days in the comfortable and cosy house of Jean and Eric. Both were very friendly and gave us the feeling to be very welcome guests. Even the breakfasts were excellent.

Annelore from Hamburg

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you very much for the review on Tripadvisor - we enjoyed your company and hope to see you in Seaford again. Our season has been busy, so forgive us for taking time to respond. With our best wishes and once again our thanks for time and effort in placing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

After a long journey we were anxious to get into our b and b and get some sleep and it was so nice to have a warm greeting and to be made comfortable straight away. We were shown to our room which had that nice airy cosy feel about it...We reckon you can usually tell what the stay is going to be like when you first see the room..and after a well earned good nights rest in the comfy bed and quiet room we were very content! The breakfast was served up hot and fresh from the adjoining kitchen and there was plenty (just as well as we were starving!). We finally left for our return journey and were happy to pay for a great stay. Nice clean room..nice fresh food and nice folks..what more do you need? We often visit this coastline and will definitely be booking in here again..thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Our season has been very busy, and we are a little late thanking you for the review on Tripadvisor. We do hope to see you again, and once again, our thanks for taking the time to place the review. With our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The room we had the misfortune of staying in was disgustingly dirty, I can't imagine when it was last cleaned but I don't think it was anytime this year, I had to go out and buy cleaning products myself! The beds were very uncomfortable, the pillows even worse and I ended up becoming wheezy from all the dust and dirt in the room. Ridiculously over priced at £65 a night for an 'en-suite', barely room to turn in their so called bathroom with crispy towels and an incredibly noisy toilet. I would not recommend this b&b to anyone, you would be better off sleeping in a field!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
We note that there have been two reports placed on Trip Advisor by this guest - the other was also not favourable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

It would be hard to find a couple more suited to run a b& b than Jean and Eric. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for these two. An outstanding experience. Being a veggie is no problem, the breakfast is excellent.

Malvern House certainly gets my vote for best b&b in the area if not in the whole of Sussex.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Many thanks for your appreciative review on Tripadvisor. Our season has been very busy and apologies for the time it has taken to send our thanks for your time and effort in placing the review. With our thanks once again, and our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently stayed at Malvern House and got a warm welcome when we arrived with a cup of tea, but to be honest it was like paying to stay with relatives in that we were immediately immersed in 'their world' and felt little personal space. Too much chat. This was made worse by the communal breakfast table which we shared with two other couples and which they appear to also use for their breakfast.

It was warm, clean and comfortable and the room was very spacious however there was no hot water in the morning. It appeared the boiler had broken down and we were not offered any kind of discount off the bill, just a vague apology.

Shame really as all other reports are good. Make up your own minds I guess, but we're not going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We suppose over friendly is not the worst description of us. However, we will look at that area. Staying in a home situation is not for everyone, and we regret these guests were not comfortable with us. The hot water was a complete shock to us, in 17 years we have never had this problem, but we did have hot water back on within half an hour via the back up water heater. We are grateful for the acknowledgement that all the other TripAdvisor comments are good ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have stayed at Malvern House in July 2010 with my 2 travel friends, and to be honest i wasn't expecting such a great,clean and peaceful place. All the places were extremely clean with great rooms full of hygiene. It was so sweet that there were coffee,tea, and cookies to eat in the room. Apart from all of these i have to thank Jean&Eric for their hospitality and helps. Because we were going to leave the B&B early in the morning and when we wake up we found a great breakfast waiting for us in the kitchen. Thank you Jean and Eric for your lovely chats and consideration. And for the ones who would like to visit Seven Sisters or Seaford,or to stay near there, i definitely and highly recommend Malvern House...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Manager at Malvern House, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
I am not much of a techy person and it has taken me a while to work out how to respond to reviews, which is why I have been late in saying thank you for yours. We do appreciate the time and effort in placing the review. With our thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
0.7 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
96 reviews
2.4 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
76 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
826 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern House

Property: Malvern House
Address: Malvern House Alfriston Road, Seaford BN25 3QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Seaford
Hotel Class:3 star — Malvern House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Malvern House Seaford, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing