We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malvern House
Nearby Hotels
The Avondale(Seaford)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalk Farm Hotel(Willingdon)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Apartments(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
45
7
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
7
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bseparate toilet and bathroomseven sistersother gueststasty breakfastone nightcomfortable stayfriendly hostsroom was cleanjeancracklecoastlinekettle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at Malvern House. We had a large family room with a bath/shower room and a separate WC. There was a kettle, tea, coffe and fresh biscuits each day. We stayed for 4 nights. The windows opened wide ensuring a comfortable sleep at night. The beds were also comfortable and It was very quiet. Jean and Eric are lovely people, and Crackle the dog only came to say "good morning" in the mornings as he was keen to go for his walk. We had everything we needed, even an electric radiator in case it turned chilly. We will definitely stay again. Thank you Jean for your understanding when we had to stay in our room all day due to 'over-travelling'

Room Tip: Corner suite at the back is very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CavanFrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review for us. We are so pleased you were able to rest and relax and 'recharge your batteries'. Again, our thanks for your time in posting the review. Jean and Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Having flown straight in from New Zealand and journeyed down from Heathrow, we were a little tired and arrived late evening at Malvern House. Although a little out of the town centre, we were given a very warm welcome and excellent hospitality. Jean and Eric were very accommodating and gave us a very comfortable stay. The breakfast is en famille and a very full english breakfast is offered. Tea (several varieties) and coffee-making in the room is a plus, as are the other thoughtful extras provided. There is plenty of off-road parking. We certainly enjoyed our six nights at this special hostelry.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room with ensuite facilities.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Pointers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review - and for your positive comments. We thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We shall certainly stay at Malvern House again on our next visit to Seaford. Jean and Eric are kind and caring and we felt at home from the moment of our arrival. Accomodation is comfortable, bedrooms are large, breakfast excellent and all close to buses and trains for travel along the coastline.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyce t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review - we do appreciate your time and effort and look forward to your next visit. With thanks and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just one nights stay here on route to Porstmouth. Excellent stay ,lovely breakfast and hospitality was wonderful. A very comfortable nights stay, would loved to have stayed another night just wandering around the countryside. Eric took myself and another lady on a quick tour of the town and cliffs. Quite breathtaking. Love Crackle the dog who was part of the family. A short walk to the pub and a very nice meal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiegirl607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We want to thank you, rather belatedly for your lovely review on Tripadvisor - we were pleased to be able to share the beauty of our locality with you. With best wishes and our thanks once again for your time and effort in placing a review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

I feel bad saying this as you get the feeling the owners mean well but thus place is horrible.

It's ridiculously dated, like staying at your creepy aunt's house with religious stuff at every turn. One wonders where you buy guest house room keys in the shape of a crucifix. America I guess.

Rooms are named after previous stones which adds a sad irony as they are far from jewels.

The rooms are unclean. Actually dirty. Hairs in bed. Tired sheets in hideous dated print. Scuzzy Tupperware and grimy glasses. The place smells weird too. Like dogs and dust.

Seaford is a tatty town. Poor example of british costal town.

Whole thing is pretty tragic.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoomWithAReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernHouse, Owner at Malvern House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Guest , You took time to make a report on your stay with us and we are now taking time to make a response. We found the comments you made quite hurtful, perhaps that is an 'old fashioned' word to use. We ordered the key fobs from a UK company, from quite a limited selection, and it never crossed our minds they looked like a crucifix ! Thank you for pointing that out. This year, we are updating our bed linen - you have missed the change over which is currently being undertaken. As you would see from other postings, yours is in the minority and realistically we have to accept that we cannot please all the people all the time. We love Seaford, and have found other guests enjoy the town being what it is. We always weigh comments and do our best to learn from them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews