We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day out”

Seven Sisters Country Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.81*
and up
South Downs and Seven Sisters Half-Day Small-Group Tour from Brighton
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Seaford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We took the 12 bus from Brighton and got off at the Country Park at Exceat. We had planned to just cross the road from there and either walk towards the cliffs or rent bikes and cycle there, but upon hearing that we were looking to see the view of the cliffs rather than actually going on the cliff tops themselves, the gentleman at the Seven Sisters Visitors' Centre suggested that we walk towards the coastguard cottages instead. Once we got there, we were so grateful that we had gone to the Visitor's Centre before setting off and had sought advice, as the view from there was exactly what we had been looking for. The walk from the car park to the cottages was easy, and the area was absolutely beautiful. The cliff top on the coastguard cottage side was high up, but it was no problem walking up.

We had read online that there wouldn't be any shops or restaurants in the area so we packed a couple of sandwiches and drinks for a picnic lunch. We saw a pub next to the car park though, and the outside seating area looked lovely.

I'd recommend a visit to the Seven Sisters Country Park to anyone. We were not able to go hiking or walk the few miles to Seaford and get the bus back from there, rather than going back to the bus stop where we'd gotten off earlier, and will be hoping that we can go back soon and do that next time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stelllla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    148
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
184 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An easy walk”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

At the car park there were free leaflets with details of the walks available. The Beach walk is easy and flat perfect for cycles, pushchairs etc (of course until you get to the pebble beach). If you would like more of a challenge try walking up to the cliff tops. This walk takes you through the wetlands with lots of wildlife. It would be better if people kept their dogs on a lead so as not to disturb the ground nesting birds but it is enjoyable all the same.
The visitor centre was small but interesting as an intro. Car park £3.50 or £2.50 just for 2 hours.

Helpful?
2 Thank Twinsliders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Seaford to Eastbourne”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely views of the Seven Sisters as you approach from Seaford!! It was quite windy on the cliffs and a fairly long walk to get to Eastbourne... But it is well worth it and you can relax after with some fish and chips at the beach!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Beautiful area and landmark”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very unusual landscape, it's worth a trip to visit the Seven Sisters Country Park.

Easy access by car, if you go there on a week day, parking is fine and there is no charge.

There is a cafe in the middle, right next to the Birling Gap, which is a great stop for a quick meal or just a coffee.

Extremely recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely park but cafe and info centre closed, expensive parking.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wonderful area to visit, but on arrival at the rough expensive car park, we thought we would have a drink at the cafe and have a look at the information centre, how wrong we were cafe close other than weekends and the info centre the same, if they can get volunteers . So a Mr Whippy was had instead at the car park by the A259 road.
The walk to the beach is really easy and you can see lots of history, including one special and the only bit of military railway track left at this site.( it carried ammo to the emplacements by the beach) . It takes about an hour one way and about a mile . The sea end is interesting and hasn't changes in many years. It's worth a visit, one moan is the car parking prices, a but steep £3.50. If you spend the whole day there, with a picnic I guess it's not so bad.. We will go back again but in the summer, and early.......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Sisters Country Park also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Seaford, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Seaford, East Sussex
 

Been to Seven Sisters Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing