We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Avondale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Avondale
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My family and I spent one night here over the weekend, before the Brighton Marathon. The hosts were extremely welcoming and very helpful. Bedroom was clean and had all the little extras! Fabulous breakfast to send us on our way. Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
33
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed 1 night during September at this B&B. While we were grateful to be able to find a place to stay being late afternoon we called to be quoted $90 for the night then when we confirmed with the wife a little later she quoted us $80???? A rather big drop in price. We were greeted by the owner who almost immediately asked for our money. Gave us the key and unlike other places we stayed in did not even show us our room. While the room was fine with complimentary bottles of water we discovered our bathroom was certainly not. The toilet had stains in the bowl and the shower was very dirty (pink stains all over the sealant) and it was so horrible we really did not want to use it!!! Breakfast was nice' and a lovely clean dining room. After travelling in UK and France for 6.5 weeks and staying at different B&B's almost every night this place was the most disappointing. It does not take a lot of effort to make sure your bathrooms are cleaned correctly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Returned home earlier after staying at the Avondale and would like to say a big thank you to the owners there for a most enjoyable stay ,staff are very friendly and accomadating ,the room had everything that you needed to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable ,well stocked tea tray ,lovely soft white towels ,complimentary toileties and a great nights sleep on a lovely comfortable bed,the room was clean ,warm and inviting . The breakfasts are included in the price and I must say it was an absolute joy to find a very extensive list of options to choose from and everything arrived promptly and hot .In future you will be our first choice when we revisit the area - many thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The B&B is a bit 'tired' and could do with a bit of updating. We had a room on the top floor the sink was cracked as was the shower tray, also the shower water pressure was very low. Beware, tall men using the toliet have to be quite flexible due to the sloping ceiling!!
Felt it was a bit overpriced £85 Sat night and £80 Sun night.
Breakfast was very nice but only served untill 9am which is abit early for getting up when on holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewbsLill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just returned from a 3 day girly break with my cousins at the Avondale Guest House. We had the most wonderful time with very clean and comfortable rooms and the most marvellous breakfasts. The owners and staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. My sister who is disabled had everything she needed and they even saw that her mobility scooter was recharged. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Found the property was easy to find by following the directions given - even found a car parking space on the road outside. The room was at the top of several flights of stairs and hence the bathroom was abit cramped because of the roof line. Bed was comfortable and complimentary bottles of water provided. TV was a tad small but sufficient. Breakfast was OK but tomatos a bit cold - wasn't given the option of hash browns and/or baked beans the 2nd morning. Was it worth the money - I don't think so! Would I stay again - not sure! The location so good - but having said that you can walk around Seaford in 30 mins anyway.

Room Tip: Back of house is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

incredibly beautiful for the summer holidays...Breakfast,lunch and dinner incredibly fresh and tasty.jane and martin very experienced.the cleanest hotel in seaford...I feel qualified and the most disciplined hotels in Europe

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlh_swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
3.0 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
7.4 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avondale

Property: The Avondale
Address: Avondale Road, Seaford BN25 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avondale 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Avondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Hotel Seaford
The Avondale Seaford, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing