We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Avondale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Avondale
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as usual hotel in Newhaven fully booked. Do not usually stay in B&B's, but very pleasantly surprised by welcome, room, facilities and excellent breakfast. Highly recommended, and I will return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
34
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we received rather a strange welcome. the room was basic although it had a nice view of the sea.. Unusually there was a totem pole in the back garden! They served a delicious breakfast. enjoyed Seaford though

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieandpatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly b&b very close to town center. My room was very clean and quiet even if it was near the main road. Good breakfast with homemade marmelade and fresh coffee. Easy to find free parking just outside after 5pm. Free wifi.

Only downside was the shared shower/bath with very low ceiling but I can live with that for the price paid.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Maestro123987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Avondale is well situated right in the town centre, making access to trains and buses for attractions a real dream. Very well appointed, spotlessly clean, and a magnificent breakfast! Good, friendly service - I'd put it at the top of my list when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We (parent & 2 children aged 12 and 15) used the Avondale as a stopover before an early sailing to Dieppe. Family room was a good size and clean and comfortable. Steep narrow stairs, partially obstructed by the stairlift were a bit awkward with bags. Parking is an issue - we had to park on the road around the corner. Breakfast was good - freshly cooked and arrived fast.

Room Tip: Beware of steep narrow staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbtest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights and found the owners welcoming and the room to a good standard for this type of accommodation. SWMBO approved of the clean towels, crisp sheets and general attention to detail with the little extras so if it got past her scrutiny it has to be okay ! We were too late to book an on-suite so had to accept a shared bathroom, but as this was literally next to our room it proved to be fine.

Breakfast was excellent in the large and tastefully decorated room.

A really good feature is the convenience and indeed the frequency of the local buses to Brighton and Eastbourne. We were going to events at the Brighton Fringe and the bus is a lot less hassle than driving and parking anywhere near the venue (Much cheaper too as parking in Brighton is very expensive). Even on a Sunday buses run till midnight.

Room Tip: Seaford is a quiet town and being just off the main road any room should be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules8463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Avondale prior to our Seven Sisters walk to Eastbourne and, for what we needed, it was adequate. I think people are too quick to say "Yes, I liked it...therefore 5 stars". It definitely was not that. The staff were very nice and we felt welcome when we arrived. Our room was on the top floor which was fine as we only had a rucksack, however, I would request a lower level room if you don't like narrow stairs or if you have heavy bags.

The bed wasn't very comfortable and I had a stiff back when I woke up prior to our walk. While breakfast was nice enough, my toast on the scrambled eggs/salmon choice was burned. The coffee, however, was delicious! We were only in the area for one night and it ticked all of the boxes we needed...not too expensive and in a great location to begin our walk up the Seven Sisters the following day. Maybe do some research around other options, but if this is all available, it's definitely okay for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms cover 3 floors. If you do not like stairs, request a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaford
3.0 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
71 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
521 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
7.8 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avondale

Property: The Avondale
Address: Avondale Road, Seaford BN25 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Seaford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Seaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avondale 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Avondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Hotel Seaford
The Avondale Seaford, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing