We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a celebration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengal Palace Restaurant

Bengal Palace Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 58 Restaurants in Seaford
Price range: US$19 - US$50
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bengal Palace is a friendly family owned restaurant where you can enjoy innovative Indian cuisine in elegant and stylish surroundings. Great pride is taken in creating an extensive range of contemporary dishes from Bengal and the Indian continent. The recipes are based on authentic ingredients and cooking styles. Their exquisite flavours and aromas will awaken your tastes and tempt your palate. The dishes are as varied as the exotic climate from which they originate and the warm, pungent and fragrant spices are delicately blended together to give you a real adventure in taste. Each dish is individually made to order. The spices are freshly blended each day to ensure the distinctive flavours and aromas can be truly appreciated. We cater for all lovers of Indian food and serve the traditional Indian favourites - Curry, Korma, Balti, Tandoori, Biriany, Dansak and Pathia in addition to our Chef's Special Indian dishes and our Adventure in Taste menu. Please look out for the launch of our new website which is currently in development.
near Brighton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for a celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently had a meal in this excellent restaurant and even though I was a little late my food came at the same time as the rest of the party, an example of good service. The food was of a high standard.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    14
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very nice but costly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We took our grandson out for an indian and picked the Bengal Palace as probably the best in town. They have a superb choice of food and the staff are plentiful and attentive. The food came to the table at the correct temperature on hot plates. The dishes were well cooked and beautifully presented. The restaurant was quite busy at 19.00hrs but we were served quickly without fuss or problems. A bit on the expensive side but for good food I can live with it but not too often. I will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service lets the Bengal Palace down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The food here is great but the service is pretty poor. It can often take 45 mins to get a main course. Maybe the focus should be on fewer covers and keeping the loyal customer base satisfied.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

gave this the benefit of the doubt once again having been on a saturday last time and waited an hour for main meal. tried friday as friend of ours had birthday that day. what a surprise waited an hour again for main meal, when it came it was luke warm at best , what chicken there was came in a bowl of slopp the bombays were so small a sparrow would go hungary.
why anyone uses this place i will never know. they wont be getting our custom again ever.
the noise was deafening you could hardly hear yourself think and they were way understaffed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bjork94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How long!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Waiting waiting waiting, 45 mins, still waiting!!
Slow service for drinks, knew immediately what we wanted to eat but still took 20mins to order!!!
Finally, 1hr after arriving, the food has turned up!! It's not even that busy. Very disappointed.
Food is ok, bit oily, tasty but nothing amazing considering how long it took!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank BouncerDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bengal Palace Restaurant also viewed

Seaford, East Sussex
Seaford, East Sussex
 
Seaford, East Sussex
 
Seaford, East Sussex
Seaford, East Sussex
 

Been to Bengal Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing