We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Like all Holiday Inn Express a good Hotel , with nice room and friendly staff, recognised as a Platinum member. We have stayed many times and always made welcome, also a good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royandwendy503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear RoyandWendy5038,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

The team will be so pleased to hear that they looked after you efficiently as a IHG rewards member and that you enjoyed our express start to breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

One night - 3 adults - well a very tall 17 year old! £55 including breakfast. Modern, comfortable, spotlessly clean. Staff obliging & helpful. Bar drinks reasonable. OK no bacon & we avoided the sausages & eggs - but we enjoyed the fresh croissants, pain chocolate & rolls & yoghurts, it was absolutely fine. Bedroom spacious & thoughtful touches ie the 'blue light' in the bathroom that you can keep on overnight. We loved the ice machine in the foyer. Only minor gripe is that double bed mattress definitely sagged in the middle.

However if youngest ends up at Uni there we will look forward to using this hotel as our base to stay when visiting her. Definitely excellent value

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Adasie,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and the modern touches of the toilet night light.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is very nice with good location and great rooms and friendly staff. The room rate was great at only £47 for the night.
The only criticism I have for the hotel was the cooked breakfast. The sausages were like nothing I had ever tasted before. They were tasteless, chewy and had an awful texture. The scrambled eggs were no better. They were rubbery & tastless, even with brown sauce added.
It is such a shame that something that is so easy to get right is so wrong. I would happily have paid an extra £5 to get a decent cooked breakfast.
I asked at the kitchen if they would make me a poached egg only to be told that they do not keep any eggs on site. When I asked them to explain how they made the scrambled eggs without any eggs on site they told me that the scrambled egg came in powdered form!!!!
The rest of the breakfast was lovely so please try and change this part.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakemcc1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear JakeMcc1410,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to Breakfast. It is correct that nearly all hotel brands in the uk will use a mix for scrambled eggs, this is to minimize salmonella poisoning. The hotel chains then will always have their food suppliers to explain this reasoning and not the hotel. As for the sausage I know our F&B Manager is doing a tasting session over the next week for quality on different brands.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed in a holiday inn express in Northampton a week ago and was blown away by the whole experience, the quality of service and the excellent breakfast. Unfortunately the experience at Colchester holiday inn express has been different. It seemed that they were under staffed, although the staff that were there were pleasant. Breakfast however was awful. The cooked breakfast options were sausages, beans and scrambled egg, all apart from the beans were awful. The sausages tasted unlike any meat product I have ever tasted and the scrambled egg was just like rubber. I could go on at length but I won't. I'd rather pay an extra £5 and get a great breakfast like the week before in Northampton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Duncan M,

Thank you very much for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Colchester, guest’s views and opinions are very important to us, as they allow us to constantly improve the services we offer, and help us to provide a great hotel guests love.

I am very disappointed to hear your Breakfast was less than satisfying, I will be passing your comments onto our F&B Manager Kirsty who values all comments very seriously.

Thank you once again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Colchester and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

When visiting our friends in Colchester we normally stay at the premier inn in the centre of town, but this weekend it was fully booked so we were forced to look at alternatives.

This hotel is on the A12, close to a junction so doesn't cause too much issue that it's on the south bound carriage. It's about £15 for a taxi to get into town.

Hotel was spotless, nicely laid out with good size rooms.

Probably would look to stay here again in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Samiantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Samiantha,

Thank you very much for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Colchester, guest’s views and opinions are very important to us, as they allow us to constantly improve the services we offer, and help us to provide a great hotel guests love.

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our hotel rooms, as cleanliness is one of our highest priorities to create a relaxing atmosphere for our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Colchester and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Ashley Walker

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel was very clean and very friendly, all the staff couldn't do enough to help and were always smiling, even when we got in very late at night.
Lack of anything behind the bar to eat, void of even packets of crisps so we had to go wanting and the 2 pints of beer we had (which were about £6 each!!!) were... a LITTLE overpriced.
But it is easy to criticize and we did very much enjoy our stay, breakfast was of a good quality considering it's included in the very cheap room rate, though no bacon was served...
Overall it was a high 3 or low 4 for me, I went for 4/5 because the staff did go above and beyond!

Top Tip: They have plenty of breakfast so enjoy your lay in, there will still be enough for you if you hit it an hour after the mad morning rush!

Room Tip: No rooms will have a great view, but all seemed to be very well padded so you can't hear traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuriousMouse91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear FuriousMouse91,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

worth the money for one night (62.00 for family room). room was how you would expect from a leading player. The hotel is only about a £14 cab fare from Colchester Town centre and a five minute drive to Constable country. Cooked breakfast is a let down but the rest is ok. Great service but I had the impression there is shortage of staff as they looked tired. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishthemod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Fishthemod,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced with breakfast.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
885 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
725 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
4.3 mi away
George Hotel of Colchester
George Hotel of Colchester
#22 of 23 in Colchester
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range: £39 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing