We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Court House(Great Bromley)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
193
256
108
53
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
256
108
53
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationscrambled eggsbeansbudget hotelhot foodsat navfree breakfastdual carriagewaysofa bedvisiting colchesterroad noiseincluded in the priceservice stationovernight stopincluding breakfastwould stay againdouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had 2 rooms here, as we were at Colchester for our grandsons graduation, they did mix up the rooms, my daughter and her son having a double, and my self and husband a twin, but it was soon sorted out. Our key card only worked for one day at a time for some reason and so we had to keep having it renewed.The Hotel itself was immaculate with all new furnishings. The bedroom was lacking in storage, there were no drawers, a little hanging space and 2 small shelves, one up to high for little me. The bed was comfortable but a comforter would have been nice, there were hard and soft pillars, and a good sized flat screen TV.
Tea/coffee were the standard amounts.The bathroom was a good size with a lovely large shower cubicle, with shelves, and, as in most places a soap/shampoo dispenser, towels were large, some softer than others, hair-dryer was in the room There is a notice in the room to say complain if some thing is wrong before you go home, so when we were awakened at 6-30 am, with the night porter emptying bottles into the bottle bank, I did, it did not happen again.
Breakfast was the biggest let down, we went at 8-45 am, tables were not cleared most things were in short supply, cutlery, mugs, muesli, fruit salad, beans. The scrambled egg was not very good, and there were no Danish pastries, sometimes orange was watery and the coffee from the machine was indescribable either watery or no milk in it at all.

Room Tip: Do not have odd numbered room as it is at the back were they tip the bottles, our daughter had NO.6 at front just as you go into the hotel, and people could see in through the window.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilas434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sheilas434,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to The breakfast not being up to our normally high standards.

I appreciate your honest review and am please you came down to mention about the bottles being emptied. This feedback helps the hotel it moving forward to giving our customers the best possible customer service in future.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

stayed in this hotel last week and it was a brand new Hotel. The architecture and fit out was brilliant and much better than the Holiday Inn Colchester. The property must be only 1 year old. The rooms were great and very clean...the breakfast was ok for an express breakfast but it is free so can't complain...brilliant location ideal for a12 travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear David M,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our first impressions of the hotel were very good - friendly, helpful staff and a lovely clean, modern room. However, we were woken up at 12.30am by a large group of drunk guests standing outside the hotel entrance shouting and singing extremely loudly. After an hour of this (and our toddler getting very upset due to the noise) we phoned Reception to complain. It took a long time for them to answer the phone but they did go outside and quieten the group down. However, after about 15 minutes the noise started up again...and again...and again. Loud drunken people were also shouting down our corridor from time to time. After several phone calls to Reception who kept trying to quieten the guests and 2.5 hours later with no sleep whatsoever, we dressed and headed to Reception to say that this was unacceptable, especially with our toddler. After about 3 hours we were told that the police had been called to deal with the noise nuisance - and finally it quietened right down by about 3.30am. One of the reasons we picked the hotel was that it is in a quiet location so we assumed there would not be a noise problem, but we had a terrible night's sleep. The hotel refunded us the cost of our room which was helpful, but obviously we would rather have had a good night's sleep and an enjoyable stay. It was a real pity as every other aspect of the hotel was good.

Room Tip: Keep away from the front of the hotel, especially near the hotel entrance.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Ruth G,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to some of our guest misbehaving and spoiling it for valued guests like you. The police was called due to the nature of the circumstance that our staff was unable to tackle these customers head on. This is a rare occasion and it’s a shame this happened on your weekend stay.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

In an effort to retain your patronage and to demonstrate our commitment to guest satisfaction, our team waved the charges for your stay and I’m very happy we did what we could in these rare circumstances.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel was unremarkable in all respects. Except its breakfast which ranks at the bottom of the many hotel buffet breakfasts I have experienced over decades of travel. The coffee, in every form offered, was undrinkable, the sausage so over cooked it was all but impossible to cut or enter. the fruit old and close to off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Colin P,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to our express free breakfast not being up to our usual standards.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here using reward points. It was the closest hotel to a function we were going to, so a bit of a no-brainer really.
The room was clean and modern, easy on the eye and fairly comfortable. The double bed was a bit small and bouncy, but the sleep quality was no better or worse than way more expensive places.
The "Express" branding marks it as a cut down Holiday Inn, but in reality for normal travellers the only difference is the breakfast. Pro: it's free. Con: it's not a full Holiday Inn breakfast... No bacon, no hash browns, no fried eggs....
In the event we skipped the breakfast in favour of an early getaway so I can't comment on how good the baked beans were, not that I would have eaten them anyway...
The location is, er, interesting. A bit on the beaten track, being as it is on the A12. A negative is that taxis are quite expensive to and from the hotel. But that's not the hotel's fault.
In summary, this place was fine. Friendly staff, clean hotel, and the bar was open till very late... can't do much better than that.
I would recommend it to anyone who had cause to be in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Actually, I think the rooms are all the same. It's a formula...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Frank C,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews