We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel outside Colchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

New hotel a few miles north of Colchester, direction Ipswich. Great room comfort, nice rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast included. Free WiFi everywhere. Good parking facility, free. A few minutes drive from Colchester and University of Essex. Car recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arild L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Arild L,

Thank you for kind comment regarding your experience during your recent stay. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was the third time we have stayed at the Holiday inn express A12 colchester, the breakfast has always been just ok but this time we came down for breakfast at 8:40approx, there was no cutlery,paper napkins,beans,pastries
We had to ask at reception as no one was about, the waitress who came out then got some cutlery did not check to see if anything else needed replenishing, so we again had to go to reception, this happened three times before things we're checked, there was no apology, not happy at all with the service in the morning, However cannot fault the reception staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear GillianR,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the hotel’s Express Breakfast. This is very disappointing to read and shall be addressing the issues with our Food & Beverage Manager. These are small items with high impacts on service for our Valued Guest’s like you and we have no excuse. This is something the hotel should get right every time.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked hotel in advance and had family room for 4, Beds were adequate and no noise from very close A12. Food was good although limited menu, breakfast is included in price. Bar is limited though and nearest pubs a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear ChelseaFive,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked one night away at this hotel and despite the location behind a petrol station next to the A12 was convinced that as a Holiday Inn it would still meet their high standards, which it did easily.

The hotel is still very new (indeed not existing on Google satellite imagery) and still looks like it only opened yesterday. No damage or scuff marks to be seen, this is a credit to the staff keeping the hotel in tip top condition.

The room was large and a comfortable bed and sofa in the room. There was no discernible noise from the A12, cars or other guests (despite being near the front of the hotel) and cannot fault the room at all. The bathroom was spotless with a shower cubicle that was large enough to sit down in with legs outstretched. The shower itself was easy to use and of a very good pressure.

The breakfast in the morning was a little disappointing with myself and other guests having to ask for; cutlery to be brought out, glasses for cold drinks, mugs for hot drinks and extra food to be brought out.

Breakfast was the only gripe in an otherwise perfect hotel and I would consider staying here again in future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Xp132476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Xp132476,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. I know our in house maintenance team will be very pleased to have a mention as our team of two work extremely hard in making sure the property and ground are in excellent condition. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My partner booked us a surprise night away this month and i had no idea where we were going at all. When we pulled up at the hotel i was a little concerned that we wont be able to sleep due to road noise from the A12 but i can honestly say we slept so well! You could hear no noise at all. The bed in the room we stayed in was very comfortable and the room was spotless. The staff there were all very friendly and met our needs. The only thing that wasn't exactly great was breakfast. There were no plates, mugs, glasses or knives out and we had to ask a member of staff at reception to bring us out some.There was a good range of food but slow to be brought out. Other than that a wonderful place to stay very close to Dedham and Flatford and loved every minute!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karaannej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Karaannej ,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your enjoyable stay on Tripadvisor and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Have just held our second Vitali-Chi workshop at Holiday Inn Express. Great location and staff are superb. Very helpful and extremely responsive when things needed fixing quickly. Special mention for Igor who went above and beyond. Great work! Thanks Allen

Room Tip: We used the meeting rooms and they were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Worldishman,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Igor will be very pleased to have received such a lovely comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Colchester a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had 2 rooms here, as we were at Colchester for our grandsons graduation, they did mix up the rooms, my daughter and her son having a double, and my self and husband a twin, but it was soon sorted out. Our key card only worked for one day at a time for some reason and so we had to keep having it renewed.The Hotel itself was immaculate with all new furnishings. The bedroom was lacking in storage, there were no drawers, a little hanging space and 2 small shelves, one up to high for little me. The bed was comfortable but a comforter would have been nice, there were hard and soft pillars, and a good sized flat screen TV.
Tea/coffee were the standard amounts.The bathroom was a good size with a lovely large shower cubicle, with shelves, and, as in most places a soap/shampoo dispenser, towels were large, some softer than others, hair-dryer was in the room There is a notice in the room to say complain if some thing is wrong before you go home, so when we were awakened at 6-30 am, with the night porter emptying bottles into the bottle bank, I did, it did not happen again.
Breakfast was the biggest let down, we went at 8-45 am, tables were not cleared most things were in short supply, cutlery, mugs, muesli, fruit salad, beans. The scrambled egg was not very good, and there were no Danish pastries, sometimes orange was watery and the coffee from the machine was indescribable either watery or no milk in it at all.

Room Tip: Do not have odd numbered room as it is at the back were they tip the bottles, our daughter had NO.6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilas434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sheilas434,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to The breakfast not being up to our normally high standards.

I appreciate your honest review and am please you came down to mention about the bottles being emptied. This feedback helps the hotel it moving forward to giving our customers the best possible customer service in future.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
939 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
8.3 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
4.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
754 reviews
11.8 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Address: Birchwood Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Colchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Colchester has 101 air-conditioned bedrooms all with wireless internet access, invigorating power shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast sets you up for a day exploring Colchester sights. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents’ family room. This newly opened Colchester hotel is located just off A12 north off the Colchester Town Centre, with excellent links to Ipswich and Chelmsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Hotel Dedham
Holiday Inn Express Colchester Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing