We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Manningtree)
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Sun Inn(Dedham)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
194
260
109
53
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
260
109
53
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationscrambled eggsbeansbudget hotelhot foodsat navfree breakfastdual carriagewaysofa bedvisiting colchesterroad noiseincluded in the priceservice stationovernight stopincluding breakfastwould stay againdouble room
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Signed in easy enough ,Nice hotel , food was fairly nice, clean rooms , staff lacking slightly on communication skills ,and always seemed nobody serving at the bar ! had vending machine and also a garage across the way,but a biscuit with the tea supplied would have been nice!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Broken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Broken E,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. I am sorry to hear the bar area wasn’t manned at the particular time you came down and shall share these comments with the team to ensure this doesn’t happen in the future.


Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed for 3 nights whilst on business in the area. It is easy to find if going southbound on the A12, a different matter if going northbound. Basically, it is right next to the southbound Shell garage but if your going northbound come off at the exit just after the northbound shell garage, take the first right, first right and finally first right to get to the southbound shell garage! Colchester town centre is about 15 minutes away by car and easy to get to. The football ground is about a 5 minute drive too.
Lots of free parking and check in was easy. Staff recognised my iHG membership which was great, so thank you. Rooms are well equipped, clean but beds are soft and not to my liking. All has been updated but the showers when turned on leak water everywhere, even when I wasn't in it! I did report this and I think its something to do with the design as I had the same problem at HIE in Germany!
As previously mentioned, breakfast although free isn't great. Considering the size of the hotel, there is very little choice and very little of that, it soon runs out. They have a bar and limited restaurant menu on an evening about 4-5 choices, which I guess is to cater for the usual one night stays.
Staff were all polite and helpful. Although none on show at breakfast, which is probably why food choices run out as they are not replenished quickly enough.
Overall, a good hotel for a one night stop off.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Scopie100,

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express Colchester. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed one night whilst attending a wedding in Dedham. Hotel was easy to find and plenty of parking available. The hotel is actually next to the A12 and the only thing within walking distance is a petrol station!

Room was nice and clean and the bathroom was good. Very large shower cabinet. Bed was comfy. Very little noise from adjoining rooms - main problem was room doors shutting all night long. Aircon wouldn't go less than 20 degrees, so was quite warm overnight.

Breakfast was sparse and did not include bacon. No milk for the tea. Not up to the usual HIE standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raquelrattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear raquelrattle,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to due to the hotels brand standards of not servicing bacon you would only get this if booking a Holiday Inn. The milk is actually located in the milk dispenser next to the orange juice dispenser we are sorry this wasn’t more clearly labeled.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We are currently staying here and I am very disappointed with this hotel especially given the high standards expected from a Holiday Inn. Having stayed at a premier inn less than 2 weeks ago I wish we had booked there instead but no rooms. Our room is very noisy, loud air conditioning as can't open windows due to traffic noise, although our windows do not block out any sound, as if they are open. As for breakfast (which is quoted as free although price of hotel not much different from others inc breakfast) it is a free for all really - no tables clean, lack of staff, lack of cutlery and limited hot food, just sausage, beans, egg. All in all a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Mark L,

Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express Colchester regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to traffic noise. This has surprised me due to how many complements the hotel has received in the past about not being able to hear any traffic the road way. In future please let the reception team know these issues when with us and we’d of been happy to more you around to be more comforting on your night’s sleep. The hotels free express breakfast area does get busy during peak times and am sorry you didn’t receive the service you required.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

New hotel a few miles north of Colchester, direction Ipswich. Great room comfort, nice rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast included. Free WiFi everywhere. Good parking facility, free. A few minutes drive from Colchester and University of Essex. Car recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arild L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyColchester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Arild L,

Thank you for kind comment regarding your experience during your recent stay. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express Colchester for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Ashley Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews