We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Talbooth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maison Talbooth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Maison Talbooth after being recommended it for a relaxing weekend away.
The hotel is in beautiful countryside which is easy to get to from the A12. The views from our suite "Browning" were amazing, we would definitely recommend staying in a room at the front of the hotel with the views rather than the back of the hotel with a hot tub. Although we did get to look around some of the other suites and the Shakespeare suite was particurlaly impressive.
Everything about our stay was perfect from the treatments, the pool and pool house where we sat by the fire with a blanket and a glass of wine after using the hot tub. It was so lovely as we had the whole pool area to ourselves for the whole afternoon making it feel like we had our own private villa! The honesty bar is a nice touch as you just help yourself to as much wine/champagne and soft drinks/snacks as you like. There is nice music playing inside and outside the pool house too.
When we were ready for dinner we let the reception know and they took us straight away in a nice range rover to the restaurant Milsoms. We both had fillet steak which was absolutely amazing, my fiance said it was better than any steak you would get in Gaucho. The restaurant call the hotel to come and pick you up when you are finished and they arrive within a couple of minutes. This is such a great service to offer.
The rooms are furnished to a very high standard, the bed was so comfy and the bathrooms are very nice with nice big towels and a large bath and power shower.
Breakfast is really nice and you can either have it in your room or in the garden room which is lovely.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome.
I would highly recommend this hotel to couples looking to get away from busy city life as it is so easy to get to and has a very homely but at the same time luxury feel. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    34
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
45
173
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Was here for a "special birthday" weekend with some friends. Everything was just absolutely top notch. The greeting upon arrrival, the quality and upkeep of the rooms, the bathroom, the service of the staff. We were driven to both Milsoms and Le Talbooth by staff from Maison. The Pool Bar, with it's honesty box, is just another reflection of the style and class of the venue. Afternoon tea at Maison was a real treat, and it was all these little touches that made it an unforgettable stay.
The liason with staff before, during and after, was first class. Certainly planning a return trip

Room Tip: Have a look on the website as good pictures of all the rooms were available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was our second stay at the Talbooth, and nothing disappoints. The Pool House is just an amazing facility and to be able to sit by the log fire by the pool and hot tub having a glass of sparkles makes you feel like you have arrived on holiday. The Pool House honesty bar is a welcome refreshing facility. A special mention to staff Caroline and Kate who were great in accomodating our needs throughout our visit and lighting the log fire for us. Staff go over and beyond to ensure your stay is memorable and you are looked after. We stayed in the hot tub room, which is lovely and I must say the beds at this hotel are just the best! Only minor the room did seem a tad dark and maybe this time we missed the fantastic sunlit views from our last room. The grounds and trees are so beautifully maintained. Do go to this hotel, you will not be disappointed and chill at the Pool House is a must!
Sue & Jon

Room Tip: Go for the views over the hot tub room, just use the Pool House instead for hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night and this was not long enough!

There was no formal check in, we were just showed to our room. We stayed in the Shakespear suite and it was fantastic! Absolutely beautiful, with excellent quality furniture, bed, bathroom and toiletries. The bathroom definitely has the wow factor! The bed was so comfy!

As it was raining, we booked our spa treatment, then used our hot tub on the patio, whilst sipping Champagne! Very relaxing. When it was time for our treatments the therapists came to pick us up from the room. They were also excellent.

We has dinner booked at Le Talbooth for 730pm, the car was waiting for us and took us down to the restaurant. The restaurant is beautiful and the food was out of this world. If im being picky, the service didnt quite match up. It was ok, nothing to complain about but certainly not excellent.

When we had finished the waitress call ed the hotel who sent the car within minutes to collect us again. What great service!

The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast, the sun was shining so we went down to the pool area. This is also stunning, a real sun trap. You do need to get a code to get in, from one of the staff. All areas were beautifully kept, immaculate, clean and finished to a high standard.

We has a great time, we only wished we had booked to stay longer. We will be back, infact cant wait to return. We have already told all our friends about this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockdog29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We used to visit here on a regular basis and it was always exceptional. This visit surpassed all the previous visits. The staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, the service very good and the rooms/beds exceptionally comfortable.

The associated restaurants, Milsoms and The Talbooth provide superb food and wine with great service.

If you don't enjoy this place you have no soul or appreciation of quality accommodation!

Room Tip: They're all goof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-from-Woodham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The folks here run a tight, high quality and professional ship.

We had the most warm welcome as we walked into a very informal lounge on arriving. Our room was extremely cosily and tastefully furnished and we had an excellent overnight stay. From our window we looked out over the valley close to Dedham to the A12 in the distance. Early morning mist across the fields very pretty.

Dinner is (or can be) taken at the Talbooth or Milsoms restaurants that are part of the group nearby. The hotel will deliver and collect. We were thrown a little arriving at Milsoms (having dined at the Kesgrave Hall Milsoms the previous day we were looking forward to a change) but it turned out the Talbooth restaurant is closed (mostly?) on Sundays. And as at Kesgrave Hall, the Milsoms restaurant concept serves well.

Breakfast as and when you want it, up to 10.00, cooked on demand.

There is a lovely new pool and pool room here - remember to take a costume as it is a delightful place to sit out in the sun.

Also there are treatment facilities. There was some confusion when we booked an hour's treatment for my wife in the morning, which we were told was not possible when we checked out, ready to take it up. But we sat by the pool for a very relaxing hour or so anyway and the hotel found a 30 minute slot instead, so thanks for that.

The hotel staff really believe in what they do, and they understand customer service and the important of both welcome and hospitality. That makes it very friendly and a home from home.

Finally, we admired the roses out at the front of the hotel. The staff told us not just what they were but where they came from. As a result we bought one for ourselves from the grower outside Colchester as a memento of our 30th anniversay trip. It's beautiful.

Thank you, Maisn Talbooth.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go far wrong here. Rooms are lovely and it's a great quiet spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKGofHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I'm not really one to write reviews for things but during our stay at Maison.. I felt that it was something that I needed to do. Maison Talbooth is nothing short of amazing. I had booked the hotel as a suprise for me and my girlfriend's 3rd anniversary.

We arrived at the hotel, situated on a quiet bendy country lane which immediately set the scene. We turned in and saw what we both described (before we had even entered) as the best hotel we'd been to.

We walked upto the door and entered, the hotel screamed luxury. Absolutely amazing, we were approached by Emily who took us into our suite, which had a bottle of Moet waiting upon our arrival.

Walked onto our terrace and saw our private hot tub!! Wowwww..

We soaked in the hot tub which was amazing and already heated to 40 degrees..

The room oozed class and luxury it was perfect.

We were so impressed by the room the hotel and the staff, but it was about to get better. Our dinner reservation was at "Le Talbooth", Craig greeted us and the courtesy car.. Which was a lovely Range sport dropped us to the restaurant. He was also very friendly and polite and like Emily you could tell he loved his job.

It was absolutely beautiful, it was a 16th century building. With Amazing architecture. Due to the weather not being all that good. We didn't sit outside right beside the river.

The food was amazing, everything was cooked to perfection. The staff.. Amazing!! The service was second to none. After we finished our meal the courtesy car arrived to pick us up and take us back to the hotel.

When we got back we drank more champagne and at midnight sat in the hot tub gazing at the stars..

Oh yes, in the morning.. The breakfast was also lovely..

We were both sad to leave and will be returning to the hotel again. The staff were friendly, amazing and polite. What is even better is you could tell that the staff loved thief jobs. The hotel was just wonderful. I can't say much More, there isn't a thing.. That could've made our stay better.. Maison Talbooth, was PERFECT!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miles-Stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
13.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.9 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.7 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Talbooth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Talbooth

Property: Maison Talbooth
Address: Maison Talbooth Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Talbooth 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Maison Talbooth opened 40 years ago, it did so with a huge amount of publicity andit certainly had the WOW factor. At that time, there were very few quality hotels in the country, hardly any en–suite bathrooms and certainly no televisions in the rooms. We have since added 3 fabulous new bedrooms, the Garden Room restaurant, a swimming pool (open all year and heated to a sizzling 30 deg) with outside hot tub, pool house and tennis court.During your stay with us, be sure to book in for a relaxing massage, facial, manicure, or range of other treatments, in our Day Spa. A highlight of your stay will be lunch or dinner at Le Talbooth restaurant, a minute away by courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison Talbooth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Talbooth Dedham, Colchester
Maison Talbooth Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing