We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, magical elegance.”
Review of Maison Talbooth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison Talbooth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I must admit that I had never heard of the hotel until my visit. It was booked as a surprise for my birthday by my husband. The hotel is set in the countryside of north essex not far from the A12. It's a large house which has been wonderfully converted into a luxurious and elegent hotel with the added extra of an outside pool which is heated to 85 in the winter and pool house as well as a spa with wonderful treatments. The hot stones massage is the best I have had and I have had them all over the world. The staff are attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I just wish I could have stayed longer but hopefully next time.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hudddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Took my family of five there for a 2 night stay in August. We opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast option, which was very good value and lots of fun. The hotel has 12 rooms and they all seem to be individually designed. Bedroom furniture is of a very high standard. Nice unique pieces. Breakfast is served in the hotel, but dinners are taken in Maison Talbooth's other properties in Dedham; Milsoms and Le Talbooth. On our first night we had an excellent family dinner in Milsoms, a cool and relaxing bar-restaurant. On our second night the hotel provided a registered nanny to babysit our three kids whilst the Mrs and I went for a night of fine dining at Le Talbooth. What was really cool was that the hotel provided a complimentary Range Rover to drive you to and from the restaurants. This made me and the family feel very special. Service across the hotel and restaurants was very, very good. One thing which really must be mentioned is the outdoor heated pool and buildings. Beautifully designed with high-quality poolside furniture, an honour bar and a lovely open fire which is lit in the afternoons. All of this is under 2 hours drive from central London in an exquisite village on the Essex-Suffolk border. Don't muck about - book this place. You'll be delighted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely pamper day, treatment was thoroughly relaxing. lunch was delicious and service throughout was exceptional. However both Milsoms and maison Talbooth look tired and very much in need of re decoration. Didn't spoil our day though

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Flossie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and i have just got back from a wedding at this great place and i must say the staff are so friendly and very good at their job nothing was any trouble for them. We never stayed but friends stayed and thay said it was a outstanding place the rooms are out of this world. I will be returning for one of their afternoon teas. So it just leaves me to say KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND SEE YOU ALL SOON

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had my 50th birthday at Maison Talbooth - and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. We had this small but beautifully put together hotel on exclusive hire for 2 nights. The first night as we gathered the hotel prepared a winter bar-b-q for us in the pool area. The weather was kind, the pool was beautifully warm and we had a great time. On Saturday an external events company provided activities for all of my guests and Maison was the perfect back-drop to our games! The culmination of the celebration was dinner on Saturday night and once again the Maison team were perfect in every way. The food was superb, the staff simply wonderful and a great time was had by all – especially me! I had planned what I thought was a great birthday weekend, but the team at Maison made it perfect. Thank you all so much for such fabulous memories!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself & 3 friends have just had a Lazy Sunday package at this hotel to celebrate a 50th & 30th Birthday and we were certainly not disappointed. Rather than a Hotel this place feels like you are welcomed into someone's home. We arrived around 10am and as we could not have our rooms until 11am we were offered tea/coffee in the Lounge. We were advised we could make use of the Pool House facilities immediately so spent about 2 hours in the outside Heated Pool (lovely & warm in early Oct) & the Jacuzzi. We also had wine (chargeable) and free tea,coffee.

We had booked the afternoon Champaigne Tea and although it didn't look a huge tea it was actually quite filling. We then went off for our treatments which were lovely and actually lasted slightly longer than advised.

Our rooms were nothing short of fantastic. Huge bathrooms, large comfy beds with feather duvets and Bose music systems. We were on the 1st floor in rooms Shelley & Wordsworth. The Bathrooms were so clean they looked brand new and the complimentary toiletries were lovely.

Included in our package was an evening meal which was booked at Millson's Restaurant which is about a quarter of a mile up the road but this wasn't a problem as the Hotels Range Rover & Chauffer was on hand to take us there - he was fab opening doors for us and finding us a choice of tables once at the Restaurant. The 3 course meal was excellent.

After a very comfortable nights sleep in the lovely bed & bedding it was time for Breakfast and again we were amazed at the choice and the service provided.

The staff could not have been more helpful. For such a 'posh' hotel we found them to be friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for and we feel we had excellent value for money and will be saving up for another visit there soon.

Room Tip: Saw several rooms on the ground and 1st floor (we had Shelley & Wordsworth) and they all look wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have offered more, beautiful food, fantastic pampering day spa, special thanks to Tash and Anna, wonderful memories of two days of pure pleasure already planning my next stay, soon I hope? Thank you to everyone Beverly Smith. s

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
0.4 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
218 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
725 reviews
13.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
5.6 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
182 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Talbooth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Talbooth

Address: Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range: £128 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Talbooth 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its breath-taking position overlooking the Dedham Vale, this superb Victorian country house hotel offers a unique getaway. Maison Talbooth, part of the Milsom Hotels and Restaurants is the perfect to step back, relax and indulge at any time of year. The hotel as twelve bedrooms which are carefully furnished with many individual touches, super comfy king size beds and complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar. Many rooms have far reaching views over the Vale. The pool house with outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and log burning fire under a covered stoop offers pure relaxation all year round. Heated to a delicious 85˚all year round enabling guests to enjoy swimming even in the depths of winter! To complete the picture a tennis court is set on high ground with amazing views over the valley. Guests can pamper themselves in the Treatment Rooms; the hotel’s day spa offers a variety of treatments for mind, body and soul. Dining at Le Talbooth, a minute away be courtesy car is the highlight of a stay in Dedham. In an enviable situation beside the river Stour, the restaurant offers great food, wine and service with the added bonus of dining outside on the terrace during the summer under a huge architectural sail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Talbooth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Talbooth Dedham, Colchester
Maison Talbooth Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing