We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”
Review of Maison Talbooth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison Talbooth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We can not fault our stay. within 30 minutes we felt calm and relaxed. The staff could not be better and they even arranged a baby sitter. The food was super. A swim in the heated pool set us up for our night out. We will be back. This place is a treat.

1  Thank John-Andrew-Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

A wonderful place to stay - luxurious, comfortable and with impeccable friendly service. We were only staying one night so didn't have time to sample the pool and pool house - but I was so tempted.

The breakfast was excellent, the views wonderful.

We were upgraded from a sister hotel and my only adverse criticism was whether I would have felt full price was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pit53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Maison after being upgraded from it sister hotel down the road following a double booking (which by the way was handled impeccably and without question). A beautiful boutique hotel with a heated, enclosed private pool with bar facilities etc. The rooms are first class and certainly up to five star hotel ratings with all the extras one would expect - our room has a double bath as well as a decent sized shower. The breakfast was excellent and the service from the moment we arrived to departing was impeccable and very friendly. The courtesy car service to Le Talbooth restaurant or Milsoms was always available and there whenever the guests required the short trip. If I wanted to be picky the rooms were hot but it was mid-summer and we did have aircon available so not much of a pick really.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerrickJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A one night stay at this true luxury hotel.
How nice to stay at a top hotel that is a true top hotel. Fantastic rooms, fantastic outdoor pool but the best staff you could wish for. After only being there for one night I felt like I had know the staff for years. They just could not do enough. They served us a lovely breakfast by the pool drove us down to le talbooth restaurant and picked up up. Seriously if you want to stay in a pure class hotel in lovely surroundings then this is the one. See you again very soon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Proper service by smart I.e intelligent staff that are well informed and versed in how to provide good service.

Great afternoon tea. Lovely rooms and the newish Spa is great too.

You should really try it.

Room Tip: Spend more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My mother and I had a 'special offer of the month' spa treatment and thoroughly enjoyed the experience; it was so relaxing and the staff very pleasant. Afterwards we had a sandwich in the lounge area and Stephanie couldn't do enough to make us welcome. I text my friends whilst there and we will be coming for a spa session/afternoon tea soon. A big thank you to Maison Talbooth staff, you provide an excellent service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 200STACEY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a lovely luxurious small boutique hotel and our stay from beginning to end was perfect. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by extremely helpful and happy staff until we departed, nothing was too much trouble. We had lovely hot sunny weather and so were able to make full use of the swimming pool and pool house. Our room, Keats, (more of a suite really) was huge. It had the biggest and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the quality of the bedding was divine. The bathroom was amazing, a huge shower with lovely strong jets, and a sunken bath. It was total luxury. Our deal included a meal in Milsoms, just down the road, and we were taken there (and later collected) by a member of staff in the hotels Range Rover. Before retiring to bed we were asked if there was anything else they could do for us and then bid good night. Breakfast the next morning was top quality. Again we were greeted warmly. There is plenty of choice, from the cereals, fresh fruits and pastries to the many and varied options of a cooked breakfast. The quality of the produce was excellent and the bacon particularly tasty. It may be a little expensive but it is really worth it for a special occasion. I must again reiterate the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, they really do this lovely place justice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
0.4 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
220 reviews
13.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
570 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
188 reviews
5.8 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
8 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Talbooth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Talbooth

Address: Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range: £128 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Talbooth 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its breath-taking position overlooking the Dedham Vale, this superb Victorian country house hotel offers a unique getaway. Maison Talbooth, part of the Milsom Hotels and Restaurants is the perfect to step back, relax and indulge at any time of year. The hotel as twelve bedrooms which are carefully furnished with many individual touches, super comfy king size beds and complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar. Many rooms have far reaching views over the Vale. The pool house with outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and log burning fire under a covered stoop offers pure relaxation all year round. Heated to a delicious 85˚all year round enabling guests to enjoy swimming even in the depths of winter! To complete the picture a tennis court is set on high ground with amazing views over the valley. Guests can pamper themselves in the Treatment Rooms; the hotel’s day spa offers a variety of treatments for mind, body and soul. Dining at Le Talbooth, a minute away be courtesy car is the highlight of a stay in Dedham. In an enviable situation beside the river Stour, the restaurant offers great food, wine and service with the added bonus of dining outside on the terrace during the summer under a huge architectural sail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Talbooth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Talbooth Dedham, Colchester
Maison Talbooth Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing