We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to relax”
Review of Maison Talbooth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Talbooth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Time to relax”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I took my family on the short getaway del they have currently and we all loved it! my son pretty much stayed in the pool the whole time. We loved the night together at Le Talbooth and all eating together in Milsoms. We stayed in the Keates Suite which was fabulous and perfect for families with young children.

All the food and service was impeccable and the free soft drinks was a real bonus. We loved the design of the pool house and the whole laid back atmosphere.

We will be back! Just a shame it went so quick......

Room Tip: Keates is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    35
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
48
179
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding at the Maison le Talbooth in August. Dedham is a wonderful location with stunning scenery so photos are to die for. The food was lovely and in little canapés throughout the day and they also catered for gluten free. The heated swimming pool and area is a fantastic place for the children and adults alike to chill out. In the evening they provided a lively BBQ and little lanterns to guide the walkways. Really stunning place with lovely food and staff. We didn't stay but the Shakespeare room looked stunning and you wouldn't want to come out of the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My husband booked a night at maison Talbooth as a surprise as they had a cancellation the day before and were trying to fill it.
We arrived before check in so that we could use the pool, we did not expect to be able to enter our room but we did feel like we should not have arrived early by the lady that greeted us, nether the less we were given a quick tour and left to it.
The weather was gorgeous so we just lay by the pool and were brought lunch over too which was nice and reasonable.
I had a facial in the spa which was very good.
Our room was a standard room on the ground floor (Kipling)the room was very clean and well thought out. Feel like £275 is a little steep for such a room even on a Saturday. The door lock on the room was broken so could not get out a couple of times which is slightly worrying, also the toilet flush seemed to be broken so the toilet was pouring water all night so could not sleep.

We dined at Milsoms as we prefer it there as it is more relaxed! Had a great meal and lifts too and from were quick and easy.
Found the room quite hot in the night, I do not think there is air conditioning.
Breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I have had at a hotel.
All in all we will definitely return, the hotel feels like you have arrived at someone's house for the weekend rather than a hotel which was lovely,will possibly look out for a deal for next time.


Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our trip was memorable for all the wrong reasons:

1. We were booked into Kipling, now described on the website as a "standard" room but at the time of booking it was described as a suite. Whilst this room is cheaper than the others, you get what you pay for. It's beautifully decorated but has the multiple location issues of a) being on the ground floor, b) looking on to a gravel car park and c) opening straight onto the main lounge area of the hotel. This is not a room for an intimate and quiet night and had we known all of this at the time of booking, I would have just booked a stay for another weekend when other rooms were available.

2. The Yale lock on our room was faulty. We couldn't get out of the room and twice had to call reception to unlock the door. In the end we just left in on the latch. This has apparently since been fixed, but it was incredibly frustrating. We also had a bath towel with a large tear in it, and the iron that housekeeping brought was faulty and dangerous with water and steam pouring out of it. Poor housekeeping.

3. We arrived early and were shown to the pool house where we were able to wait until the room was ready. When we did go back to the room we ended up walking smack bang into a groom and his best men who were in the lobby, apparently waiting for a wedding to start. We made ourselves scarce by going into town for lunch, but when we came back it turned out the bride was about to walk down the aisle and again, we were asked to wait in the pool house. The hotel left us a bottle of champagne in our room to apologise, but it does seem strange to allocate a bedroom that opens on to a wedding venue. We have subsequently heard from another couple who had the same problem. As they left the room they walked into a wedding and were asked to return to the room until the wedding was over so this doesn't seem to be an isolated incident.

4. We were concerned that the wedding party would take over the hotel and be up all night being raucous, but fortunately this wasn't the case. Instead the hotel was hosting a family celebrating a 40th birthday and the afternoon and evening (they finally went to bed after midnight) was spoiled with children running around the lounge area which was right outside our bedroom door. I appreciate the hotel are not responsible for the parenting or behaviour of their guests' kids but if you are going to have such a large group taking over the hotel, they should take it over exclusively. Breakfast the next day was spoiled by kids running around the restaurant, as was the opportunity to sit and relax by the pool as this large group took over.

The hotel is beautifully decorated, the staff are excellent, and little touches like shuttling you between the hotel and restaurant in a Milsoms Range Rover are very nice, but if you are going to charge 5* prices you should be providing 5* service. I'm not sure whether Le Maison gets away with it because there is a a shortage of quality hotels in the area?

Anyway, we wrote to the hotel to tell them how disappointed we were and received a very prompt response from the hotel manager who invited us back to have "dinner on us" - essentially, you come back and spend yet another £330 on a one night stay and we'll throw in a bistro meal. Hardly an enticement to make the 4 hour round trip back and, given the problems experienced on our stay, I think it would be throwing good money after bad to spend a further £330 at this establishment.

Room Tip: Don't chose Kipling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WilmaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently traveled to this area for a family wedding and booked a night here. Service was good and the friendly help at reception was welcomed. The room was huge and so grand, it made coming back to a pleasure. Smashing breakfast laid out on a large trestle table with a menu for the hot meal. Helpful staff that made our short stay extremely pleasant. A good place to rewind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for our anniversary, and our friends, who all seem to have visited the place already, have been raving about it. The place surely lived up to expectations, being a short drive into the beautiful village of Dedham with spectacular views over Dedham vale.
Staff were very welcoming, the weather was warm, even for July, and we were able to make good use of the warm swimming pool and even warmer jacuzzi! We had booked the Betjeman room right at the top of the hotel under the eaves, and the bed was placed central to the room in line with the eaves window, so we awoke to wonderful views of Constable country and Dedham church. Our bed was comfortable, the room clean and well appointed, the towels fluffy, and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. We were given lifts to and from Le Talbooth restaurant, and the breakfast was beautifully cooked and served. There were a couple of quirks: There was no safe in the room for valuables, the house is old, so the floor tiles in the bathroom had cracked owing to old house movement, and this being a country house hotel, there was no lift. However, we are still agile, our stay was wonderful, and I am left wondering how I can wangle a swift return!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view, but the steeper the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We can not fault our stay. within 30 minutes we felt calm and relaxed. The staff could not be better and they even arranged a baby sitter. The food was super. A swim in the heated pool set us up for our night out. We will be back. This place is a treat.

Helpful?
1 Thank John-Andrew-Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
5.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
13.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
5.8 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Talbooth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Talbooth

Property: Maison Talbooth
Address: Stratford Road, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Talbooth 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its breath-taking position overlooking the Dedham Vale, this superb Victorian country house hotel offers a unique getaway. Maison Talbooth, part of the Milsom Hotels and Restaurants is the perfect to step back, relax and indulge at any time of year. The hotel as twelve bedrooms which are carefully furnished with many individual touches, super comfy king size beds and complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar. Many rooms have far reaching views over the Vale. The pool house with outdoor swimming pool, hot tub and log burning fire under a covered stoop offers pure relaxation all year round. Heated to a delicious 85˚all year round enabling guests to enjoy swimming even in the depths of winter! To complete the picture a tennis court is set on high ground with amazing views over the valley. Guests can pamper themselves in the Treatment Rooms; the hotel’s day spa offers a variety of treatments for mind, body and soul. Dining at Le Talbooth, a minute away be courtesy car is the highlight of a stay in Dedham. In an enviable situation beside the river Stour, the restaurant offers great food, wine and service with the added bonus of dining outside on the terrace during the summer under a huge architectural sail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Maison Talbooth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Talbooth Dedham, Colchester
Maison Talbooth Hotel Dedham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing