We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, tranquil retreat, fabulous gardens, lovely friendly owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain House and Dedham Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dedham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fountain House and Dedham Hall
Ranked #2 of 3 Dedham B&B and Inns
Harwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful, tranquil retreat, fabulous gardens, lovely friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Second year, spent two nights last year with freind, came back this week, nothing changed, fantastic rooms, same ones which was great, friendly welcome from Wendy, very relaxed atmosphere, as last year made to feel completely at home, fab gardens, hope to go back next year fingers crossed,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
349 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I teach watercolour courses at Dedham Hall and I am always impressed with the professional management and warm welcome everyone recieves on arrival. The setting is charming and nothing is too much trouble for Wendy and Jim, the owners. The meals are superb. Fabulous breakfasts are hard to resist and the fine evening dining is a real treat. I can't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a jewel for travellers. Friendly staff,comfortable room and lounges. Then a real surprise --gourmet supper in the dining room with many choices. Excellent food and service. Delicious breakfast. Quiet and comfortable room

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre--had to put some rating in order for the review to be accepted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We travelled to Dedham for a family wedding and myself & my partner spent one night here. The owner was very friendly , accommodating & hospitable. The room was big and comfortable and had an enormous bathroom. It was lovely decorated. Breakfast was provided.The location was ideal in in the centre of Dedham. My only complaint is that I did not get to be there longer & was in a hurry !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

One of the nicest UK hotels we have ever stayed in. Amazing village, beautiful B&B and brilliant food.

The owners have put so many little touches into this place which makes you feel at home and very well looked after. They also have an incredible wine list! Will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We enjoyed a 50th birthday family celebration dinner at this restaurant - it was return visit for all of us having previously dined here. My father in law visits three to four times a year. Once again , the food was very good, and well presented but not a wow! For example the avocado and smoked mackerel starter was good, but nothing special.Service to begin with was slow, possibly due to it being a Saturday night and the busiest we have ever seen the restaurant. This was not a problem for us, as it was a chance to catch up with family members, but could have have been a problem for some on a tighter schedule.Once seated at our table however, the service was great. The ambience as always is like being at a family home. We will return as this is one of our favourites for special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Fountain House is a very comfortable B&B which we stayed at for 1 night following a wedding reception at the nearby Hotel Maison Talbooth. Although we arrived relatively early in the day at the B&B we were immediately shown to our very comfortable room & offered coffee and home made chocolate brownies - which were greatly appreciated. The Fountain House is an old country house with loads of character but the bedrooms and en suite are very well appointed with everything a guest could want or expect. Following our afternoon & evening at the wedding we returned to the B&B to be met by our host even though it was approaching midnight. The following morning we had a very nice breakfast and went on our way. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
0.7 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain House and Dedham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain House and Dedham Hall

Property: The Fountain House and Dedham Hall
Address: Fountain House Dedham Hall Brook Street, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedham Hall is a family run Guest House set in 6 acres of fields adn gardens in the heart of Constable Country. Set back from the road at the end of Dedham High Street it is a 2 minute walk into the centre of the beautiful and historic village or a 20 minute walk along the river Stour to Flatford Mill immortalised by John Constable. The Fountain House restaurant is open to residents and non residents alike and is well known for its great cooking and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fountain House And Dedham Hall Hotel Dedham
The Fountain House And Dedham Hall Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing