We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too independent by far”

Dedham Art & Craft Centre
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Dedham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went there 15/7/2014 at 2.20pm sat down in tearoom noticed no menu so asked the young chap behind the counter .He replied we only have what is on the counter now .I said only cakes yes he said.Hence asked him any sandwiches no.Surely people eat afternoon tea which consists of sandwiches so left and went to the Tiptree tearooms opposite where anything you wanted was available ,Will not go there again there were plenty of tourists around what they must think do not know.Surely the Summer months is there bread/butter time and with fridges today how come a sandwich could not be put together?As for the craft centre have seen a lot of the stuff they sell far cheaper in say Roomes of Upminster so way overpriced,Obviously their prices are aimed at the tourists it is a pity their tearoom service does not match it.

Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Owner at Dedham Art & Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I am terribly sorry that you had a bad experience when visiting us. I understand that the owner of the Tearoom has replied to your review on the Tearoom's own Trip Advisor page and I do hope you can take up her invitation to visit again.

Regarding you comments about overpriced items, we do try and work within the RRP. We are a small independent company and not a department store, therefore we do not buy in bulk. We cannot compete with the High Street on price, however I am very confident that we can offer you that something different to the High Street as we try and source our products from small independent companies, like us, and wherever possible made in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Centre full of gifts and present ideas. Excellent cafe and good prices. Close to Dedham High Street, river and boat hire. Centre of Constable Country and Alfred Munnings Museum just up the road.

Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Owner at Dedham Art & Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Dedham Art & Craft Centre. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

Kind regards
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I visit this place frequently for cards, small gifts and for a snack. There is always something different and artistic to be found here.

Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam_Clark, Manager at Dedham Art & Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Craft Centre and for your generous comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Definately worth a stop.Has 3 floors full of little shops/stalls selling everything from home furnishings,jewellery ceramics,antiques and vintage clothing.Great place to find an unusual present.It also has a quaint tea shop on the ground floor to stop for a cuppa and a piece of cake.

Thank queencharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Owner at Dedham Art & Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for the 5 out of 5 !! We are all very grateful for your positive feedback. I do hope that you will return when and if you visit Dedham again.

Kind regards
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wonderful staff, setting and layout. Lots of choice and beautiful quality wares. Beautiful tea room with plenty of choice of fabulous food and drink at reasonable prices, with a nice ambience and furniture inside and outside seating. Well worth a visit.

Thank UtopiaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam C, Owner at Dedham Art & Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Dedham Art & Craft Centre and for your very generous comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dedham Art & Craft Centre also viewed

 

Been to Dedham Art & Craft Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing