We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another marvellous stay”
Review of The Sun Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dedham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dedham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have stayed here a few times and decided to go back between Xmas and NY on special offer with dinner included for 2 nights. As always staff were superb and we had some fabulous food. the service is great we left that we always got served quickly at the bar as they knew we were staying there. Dinner on both nights was superb and the breakfasts are absolutely lovely with loads of choice. On the 2nd day we had a bar board lunch which was lovely sitting by the fire with some real ale. The choice of drinks is fab and such a great location. We stayed in Butchers at the back which is very quiet and quite a new room with modern shower etc. i pod docking station and kettle etc. We will keep returning to this place as just love it. Thanks again to all the great staff that work there.

Room Tip: Buthchers is in the new wing at the back so you can't hear the church bell ringing as loudly eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have been coming to The Sun for years after living locally, even after moving away I still love coming back. Have been with family, friends and my partner. This place is a perfect cosy country pub, superb to go to after a country walk around Dedham. We always have an amazing time tucking into some wholesome food, next to the warm fire and drinking great wine. Perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We like to go to the Sun for a mid-week dinner. It is very relaxed dining and great when the fire is roaring. The food is quite simple, but always tasty. It's a buzzy place to be and a great place for a quick drink after a walk around Dedham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have been here a few times for dinner and lunch so thought we would try one of their wine tasting events. Food as always very good, with a creative flair setting it is set aside from the usual pub / restaurant fair. And of course we were introduced to some interesting new wines! Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sherlocksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Good food at an acceptable price, in a lovely building! Good service as well, and there's reasonable parking at the back as well, albeit with a slightly blind exit onto the High Street. I expect to be eating there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the sun inn, we were staying as we were at a wedding at le talbooth so we did not get full use out of our stay.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was brilliant.
Think it is slightly too expensive though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Olde Worlde coaching with low ceilings, rickety stairs and sloping floors with creaky floorboards made it very atmospheric. The room was nice with a lovely big shower. My only complaint was that the bed is beyond soft, it felt like being eaten by a giant marshmallow! I think £130 per night is a bit excessive for what is really just a B&B but then that may be a sign of getting old cos I seem to write that everytime I review anywhere! Food was very good and I liked being able to buy a carafe of wine too. Staff all very yound and really friendly. A nice place for our anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaja_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
0.5 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
214 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
9.7 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
5.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Address: High Street, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range: £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sun Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quintessential coaching inn at the heart of the gentle rolling landscape of Constable Country has been a watering hole for villagers and resting post for travellers for centuries.These days, it’s much the same – an ideal spot to revive yourself be it with a pint of Brewer’s Gold, a meal using fine East Anglian produce or a good night’s sleep. Welcome to The Sun Inn ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sun Hotel Dedham
The Sun Inn Dedham, Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing