We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Amazing'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Amazing'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday, we spent 3 nights in the 'Whooper Suite', which is a separate cottage to the hotel, with its own 6 person Hot Tub. I have nothing but great comments for the hotel, the cottage, the hot tub, the food, the staff, excellent all the way. Nothing was too much trouble. We felt spoilt and loved every minute of our stay, and have already agreed to come back again and again. The Whooper Suite, was immaculate, a little haven away from the stress of daily life. We had Champagne waiting for us on our arrival with chocolates and Molton Brown gift set. We enjoyed Champagne in the Hot Tub every night. Very romantic. Would highly recommend to anyone wishing for a relaxing time away. Thank you too all the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: 'The Whooper Suite'
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silky755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    229
    108
    63
    32
See reviews for
162
478
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for the weekend and was blown away by the quality of the food and how pleasant the staff were. Stayed on a half-board deal with a superior double room (room 3, can't remember the name) overlooking the village for 2 nights. A slightly quirky room with our bathroom having a window overlooking the bar/restaurant outside seating area but the window blind sorted that out. There were nice touches with the complimentary tea and coffee selection and local mineral water. The set menu was different on both evenings but the flavours on everything we ordered was amazing, neither of us was disappointed with anything we ordered. We didn't drink in the bar so can't comment on previous reviews concerning the bar staff. The only thing to be aware of, and this is nothing to do with the hotel, is the lack of mobile phone coverage. Would I go back? Absolutely. Would I recommend it? Definitely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel is very traditional (apart from the cafe area - a real shame as it doesn't really work)
The bar, restaurant and rooms are all very pleasant. We were in Butterfly room which was a good size with a huge bathroom. The gardens are very attractive and it's easy to see why lots of weddings are held here. The food in the gallery restaurant was very well presented but the overriding flavour was garlic in both our meals which lacked real seasoning. The breakfast , however was excellent. Bibury is a very pretty village and worth an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farnhogals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at The Swan. A cost standard double room (moorhen) was cosy and well appointed. Great selection of Molton Brown toiletries and Twynings teas plus Teddy Edward! Lovely setting. The staff were wonderful and we were looked after in all areas from reception to housekeeping and from the bar through to the restaurant. The meal was exemplary and the wine list extensive. After a restful night an amazing breakfast included a delicious Bibury trout. A memorable 24 hours. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Recently stayed at the Swan. Very average, the food was unimpressive and the breakfast, if not included in your room is £13! And again is incredibly average. It is beautiful outside, that is fair to say, however the interior is nothing special. I saw a few rooms, as I was staying with friends. Ours I must say had the most tasteless decor, however every barthroom seemed to have the same horrible green marble type tiles with gold detailing. Our bathroom also had carpet....very 1980s! Frankly if you are going to pay out £140, don't! It is probably the least impressive hotel I have stayed at for that money. And I too met the rather unfriendly bar man! Hmmmm...shame because the other staff were very friendly. A shame as the potential is there, but currently just a big cotswolds mark up, for very little substance.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 20! And ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We booked an evening in a luxury 5 star in Central Oxford followed by a night at the Swan, Bibury. They didn't compare, the Swan was simply out of this world, and won't disappoint for a proper Cotswold experience. We stayed in the Owl room which was fabulous and had a huge jacuzzi bath, but to be honest we didn't spend much time inside as the hotel and surrounding were beautiful.The staff were fantastic, from reception to restaurant. The gentlemen behind the bar couldn't have been nicer and I totally disagree with the comment below. The restaurant was fronted by an excellent team , and Will Collins is one of those guys you'd have running your restaurant if you had one, thoroughly professional and it showed in the rest of the serving staff. The food was fantastic, the Chef excelled in every respect, combined with Will's front of house, we'll be back regularly. The fancy 5 star' places in Oxford can take second place!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stu767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Beautiful hotel, situated in the picturesque cotswold. My girlfriend and I stayed here for her birthday on the 5th of November, and the we are already planning having our wedding here... AND WE WILL HAVE THE WHOOPER SUITE! The situ of the hotel is beautiful, it is clean and warm. The log fire made for a romantic environment, and the large wine glasses were well received. The whooper suite was cosy, intimate, whilst still having home comforts. The hot tub was simply FUN. Midnight hot tubbing even in Cold November was great fun, the hot tub warmth was held and the hot tub covered. We spent over 3 hours in there talking. Romance, love and fun should be the advertising point of this cottage. WE WILL be back. x

Room Tip: Whooper suite and Hot Tub is far enough away to be intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
18.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History surrounds you at The Swan Hotel, located in the picturesque village of Bibury, described as the 'prettiest village in England' by William Morris. The Hotel offers you a relaxing stay in comfortable surroundings, featuring cosy lounges, roaring log fires, antique furnishing and rich decor. Our dining room is home to great English cusine and a fine wine selection. In our Bar meals are served all day.The tranquil Swan Gardens offer residents the delights of the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing