We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Break 2011”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Hindhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Break 2011”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Overall a very pleasant hotel to stay at any time
The food was good and plentyful and the staff were great,
The bar lounge was a bit on the small side for pre dinner drinks when the hotel was fully booked.
Our room and ensuite was pleasant and comfortable with one exception. Please, please do fit a grab handle over the large
bath to enable the less mobile of us to use the shower/bath facility

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    240
    108
    64
    33
See reviews for
172
501
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Set in an idyllic village, popular for tourism (and weddings), this hotel has sat on its laurels for far too long.
Parking was extremely difficult, especially with an elderly relative who needed help. The rooms were adequate, although we had no hot water for a shower in the morning. The bar area is utilitarian but the dining room pleasant. We ate elsewhere so cannot comment on dinner.
The room rates are extortionate for what is just a pleasant country hotel.
This had the potential of being a really good week end but we left feeling as if we had been ripped off.
Hopefully the management will up their game and reduce their rates.

Room Tip: Make sure the plumbing is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at the Swan for one night on a winter warmer deal last weekend for our anniversary, the service was excellent from all staff, from the receptionist, to the barman, to the restaurant manager & the waitresses. The place has a wonderful warm feel to it & was perfect for a winter break. Loved drinking mulled wine in the welcoming & comfortable bar area with the open fire crackling away. The restaurant had a nice feel to it & the food was tasty, along with the little chef treats. The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable. I cannot fault this hotel & have only got good things to say about it :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

All other staff we came across were lovely and the building and rooms are absolutely gorgeous, but there is one receptionist that has such an attitude as to sour your entire impression of the place - what a shame!

I'm afraid I did not catch her name, but avoid like the plague and you should be fine. Dark bobbed hair, looks very unhappy and angry with her life, I'd direct questions elsewhere, as her responses are officious, defensive and off-putting.

I also got the impression there is rather a bitter rivalry with other local businesses which is a bit of a red flag - not sure I'd trust any recommendations to be unbiased and accurate.

Don't get me wrong, I've nothing at all against a bit of healthy competition, but I don't think there's any need for it to be bitter or for any bad-mouthing.

So, go forth and enjoy, its a gorgeous place, its just let down by the receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy_L_M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday, we spent 3 nights in the 'Whooper Suite', which is a separate cottage to the hotel, with its own 6 person Hot Tub. I have nothing but great comments for the hotel, the cottage, the hot tub, the food, the staff, excellent all the way. Nothing was too much trouble. We felt spoilt and loved every minute of our stay, and have already agreed to come back again and again. The Whooper Suite, was immaculate, a little haven away from the stress of daily life. We had Champagne waiting for us on our arrival with chocolates and Molton Brown gift set. We enjoyed Champagne in the Hot Tub every night. Very romantic. Would highly recommend to anyone wishing for a relaxing time away. Thank you too all the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: 'The Whooper Suite'
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silky755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for the weekend and was blown away by the quality of the food and how pleasant the staff were. Stayed on a half-board deal with a superior double room (room 3, can't remember the name) overlooking the village for 2 nights. A slightly quirky room with our bathroom having a window overlooking the bar/restaurant outside seating area but the window blind sorted that out. There were nice touches with the complimentary tea and coffee selection and local mineral water. The set menu was different on both evenings but the flavours on everything we ordered was amazing, neither of us was disappointed with anything we ordered. We didn't drink in the bar so can't comment on previous reviews concerning the bar staff. The only thing to be aware of, and this is nothing to do with the hotel, is the lack of mobile phone coverage. Would I go back? Absolutely. Would I recommend it? Definitely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davesgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel is very traditional (apart from the cafe area - a real shame as it doesn't really work)
The bar, restaurant and rooms are all very pleasant. We were in Butterfly room which was a good size with a huge bathroom. The gardens are very attractive and it's easy to see why lots of weddings are held here. The food in the gallery restaurant was very well presented but the overriding flavour was garlic in both our meals which lacked real seasoning. The breakfast , however was excellent. Bibury is a very pretty village and worth an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farnhogals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,062 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,278 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
18.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bibury, often known as the prettiest village in England; the dog-friendly Swan Hotel has 22 bedrooms, including 4 stunning cottage suites, a lively bar, cosy writing room and stylish Brasserie. The hotel is ideally located for exploring not only Bibury but surrounding countryside too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing