We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in a splendid location”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

came across this place by chance. Had a lovely dinner and enquired about rooms. Fortunately they had one left - the bridal suite!

Room was fantastic, very well appointed with an amazingly comfortable bed. This is the first hotel I have stayed in with a few espresso machine with a range of complementary coffees.

Bathroom had a huge spa bath with a fine range of complimentary Molton Brown products.

A fabulous hotel in a beautiful location. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fletchinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have just returned from a overnight stay at this hotel with a friend. For me it was a return after a previous stay last year which did not live up to expectations. However, I can say the experience this time was great, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom were lovely, overlooking the gardens and river. We have afternoon tea and dinner, both of which we really enjoyed.

The manager, Quentin was always always to hand and was proffesional and very helpful.

Overall had a great time

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed in Whistling cottage at The Swan for two nights in March 2013 and were thoroughly impressed. Very clean, lovely decor and all the amenities you'd need. The bed was very comfortable and the shower very powerful. We enjoyed nespresso coffees in the morning from the machine in the sitting room part of our cottage suite - a real treat. The restaurant food was nice as was the breakfast. A great venue for a bit of R&R!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have stayed at The Swan in Bibury on 3 occasions and this is the only time I have ever been disappointed with a visit there. There was work being done in the bar so a bar was set in the library but with limited draught lager, tack of tables and chairs, we were asked to go to library and then after waiting 10 mins asked to go to dining area, they were unsure and said we were not eating so go back to library where member of staff questioned why we were back as they wanted to move bar back to its original place, well 30 mins later and still no drink, our friend who's birthday it was now feeling embarrassed and let down, we decided to go into Burford as they were unorgAnised. New bar area looked great but the small of paint over powering and bar very very cold. Bless the staff they were rallying around to get small blow heaters, but that intensified the smell. hats off to blond receptionist, she kept smiling and tried to keep everyone's spirits up. Next night we bookend the Restraunt and have to say that was its usual amazing experience, although the chefs special hot nuts and the amusebouche have gone (shame that was always a special touch) Restraunt staff great 100% service even though the curtains do need to go back up as the area is so cold now opened up. Never mind sure it will get there. We went back Sunday afternoon with our inlaws after booking into the Old Swan and Minister Mill for the next 2 days as we wanted them to see what a nice place it was, but Unfortunately there was a wedding so closed to non residents. Such a shame this to us has always been a landmark hotel, we have recommended it too so many friends after our previous stays. Have come back and booked the Hare and Hounds for our next stay in May, fingers crossed this will be up to the normal high standards this chain normally provide.

Room Tip: With e exception of the service in the Restraunt which was 100% on delivery, a call from the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We purchased a weekend stay package, 2 nights with dinner on the first night.

We arrived,after fighting our way through snow showers, to a very warm reception and were immediately shown to a very impressive room, with the quality of the materials used easy to see. The ensuite was impressive in size, with double aspect windows. However,this was the only bit of the hotel that looked a little tired in places. Having said that it was clean and very well appointed. Moulton Brown soap and creams provided an added touch of quality.

The meal on the first night blew us away. So much so that we immediately booked for the following night. The breakfasts were very good, with a buffet style for fruit, cereals and croissants, pain au chocolat and danish paistries, and a large selection of cooked breakfasts, individually cooked. It was pleasant to see some favorites, eggs benedict, smoked haddock and poached eggs and kippers as well as the normal English breakfast. Their own marmalade was outstanding and we regret not buying some from the hotel.

At all times, all the staff were very polite, friendly and smiled a lot, which leaves a lasting impression.

All in all, this was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at the swan hotel on the weekend of the 9th of March ... It was a Birthday treat for my girlfriend and i wanted something that little bit special.Had stayed at a hotel in London in knights-bridge just before xmas called the Midland and it had a jacuzzi bath amongst other things ... So when i came across the Swan even though its not shown in there brochure after reading trip advisor comments fount that the 4 poster bedrooms had double Jacuzzi .... So that was it found the hotel i was looking for .Thought i knew most of the cotswolds but i had never heard of Bibury and what a Gem it is. But after booking hotel i wanted a few things sorting before we arrived so emailed reception several times to arrange things.And i thought the 2 receptionists that i spoke to were really nice and very pleasant. I felt more like friends than a guest after emails. I didnt tell my girlfriend where i was taking her as knew she would google hotel and then the surprise would be gone. So we arrived at the Swan on a very rainy and foggy Friday afternoon and even in rain the hotel looks stunning.It wasnt until we walked in that she realized we were staying there and her face was a picture. We both thought good choice lovely hotel. After a speedy check in we were shown to our room .Room 1 the Owl room.Again when the staff opened the door ,the look on her face was a picture.A beautiful looking 4 poster bed . The only thing the receptionist got wrong was i had asked for a bottle of pink champagne and 2 glasses to be put in the bathroom as another surprise, but it was in the bedroom.But didnt make any difference as when the bathroom door was opened the 1st thing you see is the double jacuzzi... And to top it off they only use Molton brown soaps so mine stayed in the case .... Well what can i say ? .The hotel in my opinion was fantastic.It is in a beautiful location . spent 2 nights there wished it had been longer . The food in the recently refurbished restaurant was excellent for both of us and served with a smile. Breakfast was also excellent with lots of choices. The bar was in my eyes really nice very comfortable and what a bar should be. And the barman both nights we were there was also very pleasant. We knew that the bar was going to close for refurbishment as i had seen it in the correspondence with the swan.But as we sat there we could not understand why as it was lovely the way it was. So personally although there isnt really a view from this room i would recommend it to anyone .. And with a four poster and double jacuzzi and i didnt mind sacrificing the view. 1 big plus !!!!!! you can drink champagne in jacuzzi while watching coronation street if you leave bathroom door open. Great hotel.

Room Tip: go for a 4 poster with double jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slide01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My wife took me away for my 65th birthday to stay at this hotel. We got a good 2 for 1 offer and stayed in Room 1 'Owl' with a four poster bed and large Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Don't expect much of a view from this room as it's front windows look out onto the roof of the Brasserie. We couldn't otherwise fault the room, nor the service from reception
During our stay the normal bar was being refurbished and to get to the Brasserie (which has recently been refurbished) for dinner it was necessary to go outside across the courtyard - umbrellas were provided as it was raining. Service in the Brasserie was good, but the food was disappointing (perhaps it was the head chef's night off?). The worst thing was how cold the restaurant was, probably due to the newly tiled floor. We were not the only guests to have to return to our room to get an extra layer of clothing.
After dinner we went to the temporary bar which had been set up in a lounge with a roaring open fire. We decided to have dinner on the second night in the bar from the bar menu and had a much better meal in comfortable surroundings.
Breakfast was also served in the Brasserie and was very good on both mornings, but on the first morning our cooked breakfast was brought to the table before we had finished our cereals.
Overall a very good hotel, but the food was not up to the standard of other members of the same group where we've stayed (The Lamb at Burford and The Bear at Rodborough).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as the hotel is right up against a hillside at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbob193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
2.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
588 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,265 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range: £116 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bibury, often known as the prettiest village in England; the dog-friendly Swan Hotel has 22 bedrooms, including 4 stunning cottage suites, a lively bar, cosy writing room and stylish Brasserie. The hotel is ideally located for exploring not only Bibury but surrounding countryside too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing