We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but avoid the bar food”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a 2 night break. A nice small hotel with good rooms but the bar food and service was absolutely terrible , some of which you could not eat.
The service was equally as poor.
There was also a main dining room where breakfast was served and this marginally better than the food served at the bar.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Eddiefog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Food at the brasserie was ok but service was awful. Could not get table cleared and timings for food was dreadful. Another tourist trap hotel who think they don't have to try hard. Certainly will not be returning. It's a shame as it's in a beautiful location and I dread to think what foreign visitors would make of the shoddy service.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank petedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Swan was a surprise treat for our Ruby Anniversary. I was delighted with our room "The Swan"'with its beautiful rich furnishings and four-poster bed, dressing room and palatial bathroom with spa bath - the Molton Brown toiletries were a nice touch. The setting is absolutely idyllic in a pretty Cotswold village with a gorgeous trout river and picturesque gardens - we also visited The Bear at Rodborough - in the same hotel group - where we had stayed almost thirty years ago and said hello to the same bear still standing in the foyer! The meals at the Swan were very good - particularly liked the home-made walnut bread and whiskey laced marmalade at breakfast - great way to start our sightseeing day! Hope I get treated to another stay for our Golden anniversary!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moondill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Driving through the winding lanes we turned a corner to find The Swan beckoning .The outside tables along the river bank were a great way to enjoy the sun and atmosphere of the garden and river setting and many were doing just that. We had to take a table indoors and were a bit confused by the rabbit warren of rooms and tables available however each nook held some privacy . Staff were hard to find but when we managed to find someone they were pleasant enough. Unfortunately the first three things we ordered we sold out , one being the roast of the day and I guess we were late at 5.00 pm if dinner is eaten midday.
We had been looking forward to Yorkshire pudding as seen on the menu but none of that either!
The meals we had were well cooked and presented . Staff need to be more obviously present in such a vast area of dining choices and it would have helped if our first choices were available . The venue is clean and appealing.I would try again for the "roast of the day" and hope more staff were forthcoming on a busy Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have just come back from a stay at the Swan Hotel which was very lovely indeed. Stayed in the rookery family suite. Room size wasn't the biggest for how much it cost, but was still very nice anyway.

Breakfast was very nice and came out quickly when ordered.

Parking however was very tight. There is a function room where they hold weddings meaning a lot of extra cars were in the village. Luckily got the last parking space in the car park out side the cottage apartments. Car park can hold maybe 8 or 9 cars at the most.

Room Tip: The Rookery is a family suite in the very top of the hotel. If you don't like slanted ceilings I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a two night d b&b break with a trout meal on the first night.

We arrived in time for a pint for lunch and could have had a table in the garden before it got full but chose to sit in the bar. Why do Eastern European staff talk like gattling guns, brash and loud? And why do men of my age enter buildings and keep their hats on? End of moan!

Anyway we got totally seduced by the Camembert cooked in its box sharer with crusty bread, olives, roasted peppers and stuff. Absolutely wonderful.

Two real ales on offer and quite a few fonts of pasteurised ale for them what like that sort of thing. Bar prices and bar food prices are just a little short of a second mortgage but worth a splash. I'm moaning again!

This was our second visit and I don't think it will be our last. We've done three of the Cotswolds Inn & Hotels group and this is the best.

Room Tip: Room 18 is at the far end of the corridor and looks out on to the garden and trout farm. An enormou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, and bar staff Lovely, brassierie appalling and would not recommended but lovely place to go for a drink, there courtyard is nice to sit out in the sun. Shame due to poor service in the brassierie we did not manage to eat here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Localboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
2.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
588 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
571 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 4425 On the B, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bibury
Price Range: £115 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bibury, often known as the prettiest village in England; the dog-friendly Swan Hotel has 22 bedrooms, including 4 stunning cottage suites, a lively bar, cosy writing room and stylish Brasserie. The hotel is ideally located for exploring not only Bibury but surrounding countryside too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing