We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for afternoon tea”
Review of The William Morris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bibury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The William Morris
Ranked #3 of 3 Bibury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently visited the William Morris tea room with my friends when passing through Bibury. There was a delicious spread of homemade cakes. I chose the fruit scone with strawberry jam and clotted cream which was amazing! The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the service quick and efficient. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon experience, I have recommended this venue to several friends.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

This review is just for the cafe, but if that is anything to go by the accommodation should be good. We visited Bibury on the 12th of April 2014. We stopped for a bite to eat and a coffee. The William Morris Cafe, part of the B&B is a delightful cafe. It is very clean and homely, the owners/staff are very friendly and accommodating. I ordered a cheese salad, expecting the usual basic fair. I was delivered a huge plateful of delicious food, including Double Gloucester cheese (3 slices), capers, cous cous, red and green peppers, lovely rocket and loads more. The coffee was palatable but not as strong as I would prefer. Mums toasted cheese sandwich was also to a high standard and was accompanied by a small side salad, comparable to my own. A slice of chocolate square cake rounded off a very palatable repast, and all for under 10 pounds each. all in all a very nice experience. Oh and we loved the crockery.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had only planned to stay one night in the Cotswolds but stumbled across beautiful Bibury and decided to stay another. The two hotels were fully booked and both of the two B&B's had a room available. We chose this one because of it's location and quirkiness. The other one was £80, this one was £98 which seemed quite expensive. I asked the landlady if she would be willing to do it for the same price but she was having none of it.
Good bits: Lovely big en suite room overlooking the river, nice old fashioned décor, lovely big cosy bed. No cooked breakfast, but a very nice continental breakfast was brought to our room just after 9. In my experience a "continental" breakfast can be anything from one dry croissant to a smorgasbord. This one included fruit juice, cereal, smoked trout, boiled egg, cherry tomatoes, cheese, croissants, jams and fresh strawberries. Very nice. We were going to ask for a £20 reduction, (see why below) they brought us a £10 refund with our breakfast.
Not so good bits: No hot water for a bath, electric shower not hot enough, toilet flush broke, long life milk cartons were out of date and off. I was happy to accept the breakfast trays at the door, but the landlady seemed quite insistent that she came into the room and set the trays on the table. Not a problem, just seemed a bit strange.
Overall very nice and can recommend it. We went trout fishing at the trout farm which was fun.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A few of us recently visited Bibury for a day visit. We went for a little walk and came across the William Morris which looked very nice so we decided to pop in for a spot of lunch and some tea. The couple who own the place were both very sweet and accommodating. The food came quite fast, as did the tea. The portions weren't too large, perhaps a little small but that just allowed us room to try the scones, which were absolutely delicious. I had two! The were lovely and warm and felt as if they had just come out of the oven. They where served with a good amount of jam and proper Cornish clotted cream. We really did enjoy ourselves in this quant tea room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I couldn't find the Tea Room in the list of Restaurant on Trip Advisor but found the attached Hotel.
This is a review of the Tea Room only which we discovered by accident. We had been touring the Cotswolds on our Motorcycle and called in at Bibury only because Burford was chocker block full of tourists. We had heard that the White Swan was worth a visit but decided to give the William Morris Tea Room a try. The door opens into a magical world of Victoriana almost an Alice in Wonderland experience, it was so quaint and friendly. The fare is very typical British High Tea all sorts of Sandwich options and as much sugary delight as you could ever need, All served in English Bone China Crockery. We both had the Double Gloucester cheese sandwich which was served with a simple salad and an apple chutney. It was delicious. The staff were warm and inviting the service excellent. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darkbird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

A charming little place in the middle of a charming little village. Apparently this is one of the most beautiful places in England - and even with the flooding all around I have to say it is gorgeous today.

Tea rooms are simple but the sell tea, coffee and cake with a slight twist of eclectic mismatch....plus since it's so cold outside the open log fire is a big bonus!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank InMyHumbleOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Outstanding location-charming room and collection of old and antique teapots. The tired owners evidently think that is enough.It isn't- service- was slow -the slice of cake that was ordered was forgotten and tea was served in a pot with broken and glued lid.To top that the owner preparing the tea had a persistent cough as he handled the various teabags.It is a real pity as Bibury would greatly benefit from a classic tearoom which are mostly hyper hygenic and hyper efficient.In the meantime for tea or snack go to the Trout Farm or the Swan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russelmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The William Morris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Morris

Address: 11 The Street, Bibury GL7 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bibury
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The William Morris Bibury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing