We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Three weeks was still not long enough!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property! The spacious and stunning living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property!
The spacious and stunning living room
Stylish furnishings, underfloor heating and a roaring log burner
The house is a lovely home from home
The large kitchen and dining room
Large, hand painted dining table and chairs
Beautifully presented
A lovely, sociable room
The house is full of character features
The lovely, old stairwell, in the heart of the house
A beautiful stained glass window, in the stairwell
The luxurious master bedroom
Traditional character features and modern facilities
The grand, four poster bed
Relax in style!
Looking out to the landing
Antique furniture
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with a handheld shower attachment, toilet and wash basin
Another room full of character
Bedroom 2, with two single beds
Beautiful style and character
Bedroom 2 also has a day bed
A lovely bedroom
More character features
The house has a lovely garden at the front
Middle Gable The Old Hall is one of a row of traditional cottages
The garden in full bloom
Middle Gable The Old Hall, an exceptional character property
The garden is beautiful all year round
A lovely place to relax and unwind
The square holes are 'dovecotes', where doves would once have lived
Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautiful Cotswold village
Take a stroll by the River Windrush
Known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tapper54
Frankfort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Three weeks was still not long enough!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015

The first time my husband and I stayed at Middle Gable, we rented for one week, had a lovely time, but it was over all to quickly. So, the next year, we booked for two weeks. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, now so comfortable, it was like coming home. Our most recent stay was for three weeks in September of 2015. All we can say is, when can we come back? The location of this most magnificent property is super convenient to the village, yet kept very private from the tourist element. The pubs, the shops, the bakery, all wonderful places to visit and yet return to your own patch of heaven at the end of the day. The underfloor heating makes it most comfortable, even on a cold, rainy day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden.
Liked least: leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catlikesp...
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic English Countryside”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Middle Gable. We stayed there with our 3 kids, ages 9, 11, and 14. It was perfectly located in the gorgeous town of Bourton-on-the-Water. We could easily walk to everything in town and also drove to Warwick castle and Birmingham for a premier league game. The cottage itself so comfortable and has everything that you could need to stay there a few days or longer. Hopefully we'll make it back there some day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetenore
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had visited Bourton-on the Water in the spring and we all wanted to come back at Christmas to completely immerse ourselves in the festive spirit. Our daughter came back from Australia with her boyfriend on his first visit to the UK so we wanted to let him experience a quintessential Cotswold atmosphere.

We were uncertain at first as to the exact location but when we arrived we were delighted to find that the property was literally less than a minutes walk from the village centre. MiddleGable is a magnificent listed property which oozes its original historical charm in every nook and cranny. The magnificent four poster main bedroom is everything you would imagine a room of that type to be. This property has everything you could wish for and the fact that it is located in a fabulous position in probably the most picturesque of all the Cotswold villages just makes it one of the most special places we have ever stayed at.

We were reluctant to write this review in case it attracted so many people we would not be able to rebook but in our hearts we simply could not deny this experience to anyone else. The immediate neighbours are one of the nicest couples we have met and told us that they had originally come from London as evacuees during the last war. They loved it so much they have lived in the area since then never wanting to move away. I fully understand there sentiment. This is one of those rare but very special places that has a magic and charm that simply cannot be surpassed. We have travelled extensively, stayed in some amazing places but this is right up there with the very best. IITenore

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiGlen...
Miami Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The loving restoration of this home was very cozy and true to 17th century architecture....”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Middle Gable, the large center section of a stunning 17th century manse was like a time capsule. The loving restoration of this structure was first rate and true to the period - except, thank goodness, for the kitchen and baths. The town itself was also true to the period without being hyperaware of its own quaintness. I chose to visit in Winter but the more than adequate heating as well as the much appreciated heated floor in the lounge kept the feeling cozy. Visiting from the States, where an "old" structure means something different entirely, this home was a real treat.
Kate, the owner, was also instrumental in guiding us to some very interesting spots we may otherwise have missed....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The authenticity of the remodel - true to the period with the exceptions of kitchen and baths, of course.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peragrant...
New Forest
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Step into Wolf Hall”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A real piece of four poster luxury in one of the oldest houses in Bourton. The house is part of a terrace that dates back to the 17th century and Middle Gable in the centre has been beautifully converted, boasting a cosy lounge with underfloor heating and a wood-burning stove; modern kitchen with dining area; grand main bedroom on the first floor with enormous carved four poster and a separate twin/triple bedroom on the top floor. Family bathroom on the first floor and shower room/loo on the ground floor (slightly inconvenient but then it is a period property). The whole interior is magnificently cluttered with an eclectic mix of reproduction Tudor-style portraits and contemporary plaques and bronze figurines. Off-street parking for up to three cars (a real boon in Bourton).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Downstairs shower room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabrina T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location! Fantastic home!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this beautiful home with my family of 2 adults and 3 kids! We all loved Middle Gable and would love to go back there soon even if travelling from Milano in Italy is a long way! The owner Kate was very attentive and made sure all was ok with us on the night we checked in. The house has everything one needs and Bourton on the Water is a beautiful village. I suppose it is only spoilt by all of us tourists ... walking around and taking hundreds of pictures .. in particular for us at Middle Gable ... we were stopped almost every morning by japanese tourist or german asking us if we really lived in that beautiful home! We really felt priviledged! would advise anybody to go to Middle Gable even if it makes me gelous of them going there!!!! enjoy!! Sabrina and family from Italy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful home and the wonderful village
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve k
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

MG really lived up to its billing and was the best cottage holiday my wife and I have had and we've regularly taken this type of holiday in recent years.The house is well appointed and very comfortable with all the necessary amenities.Bourton on the Water is a beautiful village offering many good eateries and well located for touring the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;