We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property! The spacious and stunning living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property!
The spacious and stunning living room
Stylish furnishings, underfloor heating and a roaring log burner
The house is a lovely home from home
The large kitchen and dining room
Large, hand painted dining table and chairs
Beautifully presented
A lovely, sociable room
The house is full of character features
The lovely, old stairwell, in the heart of the house
A beautiful stained glass window, in the stairwell
The luxurious master bedroom
Traditional character features and modern facilities
The grand, four poster bed
Relax in style!
Looking out to the landing
Antique furniture
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with a handheld shower attachment, toilet and wash basin
Another room full of character
Bedroom 2, with two single beds
Beautiful style and character
Bedroom 2 also has a day bed
A lovely bedroom
More character features
The house has a lovely garden at the front
Middle Gable The Old Hall is one of a row of traditional cottages
The garden in full bloom
Middle Gable The Old Hall, an exceptional character property
The garden is beautiful all year round
A lovely place to relax and unwind
The square holes are 'dovecotes', where doves would once have lived
Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautiful Cotswold village
Take a stroll by the River Windrush
Known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
reuben200...
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 28 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 teenagers) visited Bourton-on-the-Water in June. I cannot say enough good things about this cottage - it is filled with character and charm inside and out, the location was perfect, and Cate was great to work with. Really amazing to stay in a home built in the 1600's - we are ready to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review of Middle Gable, David. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the property & the Cotswolds. We hope you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
1 review
“Picturesque”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed here may bank holiday when the weather was incredibly warm. The garden was in full bloom and looked stunning. There was plenty of parking and the place was lovely. Fully equipped kitchen, everything we needed. Didn't spend a lot of time in the house as the surrounding area is so beautiful. We had our 3 children, they padded in the stream, we visited birdland and the dragonfly maze and didn't have to get in the car until we went home. I would highly reccomend staying at middle gable.
Bourton on the water is a lovely place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review of Middle Gable, Lorraine. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Cotswolds & that the property catered for all your needs. We hope you visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“A Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our third stay at Middle Gable was every bit as wonderful as the first two. It is a fantastic place in a beautiful setting. The owners make every effort to make us feel comfortable, and are a pleasure to deal with. Middle Gable is the perfect holiday cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2018
Thank you for your delightful review of Middle Gable, we're pleased to hear that your third stay at this property was every bit as wonderful as the first two! We hope you continue to visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mautemp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome cottage !”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful and awesome cottage so lovingly furnished , so well decorated and well equiped . Very cosy and spacious with a lovely garden . In this cottage, part of a 17th century manor house, we really appreciate the feeling of a trip in time ; especially with the four poster bedroom and the magnificent stairs. The property is also well situated in the heart of Bourton. The owners are really nice and so are the neigbours. I would highly recommend this place to my friends and family. The cottage surpassed all expectations we would be very pleased to stay at Middle gable again. This place is magic !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review of Middle Gable, we're pleased to hear that the Cottage surpassed all of your expectations! We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidjame...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous cottage in the centre of Bourton on the Water ”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is just the most comfortable holiday cottage in the centre of Bourton on the Water. The quality of the furnishings is outstanding and the underfloor heating and wood burning stove made the cottage very warm in the February weather. The attention to detail is fantastic with lots of historical pictures and the overall olde worlde feel is really lovely. Very close to the centre of Bourton with access to lovely tea shops, restaurants and country pubs. This is probably the best home we have ever rented in the past 30 years. I thoroughly recommend it and we will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review of Middle Gable, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBray
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning warm cottage in heart of Cotswolds”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I absolutely loved staying in Middle Gable. Steeped in history yet very comfortable with all mod cons. We felt at home straightaway - essential as we were between houses at the time! The large lounge was spectacular with very efficient under floor heating. We loved the Jacobian four poster bed – it was like stepping back in time.

The owners Cate and Chris were very helpful and I enjoyed my chat with Cate before and during our stay. Anne who lived a few doors down was charming and helpful too.

Middle Gable is only a few minutes’ stroll from lovely Bourton on the water, my favourite village in the whole of the Cotswolds. There are wonderful riverside walks to be enjoyed from the cottage - to Lower Slaughter was spectacular! We can thoroughly recommend Middle Gable to you – you won’t be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spod997
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quirky and cosy property, well-located property in a picturesque Cotswold village”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Beautiful property with lots of quirky and original features, and to top it off, was deliciously cosy and warm! Perfect to relax in after long walks in the surrounding area. The shared garden is stunning, and we had the very great pleasure of meeting Rosie-the-dog a few doors down!
The owner, Cate, was great - made sure we knew exactly where we were going, and how to get the best out of the area and the property.
We didn't use our car once during our weekend stay as there are excellent walks virtually from the front door (it sits directly on the Windrush Way), and had 2 very good meals at nearby pubs. Do book if there's a particular place you'd like to eat at - it gets busy. We had a very nice dinner at the Mousetrap Inn, which I would recommend.
Can't recommend this place enough, and I'm planning a return visit soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing