We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful guesthouse.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadow Rise Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadow Rise Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful guesthouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Meadow Rise Guest House, and had a lovely time there. Bourton on the Water is a beautiful place and staying at this Guest House was the icing on the cake. Hanna, the owner was a very charming and welcoming host. The house is so homely and comfortable, and absolutely spotless! We stayed in a front bedroom, overlooking fields opposite - it was so peaceful there, and only about 5 minutes walk into the centre of Bourton. Breakfast consisted of mainly locally sourced food, and was really delicious.We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fireman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed as a group of 3 couples. 2 standard rooms plus the premium room. Hanna was very friendly and welcoming. Her home is spotlessly clean with nice furnishing and decoration. Rooms were good with good beds and views over the surrounding fields. Breakfast was good, plentiful and Hanna was flexible with the offering of cooked breakfast. The B&B is a very close walk to the town centre. Only a couple of minor issues. Free wifi available but we found that we could not contact within the rooms so had to sit out in common areas to get access. Be a little careful with the sloping ceiling in the premium room if you are tall. We had a minor issue at payment time but this was readily and graciously remedied. Recommended B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctoraitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my fiance. The host is sweet and welcoming, and her home is very clean and cosy. We stayed on the top most floor with wonderful views of the neighboring fields and cows. This room is slightly more expensive than other rooms but it has its own bathroom.

Breakfast starts at 8 am and is freshly prepared (great cook!); you can even request specific foods for breakfast. The presentation is lovely; you can tell they put a lot of thought and effort into everything.

The house is just a couple of minutes (walking) away from the town's center so it couldn't be in a better location. Finally, as a side note, they do not take credit cards (no biggie) so come prepared with cash or check.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in Bourton on the way hame from Dorset, B&B situated in a lovely quiet area, fabulous welcome from the host. Stayed in the top floor room, lovely views, comfy large sofa and coffee table in sitting area. Breakfast lovely and superbly cooked, would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Perfect location!! Just a short walk to the town, yet it feels like you're in the country. Our room overlooked a pasture and green hills. Room was spacious and clean. Big bathroom. Great breakfast served by wonderful hosts. Would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from our weekend break to Bourton on the Water and what a gem of a Bed and Breakfast we found. We had the premium room and this was absolutely lovely, the attention to detail, tissues, water, coffee, tea, milk and a lovely soft comfy settee to sit on after a long day out sightseeing.

Hanna the host was extremely nice, even recovering from an operation on her foot didn't hold her back with the hospitality, nothing was too much trouble. Such a lovely lady.

If you are staying in Bourton on the water, stay here it really is first class, should be 5 star.

Denise and Steven Dewsnap
Glossop, Derbyshire

Room Tip: The premier room is in the loft and is quiet and comfortable with a great view of the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DENISE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Bourton is a popular little town and this place is 5 min from the center in a very quiet little street with great views of nature from the windows. So you can have your cake and eat it. Wonderful breakfasts, very nice hostess, perfect...We were very happy here. Very tastefully furnished large bedroom and bathroom with a great tub!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenB92617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Rise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Rise Guest House

Property: Meadow Rise Guest House
Address: Meadow Rise Pock Hill Lane, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadow Rise Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanna & Beverley Gent welcome old & new customers to their newly established home right in the heart of the very lovely village of Bourton on the Water, sometimes called the Venice of the Cotswolds because of the River Windrush that winds its way through the main street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing