We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadow Rise Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful location”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Meadow Rise offers a beautiful view of the rolling hills with local cows included. Off the beaten path so it's nice and quiet, but close enough to walk into town. Be ready to pay with cash, as credit cards not accepted -- this can be difficult for foreign travellers. Breakfast was delicious. Bathroom good size but separate shower stall was very small and tight. No A/C, so if it's hot as it was this July, you have to open windows and use a tiny, small fan -- only one fan per room is provided. Bed/pillows a bit lumpy and uncomfortable. Double room was a bit cramped, but everything was very clean and tidy. Never saw or met Beverley, but Hannah was always available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherESL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently stayed Myself and my husband and spent two nights at Meadow Rise. Upon arrival we had the utmost warm welcoming from Hanna she is such a lovely lady she could not to enough for us. Our Premier Room Room was so comfortable and stunning views over the meadow. The room was very clean and everything to ones needs. The breakfast so delicious and there are alternatives to choose cooked superbly. Very nice to see Beverly too. We will definitely go back for a lovely weekend stay. We can highly recommend this wonderful B & B to stay. Only a short walk to the river many lovely tea shops and restaurants. Eileen

Room Tip: We had top floor with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Myself and my husband have just spent two nights at Meadow Rise and it is everything a bed and breakfast should be, the house is spotless and very comfortable, the room has a power shower and tea and coffee making facilities, it also has a small fridge which is very useful. Hanna is a lovely lady who made us feel very welcome and the breakfast she provided was well cooked and plentiful, I would have no hesitation in returning to Meadow Rise and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently spent a long weekend at this brilliant B&B basing our booking on many of the tripadvisor reports we had read. We were not disappointed. The large comfortable double room had a spacious en suite with bath and separate shower and lovely views overlooking rolling hills. The room was very clean, had tea and coffee making facilities and a little fridge and wardrobe space in a separate area of the room which was accessed by another door. Hanna was extremely friendly and helpful. She was very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and suggested various walks and neighbouring villages to visit. She served a very tasty breakfast each morning which set us up for the day ahead. The guest house was in a quiet lane but it was only a very short walk into the main high street, shops and river so we didn't need to use the car. Bourton has many gift shops, cafes, restaurants and pubs not to mention the motor museum and birdland so there is plenty to do and see. We had very good weather which was a bonus. We would definitely recommend this B&B and intend to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter. Fantastic hosts Hanna and Beverley made us feel very welcome and were very accommodating. Lovely rooms with superb views of the open meadows, so peaceful, as well as the lovely breakfast. Great location close to the town. Would recommend that this is the best B+B to stay in the beautiful town of Bourton on the Water. Was a shame to come home but no doubt will be coming back in the very near future.
Clarexxx

Room Tip: Either the Four poster room or the preimer loft room as both have fantastic views of the open meadow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarea1Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We could not have found a better B&B. Nothing was too much trouble, it was spotlessly clean and everyone was very helpful and extremely courteous. Beautiful view over the fields from the bedroom and yet only a five minute walk from the centre of the village. Lovely breakfast and comfortable accommodation - what more could you ask!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. A most welcoming Guest House. The hosts Hanna and Beverley could not do enough for us .
Lovely room with lots of little extras .
Very warm home , nothing too much trouble .
Superb breakfast , lovely hosts, brilliant location .
Would definitely recommend ,one of the nicest Guest Houses we have stayed in .
Thank You Very Much , Hannah and Beverley.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BONES12345Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.3 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
689 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Rise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Rise Guest House

Property: Meadow Rise Guest House
Address: Meadow Rise Pock Hill Lane, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadow Rise Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanna & Beverley Gent welcome old & new customers to their newly established home right in the heart of the very lovely village of Bourton on the Water, sometimes called the Venice of the Cotswolds because of the River Windrush that winds its way through the main street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing