We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Hotel”
Review of Harrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harrington House
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Traditional Hotel”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Harrington House in early October over a delightful sunny weekend. The Bourton village centre is heavily commercialised with busloads of tourists coming and going endlessly. The shops, cafes and restaurants are mostly the charmless kind of places you would expect to find with this transitory clientale. Harrington House stands in contrast to this soulless exploitation and has an easygoing and welcoming, if rather old fashioned, ambience.

Its fixtures and fittings are a little tired but not objectionably so. It has a rather institutional atmosphere most evident in the rather severely fitted out lounge and the hint of schools dinners evoked by the requirement to order courses from the menu in advance and the communal dining tables. The food was unexciting but acceptable. My guess is that it is the filling, hearty sort of thing liked by the many walkers who use the hotel.

All in all, a pleasant enough hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrepinerolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Eleven of us travelled from the Toronto area with HF Holidays.
Harrington House was recommended by a friend and we were all very happy with the whole experience. From the ample delicious food, to the competent guides, the friendly staff and clean accommodations....it was a delightful week in late September. Would recommend if to anyone wanting a walking trip in the beautiful English Cotswolds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I am was the leader of a Ramblers walking weekend that has just returned from a stay at Harrington House Hotel, The party consisted of 19 people.

All of the facilities at this hotel from the rooms; meals and special walkers facilities are just excellent, These include the packed lunch system for walkers to the drying rooms and kit cleaning facilities,

The staff and management were always friendly and helpful. I can't recommend highly enough without going on for much too long. All of the members of the party agree with my comments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The place is owned by HF Holidays and most of the guests participate in walking tours of the Cotswold region. I would have given five circles except for the fact that the property appears a little "worn" in some areas and there is no curb appeal whatsoever. We combined two HF tours and stayed there for 11 nights. Our room (#1) was spacious with ample storage, a comfortable bed and a large bathroom. It was considered a "premium" room and might be worth booking. I believe that there is an additional charge of 5 pounds per day. We got three meals a day- a full breakfast with numerous choices, a bag lunch to take with us on tour, and a three course dinner with 5 entrée choices. My wife is a vegetarian and she had no problems. For the lunches, you would fill out a sticker the previous day for a sandwich or salad. You were given an array of choices including all types of meats, veggies and bread types. After breakfast you picked up your sandwich or salad, looking for the sticker that you had written and then you would choose from a large array of extras- nuts, dried fruits, fruits, chips, trail mix, cookies, crackers, etc. The only thing not provided was a drink. All of the staff members were very attentive. Finally, the location, which was about a block from the main street, is perfect. You are close enough to get anywhere in the town, but far enough away to avoid the noise and crowding. During the day Bourton is crowded with day tourists. Harrington House is a great place to stay either as an individual traveler to the region or on an HF Holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premium room. Other guests were not as satisfied with their accommodations as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyKUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I think we got a bargain with this hotel at £85 for the night for the two of us in a double room and a cooked breakfast. We stayed for one night. Although it is not a glamourous hotel and could do with a bit of updating, our room was very clean (although small). The white sheets were crisp and clean and the white towels also and the bathroom was very very clean. As you can tell I am a cleanliness freak! As long as something is clean I am happy. However, the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! This hotel is a stones throw from the centre and is well worth the money for the location. Therefore I would recommend it, apart from the bed. Also the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. I also think there should be some smaller tables at breakfast for couples who don't want to socialise with others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willow1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

After staying one night was left feeling very disappointed. The bedroom was very small and in great need of modernisation nothing like any of the pictures I had seen. The staff were friendly and helpful but communal eating was not good after choosing a table then being asked to move to share cold toast and warm drinks with strangers!!!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed for one night for our wedding anniversary . our room was in the annexe not the main house,very clean and comfortable .The food was excellent my wife asked the chef for a recipe and he was more than happy to oblige.
Great location just a 2 minutes walk to the river windrush.
we would stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: annexe room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.2 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cranbourne House
Cranbourne House
#11 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House

Property: Harrington House
Address: Sherborne Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrington House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating originally from the Tudor period, and of considerable historic interest, Harrington House mirrors the mellow architectural style of the Cotswolds. With an enviable location in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water, and surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside, it's not surprising that many of our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Harrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing