We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HF House”
Review of Harrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harrington House
Reviewed 20 August 2014

HF owned house in excellent location some 200 yards from the centre of Bourton on the Water. Food quality acceptable although HF are not as generous on some of the extras they used to provide. Well managed with friendly and obliging manager

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My third, and last HF Holiday. Cost cutting obvious (drinks for packed lunches now charged, for example), although the price charged would have covered a decent London hotel. Food quality extremely poor, they could not even cook an omelette (seriously) that was a main course. Maybe powdered egg? Locally sourced? - maybe the wholesaler is local? Fancy menu, but putting tomato paste and a bit of cheese on chicken doesn't make it Chicken Parmigiana. On the weekend we stayed, there was no chef on duty on the Saturday, nor a manager on duty in the evening. Food was pre-prepared and kept warm. English breakfast was a dried out egg, running grease and congealed baked beans. Sadly, I went down with a gut problem within about 12 hours. Link unproven, but quite probable given the length of time the food was on standby. Local pub looked a better option and cheaper, but without a drying room (but the HF Holidays one didn't work as other reviews note). Room clean and recently decorated, single beds, but small. manager was unable to deal with complaint - referred me to Head Office who have ignored.

Very disappointing. Lovely area, great walking, but don't fall for the apparent convenience of staying with HF Holidays here. An experience to be remembered for the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: Choose another venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

For the past three years I have gone on a walking holiday with a group of about 45 others and we have always stayed at an HF hotel - this one really was a lovely choice. Situated in the heart of Bourton on the Water and a very short drive into the Cotswolds it is ideally placed for walkers and holidaymakers alike.
The hotel was once a really lovely old house and it has been renovated but because of the age of the building, there are no lifts and some rooms don't have double glazing. This, however, should not detract from the property itself as accommodation is available on ground floors and the central heating makes up the lack of double glazing!
The food was delicious! Breakfast consisted of a wide variety of cooked foods, cereals, fruit and yogurts and the Hollandaise sauce on the Eggs Benidict was one of the best tasted! A really full and satisfying packed lunch was provided each day and dinner in the evening could not be faulted. Always a wide choice of starters, main and deserts - freshly cooked and beautifully presented.
There were 45 of us on this particular holiday and we had the hotel to ourselves but everything ran like clockwork. The staff were friendly and accommodating, always cheerful and helpful with any questions we might have had.
There are no telephones in the bedrooms, no lifts, no room service so some may find this off putting but these are small disappointments compared to the warmth and friendliness of the staff, the hospitality of the management and the great food!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have bathrooms en suite due to the age of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharjahsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A very basic hotel in need of updating. Room was clean but basic, single beds, small bathroom - shower only. Run without care and attention - I would avoid unless you are on a walking holiday with HF. Evening meal was poor

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here on a Christmas Hf walking holiday and had a wonderful time. We were allocated a room in one of the annex buildings and found it to be charming and very quiet, just a few steps from the main house. It was clean and well maintained but did not have a stand up shower over the bath, just a flexible hose from the taps. Everything else was very pleasing. It was warm, well serviced and the beds were comfortable. There was a computer with web access in a sitting room just below our room. The main house common rooms were attractive and comfortable, suitable for the type of group holiday we had booked. The dining room was a bit cramped as we were quite a large group but the food was good and freshly cooked, catering well for the appetites of walkers. There were adequate facilities for cleaning boots and drying wet walking gear. Even though the area had suffered some flooding, we went out walking every day, never got rained on and returned to mulled wine in the boot room! The staff were friendly and accommodating and the Hf leaders mainly managed to satisfy the varied needs of the many guests. We would recommend Hf holidays as we have been on several. This one being in an attractive location with a fairly easy walking terrain.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in Harrington house were cold apparently, but ours in the annex was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SONIA248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Harrington House in early October over a delightful sunny weekend. The Bourton village centre is heavily commercialised with busloads of tourists coming and going endlessly. The shops, cafes and restaurants are mostly the charmless kind of places you would expect to find with this transitory clientale. Harrington House stands in contrast to this soulless exploitation and has an easygoing and welcoming, if rather old fashioned, ambience.

Its fixtures and fittings are a little tired but not objectionably so. It has a rather institutional atmosphere most evident in the rather severely fitted out lounge and the hint of schools dinners evoked by the requirement to order courses from the menu in advance and the communal dining tables. The food was unexciting but acceptable. My guess is that it is the filling, hearty sort of thing liked by the many walkers who use the hotel.

All in all, a pleasant enough hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torrepinerolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Eleven of us travelled from the Toronto area with HF Holidays.
Harrington House was recommended by a friend and we were all very happy with the whole experience. From the ample delicious food, to the competent guides, the friendly staff and clean accommodations....it was a delightful week in late September. Would recommend if to anyone wanting a walking trip in the beautiful English Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mousetrap Inn
The Mousetrap Inn
#6 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#13 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House

Address: Sherborne Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrington House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating originally from the Tudor period, and of considerable historic interest, Harrington House mirrors the mellow architectural style of the Cotswolds. With an enviable location in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water, and surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside, it's not surprising that many of our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Harrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing