We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranbourne House
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just spent two nights at the Cranbourne and would just like to say what a wonderful time we had. A very clean and well presented property. The room that we stayed in was spacious and made even more attractive by the lovely cakes and fresh milk that were left for us each day - a very nice extra! Breakfast was a real treat, very well cooked indeed. A great location for a quick stroll into Bourton on the Water and for visiting other attractions in the area. Thankyou for making our stay so enjoyable with your warm and helpful hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LellExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Good Morning Lesley, we have just finished reading your review and we must say it was really great to hear that yourself and David had such an enjoyable stay at Cranbourne B&B. We always aim to put a smile on our guests faces from arrival to the maintained and immaculately clean rooms.

We love to bake and it's great to hear that you appreciated and loved the little touches, such as cake and milk in your room each day - after all it's these little things that make your stay that little bit more special. We are pleased that you enjoyed the village too - Bourton is a great place with loads to do and the great thing is that because we are just situated outside the village, you have the option to escape whenever you like.

We are glad you had a safe trip back down to Exeter and if you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future, please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee or tea, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

A Birthday celebration weekend spent with friends en-route north to see the out-laws....!
To elevate expectations is always such a cool thing with the weather being so bad. A warm welcome in from the freezing conditions outside were continued with a room to match. Fluffy white towels, and grandma feather styled sumptuous bed, and fixtures and fittings any top class designer would be proud of. Breakfast is always a good test of any establishment, this one was second to none!
Village center is a short stroll away, with fabulous shops, friendly patrons, and excellent Pubs!!!
We will be back. Kindest Regards. Mark n Mags. Perth - Australia

Room Tip: South Room is largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbbubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Good Morning Maggie & Mark, I have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that you had a great stay upon your trip to The Cotswolds while at Cranbourne House; equally we are glad you made it back to Perth okay too. Despite the weather though it was a fantastic weekend and it was lovely to meet the both of you.

We are pleased that you really enjoyed the little touches like the fluffy towels and the furniture in the rooms. We do maintain everything at Cranbourne to the highest standards, as lets be fair, when you come in from a cold day in the rain there is nothing better than a comfortable surrounding. I like your point about the breakfast being a test, and from the sounds of it everything was to your expectations which is great to hear.

It's great to hear you will be back in the future and when you are please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at this wonderful establishment. John and Emma could not do enough to make this stay so enjoyable, from the wonderful cakes and mince pies that greeted us each afternoon to the wonderful breakfast each morning.
The place was wonderfully clean, so comfortable and superbly located.
The five star awards Cranbourne House has received only go to endorse the high standards that abound here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyrtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Good Morning Tim,

We have just finished reading your review over breakfast and both myself and Emma are glad you enjoyed the busy Victorian Christmas weekend break in Bourton. I'm glad you enjoyed the cakes and especially the mince pies - definitely one of my favourite naughty treats, and we hope that your trip away got you into the festive Christmas spirit.

Thank you for your kind words about us deserving our 5* rating - we always do our best to maintain the property, keep everything clean and up to date and make sure that yourself, along with all our guests have a fabulous time while visiting The Cotswolds.

If you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability, or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up. Either that or we will see you up at Nanny Brow in the future.


Take Care & Merry Christmas,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Cranbourne house is more than a B&B. Luxurious accommodation, gourmet breakfast and perfect location for walking into Bourton on the Water with it's great pubs, restaurants and small shops. The owners are lovely, very helpful and accommodating. Absolutely recommend both Cranbourne House and Bourton on the Water for a relaxing Cotwolds weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Good Morning, we have just finished reading your review and must say it was really great to hear that you thought more of us than just a B&B. We always aim to go that extra mile and make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay when with us at Cranbourne - after all it's the little things that make your stay that little bit more special.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the village - Bourton is a fantastic little place with loads to do and the great thing is that because we are just situated outside the village, you have the option to escape whenever you like. We are always more than happy to be accommodating and are glad we were able to assist you during your stay.

If you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This small B&B is perfectly located. The place is immaculate and nicely decorated. Our room was wonderful with sumptuous bedding .John and his fiancee provided us with a lovely breakfast each morning. A perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Good Morning, we have just finished reading your review and thank you for all the lovely things you said about us here at Cranbourne House B&B.

We are happy that you were pleased with the room and the particular style of the room. We must admit, the bedding is one of the things that we make sure is of the highest standard as we know a good nights sleep is of the utmost importance. .

Thank you for the comments about myself and my fiancee Emma (who I must admit is the real driving force behind me). Again, the comments were lovely and thank you for these.

If you are ever planning a trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Three nights at beautiful Cranbourne House, thanks to TA reviews - we were not disappointed = very impressed !
The premises are old on outside but new and functional on inside with incredible eye for detail,presentation and maintainence. Separate lounge and sunrooms with supply of books, magazines and TV.

Room large, extremely clean - comfortable, adequate heating available. Only downside perhaps was that there was no in room safe available and probably due to our lack of understanding of the unusual tap arrangement in shower recess - unable to obtain really "hot" water.

5+ minutes walk to village and restaurants makes for convenience without perhaps noise from late night revellers.

Our host John was an example of excellence in the hospitality industry. Friendly, efficient and professional without being intrusive. John is also an excellent cook preparing mouth watering a la carte breakfasts and providing delicious cake upon our return to the room in afternoons - a very nice touch!

Highly recommended !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Good Morning, wow, we have just finished reading your review and must say it was such a delight to read all the lovely things you said about us and Cranbourne House B&B. We always aim to maintain the house and keep it extremely immaculate, clean and up to date and we're glad that you were impressed with this.

We are also happy that you were pleased with the room you stayed in too. We are sorry that we didn't have room safes available, however we took the decision that this was not something that we needed being in the Cotswolds. We do however have a safe in the kitchen and if you are ever returning, we can keep things stored away for yourselves during your stay.

I must say I was touched to read the lovely comments you left about myself and I am thankful for these. I always aim to make sure everyone is happy at Cranbourne B&B without being too intrusive and I'm happy this is conveyed. One of the favourite things about my job is making (and sampling) all of the cakes and at Cranbourne B&B, we feel this is something that can be enjoyed after a long walk or day trip out.

If you are ever planning a trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and i have just returned from 3 days at Cranbourne house we found it to be very nice and comfy our room did have a king size bed and was very clean the breakfasts where very nice and nothing was to much trouble as for the review that that said they where left to their own devices well what do some people expect they where there to help with anything we needed and answered any questions and gave advice as where to eat etc i think these people just stayed at a time the current people where not there and things where done slightly different .

As to the village it was very pretty and a lovely place to stay we went to lower slaughter which was very nice also went to stow on the wold but think that bourton on the water was the best place for us and we only had a five minute walk down to the resturants we would certainly stay at this b and b again .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennywratten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Good Morning Jenny, we have just finished reading your review and it was such a lovely TripAdvisor review, we just wanted to say thank you very much for everything you said. It was lovely meeting you both and I am glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay.

We are always more than happy to help our guests in anyway possible, whether this be answering questions, booking restaurants or taxi trips and we are glad that this is recognised by our guests.

I do hope that if you are planning a trip to the Cotswolds again you will either look at staying at Cranbourne House again or definitely pop in and say hello to us.

I hope that you have a lovely Autumn / Winter and that you both take care.

Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bourton-on-the-Water hotels
0.1 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coombe House
Coombe House
#3 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Address: Cranbourne House Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £90 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing