We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Cranbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranbourne House
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just enjoyed a wonderful two night stay at Cranbourne House. Our hosts, John and Emma made us feel very welcome from the off, (including freshly baked cakes in our room!) and their friendly approach made the place feel very homely. Breakfast was great, fresh produce, really well cooked, generous portions and they were only too happy to incorporate some special requests (including an amazing sausage sandwich!). Our room was pristine and beautifully decorated, with an amazing shower and a cosy central heating. All in all we loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone. One of the best B and Bs we've stayed in!

Room Tip: We stayed in Notgrove, lovely room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Good Morning Stuart, Emma and myself have just finished reading your review and we were delighted to read the things you said about us and Cranbourne House. We are always friendly and welcoming, as we believe your stay has to be special from the moment you arrive and it makes it worth while when we read about this in reviews such as yours. It was really lovely to meet you both and it was great you were able to watch the rugby in the comfort of the bedroom - fingers crossed we carry on with the good form in the six nations.

We enjoyed reading that you enjoyed the little extras, such as the special request at breakfast. It is the most important meal of the day after all, so we always aim to provide those little extras. There is nothing better; as you mentioned with the central heating, than to come back from a walk in the cold weather and relax in a warm, comfortable environment and it was great to see you relaxing in the lounge too.

We hope you had a good journey back to London and if you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future, please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee or tea, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Cranbourne House is a lovely B&B, very clean, beautifully decorated and wonderfully furnished. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the breakfasts varied and very tasty. The owners go the extra mile providing freshly baked cakes / biscuits every afternoon and ensuring visitors have all the information they need about walks, places to visit and eat. I have nothing bad to say about the B&B only that it would be better placed in a more classy area. Whilst Burton on the Water might once have been a very beautiful, genteel village it is now ridiculously over populated daily by masses of tourist coaches and and what could be lovely independent shops seem to cater for mass tourisim of the worst kind. The shops sell plastic tatt that would not be out of place in a tacky seaside resort. It is such a shame because it is a village excellently located for some beautiful walks and day trips and if you visit very early in the morning before the coaches spew out unimaginable numbers of tourists, and before the shops are open...the village itself is truly beautiful just ruined by mass unmanaged tourism. The B&B is a gem of a find though and worth a visit in it's own right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morph320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Good Morning, and firstly we wanted to say thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review about Cranbourne B&B. Bourton is indeed a beautiful place and we know that some of the shops have to cater for all sides of the tourism industry. Unfortunately the village can become busy with bus coaches visiting for the day and we understand this. Cranbourne House is situated away from the high street so that you can escape when it gets busy, which is why our guests enjoy coming back to us again and again. If you do come back to us again in the future, there are other villages in the surrounding area that really do get away from the crowds such as Lower and Upper Slaughter for those days where you want to truly escape from it all.

Apart from the shops in the village, we are more than pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts, the cleanliness and the freshly baked cakes and biscuits. As we said, we hope that if you are ever coming back through Bourton you can drop on by for a cup of tea, and a slice of cake.

We hope that you enjoy 2014 and have a lovely year.


Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our first trip to the Cotswolds, but the welcome and warmth of Cranbourne House made it a truly unforgettable experience, making it highly likely that it will not be the last. The rooms were immaculate and of a high standard, making our three nights stay extremely enjoyable. John, the manager, was extremely helpful in recommending local restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was superb with something for everyone's taste. Cranbourne House is the ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Good Morning Ken and Cynthia, I have just finished reading your review and it was such a lovely TripAdvisor review, we just wanted to say thank you very much for everything you said. It was lovely to see you again in The Cotswolds for the first time after you visited our sister property Nanny Brow.

I am happy you found my knowledge helpful and we always maintain up to date reviews of the best places to eat and drink within the local area, so that your experience is as enjoyable as it possibly can be. I do hope that if you are planning a trip to the Cotswolds again you will either look at staying at Cranbourne House again or definitely pop in and say hello to us.

We will hopefully either see you in The Lake District again or back with us at Cranbourne. Enjoy 2014 and see you both soon.

Kind Regards,

John Hallam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here for one night in September 2013 and I have got to say I was very impressed. The room was very stylish, clean and it was just a nice place to wind down after a very long day of cycling.

John and Emma who run the B&B were lovely and were always willing to help with anything that was required, and they put on a fantastic breakfast in the morning!

I very much enjoyed my stay here and I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Bourton on the Water.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Good Morning Gary, we have just finished reading your review and must say it was such a delight to read all the lovely things you said about us and Cranbourne House B&B. We always aim to maintain the house and keep it extremely immaculate, clean and up to date and we're glad that you were impressed with this.

It was a pleasure to meet your cycling team and I am happy that it was a peaceful and relaxing stay after a long day of cycling. It was also no problem at all to lock your bike up in a secure location for the night too. We hope that your adventure was as successful as when you were passing through Bourton. It was great to meet you all and we really hope to see you again soon.

If you are ever planning a trip to the Cotswolds in the future please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My partner and I spent one night at the Cranbourne in September 2013. I simply cannot say enough about the Excellent stay we had.
A very clean and excellently presented period property. It captures what the Cotwolds is about, engulfing you in luxury and comfort, with a perfect location allowing us to explore what else Bourton had to offer.
We were welcomed by John and Emma, who could not do enough for us, catering to our every request and were exceptionally helpful. A special mention must go to the Michelin like Breakfast, it would not look out of place in a gourmet restaurant.
I could not recommend Cranbourne House enough, it really is more than just a B&B.

Carl & Anna, Lichfield.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Good Morning Carl & Anna, we have just finished reading your review and firstly we loved the title, "The Jewel in Bourton-in-the-Water" - what a great opening title to read and thank you for your lovely words.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the room and the property itself. We maintain everything to the highest possible standards from the gardens and the lounge, to the dining room and most importantly the bedrooms. As you said, it gives yourself along with all our guests the chance to properly escape and relax on your weekend away.

I'm almost blushing with regards to the comment about breakfast. Thank you very much and again we are always trying to update the menu to make breakfast more than just breakfast. We are really glad that you had a safe trip to Lichfield and if you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future, please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee or tea, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just spent two nights at the Cranbourne and would just like to say what a wonderful time we had. A very clean and well presented property. The room that we stayed in was spacious and made even more attractive by the lovely cakes and fresh milk that were left for us each day - a very nice extra! Breakfast was a real treat, very well cooked indeed. A great location for a quick stroll into Bourton on the Water and for visiting other attractions in the area. Thankyou for making our stay so enjoyable with your warm and helpful hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LellExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Good Morning Lesley, we have just finished reading your review and we must say it was really great to hear that yourself and David had such an enjoyable stay at Cranbourne B&B. We always aim to put a smile on our guests faces from arrival to the maintained and immaculately clean rooms.

We love to bake and it's great to hear that you appreciated and loved the little touches, such as cake and milk in your room each day - after all it's these little things that make your stay that little bit more special. We are pleased that you enjoyed the village too - Bourton is a great place with loads to do and the great thing is that because we are just situated outside the village, you have the option to escape whenever you like.

We are glad you had a safe trip back down to Exeter and if you are ever planning another trip to the Cotswolds in the future, please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee or tea, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A Birthday celebration weekend spent with friends en-route north to see the out-laws....!
To elevate expectations is always such a cool thing with the weather being so bad. A warm welcome in from the freezing conditions outside were continued with a room to match. Fluffy white towels, and grandma feather styled sumptuous bed, and fixtures and fittings any top class designer would be proud of. Breakfast is always a good test of any establishment, this one was second to none!
Village center is a short stroll away, with fabulous shops, friendly patrons, and excellent Pubs!!!
We will be back. Kindest Regards. Mark n Mags. Perth - Australia

Room Tip: South Room is largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbbubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Richard_Hallam, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Good Morning Maggie & Mark, I have just finished reading your review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad that you had a great stay upon your trip to The Cotswolds while at Cranbourne House; equally we are glad you made it back to Perth okay too. Despite the weather though it was a fantastic weekend and it was lovely to meet the both of you.

We are pleased that you really enjoyed the little touches like the fluffy towels and the furniture in the rooms. We do maintain everything at Cranbourne to the highest standards, as lets be fair, when you come in from a cold day in the rain there is nothing better than a comfortable surrounding. I like your point about the breakfast being a test, and from the sounds of it everything was to your expectations which is great to hear.

It's great to hear you will be back in the future and when you are please do contact us directly for availability or if you are passing Bourton-on-the-Water, please give us a ring and pop in for coffee, cake and a catch-up.

Take Care,

John Hallam
Cranbourne B&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.3 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
544 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holly House B&B
Holly House B&B
#1 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbourne House

Address: Cranbourne House Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: £91 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our stylish and self contained Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the “Venice of the Cotswolds” Bourton on the Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Cranbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing